We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very beautiful and tranquil” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Portland Japanese Garden

Portland Japanese Garden
Ranked #3 of 440 things to do in Portland
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Considered the most authentic Japanese Garden outside of Japan, the Portland Japanese Garden is a haven of tranquil beauty in all four seasons. In 2016 and 2017 the Garden is undergoing a major expansion project which will add a Cultural Village -- complete with classroom, exhibition, and gallery space and an authentic Japanese Tea Cafe -- outside the original Garden's gates.
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
93 reviews
41 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Very beautiful and tranquil”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2014

We enjoyed our time at the garden. A very leisurely stroll will take you through the garden in around 1:30. A very peaceful place to just get lost in the beautiful plants and intricate and apparently authentic paths and structures.
Very different from the Rose Gardens below and the Arboretum above. All three of these make for a great day of natural beauty.

We went with our newborn and the Gardens were doable in a stroller, but not super easy.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank trimess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,229 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2,742
    1,068
    318
    67
    34
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
25 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Beautiful, interesting, a lovely respite”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2014

This is the largest Japanese garden in the world outside of Japan. How do I know that? Because I took the free 1 hour tour, which was full of interesting information as it took you through an easy stroll of the garden. I highly recommend planning your visit around one of the guided tours. This is an easy garden to get around in terms of size (not too large) and you will want to move at a slower pace to take it in and enjoy the beauty. You could spend the day just sitting and relaxing, or do it in an hour or two if that's more your style. Either way bring your camera but focus on its purpose - slowing down, relaxing and just taking in what it has to offer. Do try to take the tour as that will help you appreciate why it is so special. The rose garden is right across the way, however we did not get the chance to visit. Oh - and bring water. There is only 1 water fountain and no water for sale (you can't bring food in and no food for sale either but they do let you bring water).

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Karen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Lovely and Peaceful”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2014

Do not miss this stunning peaceful garden. I thought it was quite large, as even though there were a fair amount of people, it did not feel crowded. I went in the fall, as the leaves were starting to turn. This meant that I missed many of the gorgeous spring flowers, but the garden was still stunning and intricate and I ended up with many amazing photographs.
It's worth spending a whole afternoon, or even a day here. Whenever I have friends that visit Portland, I am sure to tell them to visit the Japanese Garden.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jess K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cayman Islands
Level Contributor
448 reviews
83 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
“Walk in the park”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2014

Amazing gardens and wroth a visit in any season. The walk around he park is beautiful and at times there are a couple events up there which are always interesting.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank CaymanGreg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oregon
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“A lovely garden”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 26, 2014

We went on a Sunday in the late morning. There weren't many people there so the garden areas were peaceful. There was plenty of shade. The garden has several sitting areas that would be ideal for quiet reflection. I would like to go again when the Rhododendrons are blooming.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank chiencat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Portland Japanese Garden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing