We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“I go every year!”

International Rose Test Garden
Book In Advance
More Info
$60.00*
and up
Best of Portland City Afternoon Tour
Ranked #1 of 442 things to do in Portland
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The oldest official, continuously operated public rose test garden in the United States boasts more than 8,000 roses.
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
35 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“I go every year!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 17, 2014

This is a wonderful place to feast your eyes and nose on roses! Every time I go there, I want to go home and buy more roses. As if this isn't enough, you will have a stunning view of Portland and Mt. Hood.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank sc0x
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,874 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2,743
    923
    196
    12
    0
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Salt Lake City, Utah
Level Contributor
45 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“You have to go!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 15, 2014

So beautiful! A great place to relax with a great overlook of the city. We went in early April. It was perfect. I can only imagine what it would look like in full-bloom.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank abbyeli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cincinnati
Level Contributor
31 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“This is free, what?? awesome”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 13, 2014

We had just finished up the Japanese garden, which was understandably expensive and then we get a bonus when we can walk through the rose garden for free. If I am being unclear, these are two separate attractions that are within walking distance to one another. We were there in OCT, and thought there wouldn't be much to see, but there were plenty of roses still out there, they were beautiful and smelled amazing! I don't even tend to be that much of a rose girl, but these had me convinced. And there are seriously a lot of roses to see. My trip mates were moving on and I just kept "stopping to smell the roses"

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank nm4travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redmond, Oregon
Level Contributor
82 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“A must-see for rose lovers”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 11, 2014

I have been visiting the test garden for many years, and it never ceases to amaze me. Every year there are new varieties, so it continually changes. The scent and the sea of color are breathtaking. Even in the off-season it is worth the view. Go to the Japanese garden first and go down the hill for a look over Portland. On my last visit, master gardeners were there to answer questions. Yes, it is not the easiest place to reach, but plan ahead and don't miss it.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Carol N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
21 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Worth Seeing - Even my teenage boys enjoyed it!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 7, 2014

This is an interesting and beautiful property. We took our whole family and everyone, including two teenage boys, really had a great time!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Lanpet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed International Rose Test Garden also viewed

 

Been to International Rose Test Garden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing