We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Get wild at the Oregon Zoo”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Oregon Zoo

Oregon Zoo
Book In Advance
More Info
$34.00*
and up
Portland Hop-On Hop-Off Tour
Ranked #11 of 442 things to do in Portland
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: <1 hour
Owner description: Community-supported since 1888, the Oregon Zoo is a world leader in animal welfare and conservation, connecting more than 1.6 million visitors with the world of wildlife every year.
Hood River, Oregon, United States
Level Contributor
41 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Get wild at the Oregon Zoo”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 7, 2012

We've been twice - both with school groups & the zoo is great for kids of all ages. It rarely seems crowded - except at the bathrooms at the entrance. The exhibits are educational and great to look at. The staff is friendly and knowledgeable.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank Autumn W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,846 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    948
    611
    217
    40
    30
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Australia
Level Contributor
47 reviews
28 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Old style zoo”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012

Situated in hilly country, it was a bit like being in a maze at times - make sure you obtain the free map. Compounds were a little too small for my liking for many of the animals.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank WalkaboutAussie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Washington
Level Contributor
28 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Excellent Zoo”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012

This zoo has just about everything. The eagle enclosure is fantastic and allows viewers to go in the enclosure with the birds. There are tigers and elephants, hyeneas, alligators, polar bears, penguins, wolves, and otters. The animals are separated by the part of the world they live in. Of course concessions are overpriced, but when I went there were no bag checks so I could bring my own snacks and beverages. Overall, excellent.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Kilomara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redmond, Oregon
Level Contributor
66 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Family Fun”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012

The Oregon Zoo is excellent. It has a wide variety of animals and the kids love it there. At Christmas they do Zoo Lights, which is a very popular event so I recommend going on a weeknight not close to the weekend if possible. Otherwise you most likely will have to park far away and be bused in. They do a train through zoo lights, but it also has an extremely long line. Be prepared, but such a fun event.

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
Thank travelswithpet1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yosemite National Park, California
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Tigers on Halloween”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 3, 2012

We picked a great day to visit with the tigers' 14th birthday and pumpkins given out to many of the animals. Lots of variety and information. Gift shop was great with range of gifts and of average cost, although I got a great deal on a xxx (will fit over my purse) red rain jacket that was being phased out. They also had some excellent fudge :) We weren't able to do the full zoo in one day, but we took our time with the exhibits we say. I'd recommend a two day allotment for the zoo.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank YosSuzanne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Oregon Zoo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing