We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 10:00 AM - 8:00 PM
Save
Book In Advance
Why Book on TripAdvisor?
  • Tour highlights & full itinerary
  • Easy online booking
  • Lowest price guaranteed
More Information
  
Top Selling Tours & Activities in and around Portland
from $100.00
More Info
from $60.00
More Info
from $79.00
More Info
Reviews (1,063)
Filter reviews
1,014 results
Traveler rating
541
359
99
13
2
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
541
359
99
13
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews permanent collection special exhibit nice collection native american van gogh andy warhol exhibit varied collection on display gift shop rainy day free admission pacific northwest two hours impressionists pam automobile galleries
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 1,014 reviews
Reviewed 6 days ago

It was time to go downtown and check out what was new. So I headed toward the museums. In particular, I headed toward the Portland Art Museum. They had as new exhibit that sounded too tempting not to go check out. It is the exhibit called “Poetic Imagination In Japanese Art.” So I walked inside the museum and saw the main display right there in front of me. And it looked totally awesome. Another great exhibit for the museum.

I found eye catching images of landscapes that flowed from on screen into the next. Beautiful artwork with displays of Calligraphy to accompany it. And the amazing entrance to all of this right there as you walk into the museum. A gigantic image on the back wall that runs from the top of the wall all the way down to the floor. And if that isn’t awesome enough to grab your attention, there is a Japanese structure on the left side of the room. Peaceful. Simple. And yet puts you into the proper frame of mind for this Poetic journey into Japanese art.

Thank RSNN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 week ago

Interesting and stimulating programs and exhibits. Lots of programs and talks to attend to learn more about the exhibits and art.

Thank sandy g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 week ago

Saw a fun exhibit here recently--beautiful, classic old cars. "The Shape of Speed." Unusual, immaculately presented vehicles from the first half of the 20th century.

Thank Mellowmar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 week ago

A diverse and lovely collection with excellent installations, exhibits, and architecture. Located in a lovely part of the city. Nice collection of Impressionists too. Go!

Thank Scott S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This museum has quite a collection for being in a midsize city. We were impressed. If you happen to be in Portland on a Friday afternoon the museum offers $5 after 5 p.m. admission from 5 p.m. to 8 p.m. A very good deal.

Thank Ricci_N_Max
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The contemporary wing was quite impressive with some excellent pieces from the world of the avant-garde. I loved going from floor to floor to see how the collection changed. A few really stunning pieces as well. The museum really does have a nice varied collection with an emphasis on Native American Art and Art of the Northwest, plus some great pieces from all different time periods, including the Renaissance and Medieval periods. A fascinating small exhibition on items that homeless people collect. Some contemporary art I had not seen before as well.

I was surprised how few security guards were on duty. I walked into very large rooms of art and I was the only one there for large periods of time with no security around at all.

I was a little disappointed that the architecture of the museum was so poor, both inside and out. Their space to show art and the way the spaces flow are not really up to par with other museums around the US..

I thought the museum shop was really quite sad. It looked like a dated Macy's department store showcasing items that had nothing to do with art or design and over-merchandising with way too much stock showing.

The cafe is in major need of a renovation.

but still glad i went and saw some interesting items...especially the new contemporary pieces from Northwest artists....very intriguing.

Thank designtravel2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I visited the Portland Art Museum specifically to see 'Poetic Imagination in Japanese Art'. A wonderful exhibition of exquisite artwork of poetry, painting and calligraphy...a joy to see...

Thank JJartist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

New exhibit of Japanese art on silk scrolls. Fancinating and beautiful extremely old artwork and poetry

Thank liz788
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

My wife and I recently visited the Portland Art Museum and had a great time. There was a unique and special display of early automobiles that featured "the streamlined" look. It was quite a collection of unique and interesting cars, and, there were a number of them. We also enjoyed the permanent exhibits, particularly the Native American collection. This was well worth the visit and is very much recommended if you happen to be in Portland.

Thank irawine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

The Portland Art Museum is a must for anyone visiting Portland. Great combination of local and traditional European artists.

Thank GShumway1110
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews