We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful collections”

Portland Art Museum
Book In Advance
More Info
$49.00*
and up
Portland Segway Tour
Ranked #14 of 442 things to do in Portland
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: One of the oldest art museums on the west coast with an impressive collection of Native American and Asian art, plus a large modern and contemporary wing. Rotating special exhibitions bring the best of the art world to Portland.
Forestville, California, United States
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Wonderful collections”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2013

Native American art, modern art, graphic art-- great collections. Worth the money, although we forgot to get a AAA discount. It's a great activity to do during the hot part of the day. Historical society is right across the street, too.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Drea M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

847 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    439
    301
    93
    12
    2
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Greenfield MA
Level Contributor
169 reviews
74 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Wonderful way to spend the day.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2013

While it was smaller than we thought, and the Coffee Grounds cafe was not open (we were there on a THursday and the website said it would be), we had a delightful day here.

There was a great deal to see, and it was all wonderfully laid out. The building is a bit confusing, but it was easy to find a guard to assist. The shop is quite amazing, and worth stopping in for gifts (We mentioned that it would be a great place to shop regularly if we lived in the area).

While their online site mentions a lot of things to do for local educators, as an educator myself, I didn't notice a lot that was welcoming to children who might be with their families.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank DrSharonGreenfieldMA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Mesa, CA.
Level Contributor
162 reviews
102 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 208 helpful votes
“Outstanding collection in areas of interest”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 8, 2013

The Asian collection on display is not huge but mostly excellent pieces. Japanese folding screens are an exception they are not of first quality.

Their collection of native American "Indian" art is outstanding and well worth seeing.

Limited collection of European art, but that can be seen anywhere.

Good collection of American artists from the Northwestern part of the U.S.

This is a museum well worth going out of your way to see.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Ted C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hudson, Ohio
Level Contributor
148 reviews
44 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“I wouldn't fly to Portland for it”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2013

I had an afternoon to kill during a business trip and it was a really hot day, so I opted for something indoors, like an art museum.

I would say it is a nice museum, but nothing exceptional. There are some nice pieces of Northwest Native American art, but even that seemed pretty modest. The rest was kind of a hodgepodge, a little bit of everything, but nothing remarkable.

The building is a little confusing, it doesn't seem like it was designed to be an art museum, and sometimes I didn't understand why particular galleries were next to each other.

I did think the $15 for admission was a little not worth the value, but I'll write it off as art is a good cause.

I wouldn't put this on a visitor's short-list of things to do in Portland.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Swift-Ohio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bethlehem, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
250 reviews
93 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
“Northwest Art collection is exceptional”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 2, 2013

The Portland Art Museum is a smaller museum, but if you want to see everything, you'll need about 3 hours. The special exhibit on Gaston Lachaise is very good. The museum has small collections of a lot of different types of art (rather than an exquisite large collection) with the exception of their collection of Northwest art, which is absolutely exceptional.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank LGBTtraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Portland Art Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing