We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Serene”

Portland Japanese Garden
Ranked #3 of 442 things to do in Portland
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Considered the most authentic Japanese Garden outside of Japan, the Portland Japanese Garden is a haven of tranquil beauty in all four seasons. In Spring of 2017, the Garden opened its new Cultural Village, complete with new garden spaces, classrooms, exhibition and gallery space, and the Umami Cafe.
Useful Information: Food available for purchase, Bathroom facilities
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
190 reviews
31 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Serene”
Reviewed August 8, 2014

A beautiful garden. But said to be better in Spring, when all is blooming or Fall, change of colors but beautiful, $9.50 for adults to enter

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank JMF521
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,362 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2,832
    1,098
    326
    70
    36
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
22 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Beautiful and Peaceful”
Reviewed August 8, 2014

A serene, beautiful place to visit. Each garden (there are 5 of them, from the natural and almost wild to the very stylized and Zen) will offer you something very special. Take the time to sit in a bench or alcove, or stand on one of the bridges and absorb the ambience and feel your stress melt away. As you walk into the Gardens, there is a strong feeling of leaving the rest of the World behind and stepping into a peaceful serene place that will stay with you for at least the rest of the day. Spring, summer, fall and winter will decorate this magical place with a wide-ranging palette of colors, textures, sounds and aromas.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank T_R355
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Lucky Portland to have such a beautiful garden to call its own”
Reviewed August 7, 2014

I've been to Portland twice and both times I went to the Japanese Garden. It is a well tended garden and not so large that you can't see it all. I was lucky to visit the garden during the fall season, and the colors were spectacular. I think I took over 100 photos of the trees and sculptures on that fall trip to the garden. The entry fee is a bit steep - especially if you are paying for a big party. If your budget is tight, there are days when the gardens are FREE. I wanted to avoid any chance of a crowd and gladly forked over the full price admission fee. On our most recent trip to the garden, we were lucky enough to find an art exhibit in the house located on the grounds. It was really interesting - a mix of photographs of icebergs along with glassworks inspired by the photos.

If you love gardens and think wandering around trees puts you in a zen place, then you should definitely visit the Portland Japanese Garden.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank April T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Clara, California
Level Contributor
389 reviews
102 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 153 helpful votes
“Absolutely Fabulous”
Reviewed August 7, 2014

While there is a fee to enter the gardens, this is a very special place. It is worth the entrance fee and plan to stroll, sit and enjoy this peaceful place. The museum store there is fabulous, with truly special pieces to purchase with a Japanese theme.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Alice W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfax, Virginia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Stunning”
Reviewed August 7, 2014

Walking through the Japanese garden was very serene and beautiful. I will take home some great ideas to work into my own gardens. Beautifully landscaped and maintained. Definitely should not be missed when visiting Portland.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank MAKASB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Portland Japanese Garden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing