We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great for kids, or adults with kids.”

Oaks Amusement Park
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: With thrill rides, roller skating, go carts, miniature golf, and more, your family will have a perfect day on the midway! Pick a partner for the roller coaster, do the "Hokey Pokey" in the skating rink, even "stick together" with some cotton candy! Fabulous birthday parties, rentable picnic areas, and Dance Pavilion indoor event venue. Amusement park open March - October, roller skating open year 'round.
Portland, Oregon, United States
Level Contributor
26 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great for kids, or adults with kids.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 26, 2013

The omission from the title is that for adults without kids it's campy and only a little fun. We went there as part of a company function, and so had a good time with my colleagues. On it's own we wouldn't have gone. The putt-putt course was cool, but the rest is goofy arcade games - you know, knock the pin down and win a prize! They do have tiny roller coasters, much fun for the wee ones but adults will need chiropractic adjustment after.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Steve M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

247 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    91
    83
    55
    11
    7
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Fun old-timey amusement park”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 25, 2013

Oaks Park probably qualifies as "quaint" to most people, especially those used to mega-theme parks, but it's a fun 100-year-old amusement park with a couple dozen rides and tons of atmosphere (the crowds are an absolute melting pot), and the prices are reasonable at about $14-17 for all-day tickets, with the option to also buy tickets for individual rides.

Oaks park is also a nice spot physically, with the Willamette River and a nice sandy beach on one side, and the Springwater on the Willamette bike trail and Oaks Bottom Wildlife Refuge on the other. I live a couple neighborhoods away, and on several occasions I spontaneously decided to go ride some rides while biking by with my son.

Oaks Park also has a beautiful historic wooden roller rink (one curiosity is that it FLOATS, which has saved it a couple times when the river has flooded), and a large picnic area with several shelters that you can reserve, and is within walking distance (at least for fit adults) of the Sellwood neighborhood. It's a great place to hang out even if you aren't spending money there. A real hidden gem.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank Dan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
35 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“great roller skating”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 25, 2013

love this place! nice, safe spot to take the kids and roller skate. tried the glow skate last friday night and had a blast!

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank turtletango503
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
85 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Bring out the kid in any adult”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2013

It's a quaint trip down memory lane of the way carnivals, amusements and roller rinks of the past still live and breathe- of course in Portland. I only managed the roller skating adventure this time but will look forward to returning next summer. Gentlemen at the front gave us the discount even though we didn't see the password they post on FB. ;0)
Fun music, very happy people, love the all ages from little tykes to seniors kept me grinning as we looped round and round. It did get pretty hot in there though, they sure could use a couple of garage type doors to open up and let the air in. Good as any gym visit workout if you manage to stay for a whole session, bring an extra shirt to change into. The regulars knew this and most came in shorts or even dresses, not seasoned enough to trust my bare legs coming out unscathed.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Stephylee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
26 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Old fashion fun park”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 16, 2013

This park has rides, live music on occasion, and an old-fashioned roller skate rink. Loads of fun for everyone!

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Carrie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Oaks Amusement Park also viewed

 

Been to Oaks Amusement Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing