We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just OK”

Oregon Historical Society Museum
Ranked #21 of 445 things to do in Portland
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: View the 1845 covered wagon on display as well as the Native American Basketry collection.
Salem, Oregon
Level Contributor
23 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Just OK”
Reviewed February 6, 2013

Could have been better - displays seemed old and the price was a little high for admission. It would have been more interesting with more actual artifacts from Oregon.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank ProfessorWit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

318 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    167
    114
    30
    5
    2
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
27 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Living history”
Reviewed January 16, 2013

There is so much to see that we have gone back multiple times but it is also possible to concentrate on one area of interest.

Helpful?
Thank Carrie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
35 reviews
25 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“The history of Oregon comes alive”
Reviewed January 9, 2013

The permanent exhibits are fascinating and illuminating--see artifacts from native American cultures and the exploration and settlement of the Northwest and later history-- and the special exhibits are also interesting and well laid out.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Elaine C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
49 reviews
28 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Enjoyable and Manageable History Museum”
Reviewed January 7, 2013

We dropped in on the Oregon Historical Society on a Saturday morning in January 2013 for a quick visit with out 7 and 9 year olds because we had not been there before. I wasn't expecting a lot, but found it to be a very enjoyable, informative and manageable historical museum. Even our kids liked it.

Typically, OHS has 3-5 main exhibitions at any given time, including their award winning "Oregon, My Oregon" exhibition on the history of the region. All of the exhibits we saw were well presented and attractive, though a bit less interactive than we might have hoped.

Two things I really like about the OHS beyond the quality of the exhibits. First, it was small enough that you can breeze through it in an hour or two without feeling overwhelmed. It wasn't too big or too much information, as is the case with many history museums. If your just visiting Portland, it's a perfect place to visit after seeing the excellent Portland Art Museum, just across the street, and you can hit both in the same day with a lunch break in between.

Second, it was very affordable - $11 for adults and completely free for Multnomah County residents. Can't beat free!

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank PJBilotta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
20 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“A terrific museum, free to Multnomah County residents”
Reviewed January 6, 2013

You will learn a lot and see a lot in this excellent museum on the North Park Blocks, across from the Portland Art Museum and many other downtown attractions. Also has an excellent library and archives on the top floor.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Fiddlersthree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Oregon Historical Society Museum also viewed

 

Been to Oregon Historical Society Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing