We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Great Way To Start The Day!”

Portland Saturday Market
Ranked #19 of 447 things to do in Portland
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: Operating since 1974 the Portland Saturday Market is the largest continually operating outdoor arts and crafts market in the nation. Located in Waterfront Park and Ankeny Plaza in Portland’s historic Old Town the Market is one of the most popular shopping destinations for local handcrafted goods. The Market offers a unique opportunity for customers to meet the artist as well as see one of a kind pieces created in the artist’s booth. Over 250 small businesses and individuals artists from across the NW region gather each week for the Saturday/Sunday event with live music and a plethora of exotic foods that will satisfy everyone’s appetite.
Useful Information: Activities for older children, Activities for young children
Lawrenceville, Georgia
Level 6 Contributor
114 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“A Great Way To Start The Day!”
Reviewed September 11, 2013

Portland Saturday Market
Outdoor markets and fairs always peak my interest so when I found out that there would be a Saturday Market not far from our hotel, I simply couldn't resist. This market is packed to the gills with vendors selling most things imaginable. From soaps to foods and various body potions to clothing and playing cards featuring major cities and their points of interest, I found the market to be fun and a great way to take in Portland's quirky/creative side. Now the vendors and there wares aren't all high end, so you must take your time and visit the various booths to find the golden eggs. I wouldn't go there expecting exclusive top shelf items however, I did find a vendor that offered handmade skirts and tops which were very creative and varied in fabrics and textures. Yes, I purchased one....smile. If crowds aren't your thing, go early to avoid the jostling and the bumping into folks which is bound to happen the later you go.
The location-North Waterfront & Ankeny Plaza offers a view of city, a waterway and bridges and is something fun to do for at least a part of your day. Check their website for times, etc

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank SParris11216
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

877 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    409
    334
    106
    26
    2
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Durango, Colorado
Level 5 Contributor
77 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Large open air market with everything.”
Reviewed September 4, 2013

VERY crowded for our visit. Lots of booths featuring high quality arts/crafts, food, cloths, and tons of junk. We had a good time as I think most will if coming with the right attitude/expectations. Good place to get interesting t-shirts, a wallet made from an old map, or henna painted hands.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank J M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“A Saturday Market open on Sunday as well (unless it is winter)”
Reviewed September 3, 2013

The Portland Saturday Market is a great place to go and experience Portland. Within the market, you have all kinds of wares and food being displayed and sold. The food stalls were spaced throughout the many city block venue and were representative of the foods available in Portland. There were of course the standard fast food hamburgers and kabobs available but they also had some interesting fare to sample like a sweet potato cupcake or beverages from the local Rogue brewery. Besides the food, there were lots of different things available to see and purchase. Everything from duct tape wallets, to the Game of Real Life, to spices, to tools and art pieces were all on display at this amazing market.

Even if one wasn't hungry or in the mood to shop, there was live entertainment and street performers to help create a festive mood. As with all markets, the people watching at the Saturday Market was pretty entertaining as well. The location of the market seemed ideally suited for the city as it starts a block away from the original Voodoo Doughnuts (a Portland favorite) to the banks of the Willamette River. The unfortunate thing about the market is that it is only open on Saturday and Sunday and not during the winter. That means if you are an average business traveler, you would miss this great Portland Market.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank PsychoAF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wichita, Kansas
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Everyone should go once but, for me once is enough!”
Reviewed August 25, 2013 via mobile

Lots of vendors / artists and food stands and performers. It was like a very big craft sale. It is something I'm glad I attended but would not want to go back to. Crowded and noisy! The really bright spot was a family owned falafel stand with great mocha coffee. The whole extended family seemed to be engaged with a young man about 11 taking my order making change and quite efficiently taking care of business!! All in all though just too much!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank 52blinky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, PA USA
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
39 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Great art, street performers and people watching”
Reviewed August 12, 2013

We had a great time trans-versing all the artist booth...the unique ones are closest to the river, junkier ones closer to the metro stop. We bought a few cool pieces to bring home. Loved the street performers..very different than New York or Chicago.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank BobbiKolonay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Portland Saturday Market? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing