We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well worth the time!”

Portland Japanese Garden
Ranked #3 of 445 things to do in Portland
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Considered the most authentic Japanese Garden outside of Japan, the Portland Japanese Garden is a haven of tranquil beauty in all four seasons. In Spring of 2017, the Garden opened its new Cultural Village, complete with new garden spaces, classrooms, exhibition and gallery space, and the Umami Cafe.
Useful Information: Bathroom facilities, Food available for purchase
2 reviews
“Well worth the time!”
Reviewed December 17, 2013

This is a beautiful garden with great views of the city below and the mountains in the distance. The garden constantly changes with the season.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Bjorndag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,470 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2,893
    1,134
    334
    72
    37
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
29 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Relaxing and beautiful”
Reviewed December 12, 2013

Serene and lovely, a walk through the gardens offers peace and ample photo opportunities. A must-see for tourists and locals, alike. As noted in other reviews, parking can be difficult in peak seasons, but a least one bus serves the garden weekdays and two buses & weekends during the peak season.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank pinkessa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilsonville, Oregon
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Beautiful Fall colors”
Reviewed December 12, 2013

It was foggy driving up the the garden and the sun just came out as we entered. Glorious Fall colors. We took a lot of photos and I have as a background on my computer to look at daily. We were not the only ones liking the view, there were many more professional photographers that day, hogging the best spots for hours...
They also had a very nice exhibit at the time. I recommend visiting the gardens any time, but especially in the Fall!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank zen1000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland
Level Contributor
346 reviews
86 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
“a beautiful, tranquil place”
Reviewed December 10, 2013

Sometimes when you live somewhere, you overlook what's right in front of you. Such was the case with the Japanese Garden for me until recently. I hadn't been there in decades but my hiking group took a tour a few weeks ago. it is a smallish, meticulously cared-for place. Tour guides are pleasant and the pavillion houses some nice art. Trees, shrubs flowers, water and rock all combine for a sight for sore eyes and frazzled nerves. Whether a visitor or local, this is a good spot to see.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank KommissarKen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
53 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Bad Timing”
Reviewed December 8, 2013

Wanted to see the Japanese Gardens,described as the largest and most authetic outside of Japan. Five difference sections with different designs and functions, but since I came in November, much of the flowers were not in bloom or in winter mode). Would much like to return in the Spring or Summer.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank D L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Portland Japanese Garden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing