We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“GREAT view!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Pittock Mansion

Pittock Mansion
Book In Advance
More Info
$89.00*
and up
Best of Portland Small-Group Sightseeing Tour
Ranked #9 of 440 things to do in Portland
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: A historical home with wonderful views of downtown Portland.
tempe, az
Level Contributor
128 reviews
37 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“GREAT view!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 29, 2013

We got there about 3:15. Nice sunny day, but very windy and cold. The view of the city was awesome! We considered going into the mansion to look at it, but they closed at 4. Also, there was a power outage, and they said we might not be able to see everything, so we didn't go in. They are doing EXTENSIVE reno, so the outside of the structure was covered with scaffolding.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank hummergirlTempe_Az
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,688 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    908
    649
    112
    13
    6
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Branchburg, New Jersey
Level Contributor
277 reviews
117 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 147 helpful votes
“Beautiful mansion”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 26, 2013

The mansion is well decorated. The grounds are beautiful. We went on a foggy dreary day and could not see all of the beautiful views that one would see on a clearer day. The drive to the mansion was absolutely breathtaking with all of the fall foliage.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank LiJo4145
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Upstate NY
Level Contributor
72 reviews
23 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Lovely home and beautiful property”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 24, 2013

Beautiful house (though currenly under restoration) interesting history and georgeous grounds, sitting up high with overlook of city

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank MTravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Des Moines, Washington
Level Contributor
65 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Excellent guided tour”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 21, 2013

Six of us toured the mansion on October 9th, 2013. We were not sure we should wait for the guided tour. However, what a joy. Our tour guide was incredible. She was very cordial and extremely interesting. She reviewed the history of the mansion as well as a look into the family itself. We all enjoyed the information. It was the highlight of our three day tour to Portland.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Daniel D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milton, Florida
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“So beautiful you'll wish you could move in!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 17, 2013

The Pittock mansion is a great place for a diverse group of hobbyists to visit. Whether you love photography, gardening, history, design, or decorating you are sure to enjoy this beautiful spot just a short drive from Downtown Portland, Oregon. Be sure to stop by the gate house for a very good luncheon or at least for desert. You won't be disappointed. :)

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Elizabeth P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Pittock Mansion? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing