We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“If you like botanical gardens, this is a must see”

International Rose Test Garden
Book In Advance
More Info
$60.00*
and up
Best of Portland City Afternoon Tour
Ranked #1 of 445 things to do in Portland
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The oldest official, continuously operated public rose test garden in the United States boasts more than 8,000 roses.
Brooklyn, NY
Level Contributor
24 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“If you like botanical gardens, this is a must see”
Reviewed January 23, 2013

I have never seen so many roses/flowers in one place in my life. It was wonderful to walk among rows and rows of roses of all different colors, shapes and sizes. You can follow the self-guided tour at a leisurely pace in under 1.5 - 2 hours.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank TGO42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,037 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2,838
    969
    209
    18
    3
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rainier, Oregon
Level Contributor
149 reviews
50 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Gorgeous flowers fabulous views”
Reviewed January 23, 2013

It is beautiful. Mid June to Mimi's July is best. The heavenly aromas may even be a little overwhelming for some.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank ORFranP86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shady Cove, Oregon
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“So Beautiful, don't leave Portland without visiting”
Reviewed January 23, 2013

I love the names of the roses. Carey Grant is my favorite. It's a gorgeous place when the roses are blooming. The Shakespeare Garden is a wonderful place to sit and just be quiet for awhile. Watching the roses come to life from spring to summer is fabulous too. Check it out!

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank anne1123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver
Level Contributor
75 reviews
28 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“VISIT IN JUNE!!”
Reviewed January 23, 2013

A great place to visit when the roses are all in bloom. And - it's free!! Acres and acres of every variety and type of rose plus a great view of Portland and east to Mt. Hood. A pleasant way to spend a sunny summer afternoon.

Helpful?
Thank hendersonhill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, PA
Level Contributor
80 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Horticultural culture”
Reviewed January 22, 2013

I grew up on a holly farm where my grandfather had even created his own specimen trees, so this place was interesting to me. I love to see such a variety of one species, especially when they are arranged in such a neat stepped way to make the walk more interesting. I was surprised to have seen this place on TV a few times, it got me excited to return someday and missing the neat places in Portland.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Boombafam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed International Rose Test Garden also viewed

 

Been to International Rose Test Garden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing