We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Take the Guided Tour”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Pittock Mansion

Pittock Mansion
Book In Advance
More Info
$60.00*
and up
Best of Portland City Afternoon Tour
Ranked #9 of 442 things to do in Portland
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: A historical home with wonderful views of downtown Portland.
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Level Contributor
49 reviews
26 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Take the Guided Tour”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2013

I found the guided tour of the Pittock Mansion to be entertaining as well as informative; it was well worth the time. We arrived a bit early and had time to look through the rooms before the tour; that turned out to be a good idea as the tour group was relatively large and having already seen the features was a help. The house itself is interesting and the views, even on a partly cloudy day as we had, are wonderful. I would love to visit again on a clear day.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank curioustraveler65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,726 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    928
    663
    116
    13
    6
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oregon
Level Contributor
66 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Thanks to Portland for saving this treasure”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2013

Mr. Pittock was obviously a man of great wealth and great vision. This is a beautiful mansion, but one that feels as though it was quite livable. I'd love a chance to cook in that kitchen, with it's gorgeous view of the city! Take a close look at the 8000 pieces of rubber tile on the floor. Although most of the furnishings are not original to the house, that did not detract from the sense of "home" we got. It is amazing to contemplate that everything in the house construction originated in Oregon. There is exterior re-construction ongoing, but don't let that discourage you. If the weather is nice, take a picnic. There is a lone picnic table at the edge of the lawn, but the house is also adjacent to the Wildwood Trail (next time I'm going to do the 5 mile loop from Macleay Park). Highly recommend this stop.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank OregonNamma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Conroe, Texas
Level Contributor
86 reviews
36 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Wonderful view”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2013

The view of Portland is definitely a photo-op ... don't miss it. The actual mansion is being remodeled/refinished on the outside to its original grandeur, but the mansion is a great visit.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank GeorgeRow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
186 reviews
61 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
“Nice property to see with a Spectacular view of the city”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 6, 2013

We visited on 10/4/13 and took a self guided walk through the mansion. Unfortunately, there was construction and Maintence being done on and in the property. It is a wonderfully designed and restored home. Most of the furnishings are not original to the home but do fit the period and architecture very well. The rooms are surprisingly small with the exception of a handful. The plumbing for the time is impressive. The city has done a great thing preserving this home and property. The view from many of the rooms is simply beautiful. The main room of the first floor is oval and one of the most beautiful I have ever seen - it is designed impeccably and decorated perfectly. The grounds and exterior due to offending and scaffolding and the like were not the highlight of our visit - but it is good to see the property is being maintained well. We would have preferred a guided tour with a good docent but no matter what we are glad we went and would certainly recommend going to see the mansion if you like architecture and enjoy seeing special homes and properties.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank schnedavid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hoschton, Georgia
Level Contributor
103 reviews
24 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Nice”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 3, 2013

It was fairly close and probably worth a stop, especially for the views of the city from the garden. The home was construction when we went. Certainly an interesting history and I am glad it is being preserved.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Paula35805
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Pittock Mansion? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing