We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Inventive and interesting special exhibits”

Portland Art Museum
Book In Advance
More Info
$49.00*
and up
Portland Segway Tour
Ranked #14 of 447 things to do in Portland
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: One of the oldest art museums on the west coast with an impressive collection of Native American and Asian art, plus a large modern and contemporary wing. Rotating special exhibitions bring the best of the art world to Portland.
San Francisco, California
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Inventive and interesting special exhibits”
Reviewed September 3, 2013

The Art Museum had two special exhibitions while we were there: Gaston Lachaise Sculptures, and Cyclepedia, an exhibition of bicycles. The bicycle exhibit was very inventive and seemed so "Portland" to us. The other exhibit was traditional, and the combination of the two seemed to be characteristic of the museum's collections and the way it presents itself. We are easily museumed out so we didn't see as much of the permanent collection as we might have liked. Highly recommended.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank retiredtraveler70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

891 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    459
    320
    98
    12
    2
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Corvallis, Oregon
Level 6 Contributor
114 reviews
36 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“What an Art Museum Should Be!”
Reviewed September 3, 2013

Art and artist can be extremely pretentious and stilted. In this way, they are a turn-off for those of us who tend toward more friendly and useful pastimes. The Portland Art Museum is neither stilted nor unfriendly. I have visited a half dozen times to see the regular "standing" exhibits and the special exhibits. I have never been bored or disappointed. A recent special exhibit is a great example, Cyclepedia showed an innovative display of an everyday object - the bicycle. However, it was well explained, accessible and invited close inspection. While it did not attempt to describe the history of the bicycle, it did a great job of displaying dozens of iconic representatives over the past few decades. I'm anxious to see the next special exhibit!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank JohnLM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Very worthwhile”
Reviewed September 2, 2013 via mobile

The museum had some wonderful pieces and is worth spending 4 or 5 hours looking through its halls. The drawback I found was lots of stairs and many of the elevators seemed to be very slow or not working the day I went

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank HappyCamper856
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Forestville, California, United States
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Wonderful collections”
Reviewed August 19, 2013

Native American art, modern art, graphic art-- great collections. Worth the money, although we forgot to get a AAA discount. It's a great activity to do during the hot part of the day. Historical society is right across the street, too.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Drea M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenfield MA
Level 6 Contributor
169 reviews
74 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Wonderful way to spend the day.”
Reviewed August 14, 2013

While it was smaller than we thought, and the Coffee Grounds cafe was not open (we were there on a THursday and the website said it would be), we had a delightful day here.

There was a great deal to see, and it was all wonderfully laid out. The building is a bit confusing, but it was easy to find a guard to assist. The shop is quite amazing, and worth stopping in for gifts (We mentioned that it would be a great place to shop regularly if we lived in the area).

While their online site mentions a lot of things to do for local educators, as an educator myself, I didn't notice a lot that was welcoming to children who might be with their families.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank DrSharonGreenfieldMA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Portland Art Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing