We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My favorite zoo by far”
Review of Oregon Zoo

Oregon Zoo
Book In Advance
More Info
$34.00*
and up
Portland Hop-On Hop-Off Tour
Ranked #11 of 442 things to do in Portland
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: <1 hour
Owner description: Community-supported since 1888, the Oregon Zoo is a world leader in animal welfare and conservation, connecting more than 1.6 million visitors with the world of wildlife every year.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 attraction reviews
“My favorite zoo by far”
Reviewed March 5, 2013 via mobile

It was raining when I came to visit and I thought I will not be able to see a lot of animals but surprisingly, I saw almost all of them. Black bears, polar bears, monkeys, elephants, I mean everything! It's nice that it's close to all the other parks.

Helpful?
Thank Glacel Anne S
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a Review

1,881 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    968
    619
    224
    40
    30
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Chelan, Washington
Level Contributor
115 reviews
32 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“FUN ZOO!”
Reviewed March 3, 2013

Easy parking, excellent clean zoo! Nice enclosures for animals....looked like they were getting enrichment experiences. :) Could use more food service areas.
New baby elephant was exciting to see. Male Lion is amazing....got to experience a bit of a training session with him. Great handlers!

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank KJR4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Barriles, Baja California Sur, Mexico
Level Contributor
20 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Cute baby elephant!”
Reviewed February 26, 2013

My friend had a free pass so I went with her and her kids. They had just added lions and they were very beautiful. Also there was a baby elephant, really cool to be able to say I have seen one. It is definatly a all day trip thoe. I just wanted to see animals fast but with all the people and there huge grounds it is easy to get kinda lost.. Also eat befour you come here as the food is expensive, you dont get much for your buck and the lines can take forever. Then the resturant there only had half the stuff they say they do on there menu..

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank Erica R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gainesville, Florida
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Fun on a Chilly President's Day”
Reviewed February 25, 2013

School was out and loads of kids were having fun at the zoo. We really enjoyed the baby elephant. We took the light rail line and then the elevator that flew us up 400+ feet to the zoo.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank SAMUEL M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eastern Oregon
Level Contributor
41 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“The best zoo”
Reviewed February 25, 2013

If you love zoos, you'll really love this one! Very family friendly. Happy kids. Happy Animals. Still have questions? Just go!

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank surflover50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Oregon Zoo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing