We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Japanese Garden”

Portland Japanese Garden
Ranked #3 of 445 things to do in Portland
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Considered the most authentic Japanese Garden outside of Japan, the Portland Japanese Garden is a haven of tranquil beauty in all four seasons. In Spring of 2017, the Garden opened its new Cultural Village, complete with new garden spaces, classrooms, exhibition and gallery space, and the Umami Cafe.
Useful Information: Bathroom facilities, Food available for purchase
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Level Contributor
41 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Japanese Garden”
Reviewed October 26, 2011

The Japanese Garden is amazing and one of the best tended gardens you could hope to see. When you leave the garden and get back to nature you realize how proportioned everything was. It is a must see.

Visited October 2011
Helpful?
Thank JanetteA980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,478 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2,897
    1,136
    336
    72
    37
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Manhattan, KS
Level Contributor
52 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Peaceful and beautiful”
Reviewed October 26, 2011

We hiked to the Japanese Garden from the MAX stop in Washington Park using the trails of the Hoyt Arboretum. This was by far one of the most peaceful and beautiful places I've ever visited. I could have spent hours just sitting and enjoying the water features. By far, my favorite place we visited on our trip to Astoria and Portland. I would definitely go back!

Visited October 2011
Helpful?
Thank blueribbon_98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
Level Contributor
68 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Picture perfect”
Reviewed October 26, 2011

A photographers paradise.

People from all of the world was here taking professional pictures.
I understand why. Every corner I turned took my breath away.

This is a destination spot. I came from CA just to visit the gardens. Better than expected.

Beautiful, peaceful & perfect.

Helpful?
Thank JenJSF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
29 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“A park within a park.”
Reviewed October 25, 2011

For anyone who appreciates Japanese gardens, this one is a gem.

Visited September 2011
Helpful?
Thank sdauerbach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful!”
Reviewed October 24, 2011

A must see. Great tour guides and great landscaping.

Visited October 2011
Helpful?
Thank marvin m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Portland Japanese Garden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing