We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Japanese gardens: urban oasis and great views”

Portland Japanese Garden
Ranked #20 of 461 things to do in Portland
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Considered the most authentic Japanese Garden outside of Japan, the Portland Japanese Garden is a haven of tranquil beauty in all four seasons. In Spring of 2017, the Garden opened its new Cultural Village, complete with new garden spaces, classrooms, exhibition and gallery space, and the Umami Cafe.
Useful Information: Bathroom facilities, Food available for purchase
Reviewed May 13, 2014

Several people suggested that a trip to the gardens is a 'must." I almost gave up due to long delays in the public transportaion, but I am glad I made it there. The gardens are beautiful and I trust they are as Japanese as others claim-- I simply enjoyed strolling through several times. if you have enough time in Portlant to pick a clear and sunny time to vist, you will see gtreat views of Portland and mountains. The weather was sunny and 80 degress for my visit. I would return in other conditions and seasons, simply to enjoy the beauty under other terms. Somehow I missed the fact that there isno food for sale in the garden area and no food allowed, so plan accordingly.

Thank karen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JapaneseGardenPDX, Public Relations Manager at Portland Japanese Garden, responded to this reviewResponded May 19, 2014

Thanks for taking the time to visit. Just so you know, during the summer (until Labor Day) we now have a free shuttle traveling a loop throughout Washington Park. We hope to see you again very soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (5,129)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages
All reviews
"japanese garden"
in 992 reviews
"japanese culture"
in 62 reviews
"koi pond"
in 100 reviews
"washington park"
in 292 reviews
"water features"
in 130 reviews
"entrance fee"
in 76 reviews
"take your time"
in 71 reviews
"guided tour"
in 103 reviews
"tea house"
in 133 reviews
"gift shop"
in 129 reviews
"peaceful place"
in 54 reviews
"free shuttle"
in 65 reviews
"zen"
in 222 reviews
"beauty"
in 408 reviews
"paths"
in 274 reviews
"trees"
in 259 reviews
"admission"
in 178 reviews
Filter

3,452 - 3,456 of 5,129 reviews

Reviewed May 13, 2014

The gardens were breath taking. We enjoyed walking around and taking everything in. My only complaint is that I think the 9.50 admission is a little overpriced but overall a great experience.

Thank LLJ625
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JapaneseGardenPDX, Public Relations Manager at Portland Japanese Garden, responded to this reviewResponded May 19, 2014

Thanks for taking the time to review the Garden--we're so glad you enjoyed your experience here. Please come again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 13, 2014

We arrived early morning, and there were very few people there that time of day. The windy paths and trickling creeks were very relaxing. We found many places to stop and take in the gorgeous and meticulously-cared for landscaping. Fountains, koi ponds, waterfalls. Beautiful flowers just starting their spring show. I recommend this garden to all who are seeking a respite from the hustle and bustle of everyday life.

Thank CatD093
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JapaneseGardenPDX, Public Relations Manager at Portland Japanese Garden, responded to this reviewResponded May 19, 2014

So glad your visit was enjoyable and relaxing. We hope you will come back in every season and throughout the year.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 13, 2014

Always enjoy taking the time to visit and spend time in this sacred space. Sit, breathe, meditate - take a walking meditation on the paths.

1  Thank Super D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JapaneseGardenPDX, Public Relations Manager at Portland Japanese Garden, responded to this reviewResponded May 19, 2014

Sounds like you know just how to enjoy this place of peace and tranquility. Thanks for visiting and please come again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
See more reviews
Reviewed May 12, 2014

Each season is a treat to come here. Easy walk for most, some disable areas too, but a gorgeous relaxing 1-2 hour visit.

Thank embr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JapaneseGardenPDX, Public Relations Manager at Portland Japanese Garden, responded to this reviewResponded May 19, 2014

Thank you for visiting. We do love visitors of all ages here at the Garden. There's lots to see for both the young and the young at heart.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Portland Japanese Garden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing