We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Cultural reminder” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Portland Art Museum

Portland Art Museum
Book In Advance
More Info
$34.00*
and up
Portland Hop-On Hop-Off Tour
Ranked #13 of 440 things to do in Portland
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: One of the oldest art museums on the west coast with an impressive collection of Native American and Asian art, plus a large modern and contemporary wing. Rotating special exhibitions bring the best of the art world to Portland.
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
85 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Cultural reminder”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 31, 2013

I've been meaning to get to this museum for years, and finally did it. There will be more on my list to get through the grey winter. The body beautiful featuring Greek works was featured. The place was pretty crowded, as are most indoor attractions on a rainy weekend, would be a great escape on a quiet mid week afternoon!
http://www.portlandartmuseum.org/index.cfm
Once we viewed all that was to see, we wandered around and found an amazing display of Indian artifacts, the woven blankets, beading etc were so impressive. I will be back to explore the rest. Don't miss the gift shop, some terrific gift ideas and reasonable buys. Just another reason to love Portland.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Stephylee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

826 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    427
    296
    90
    12
    1
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
167 reviews
54 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“A pleasant visit ruined by a management decision”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 29, 2013

We regularly visit museums and galleries as we tour.
This is a pleasant, smaller museum with quite a nice range of art on display. When we visited there were several headline exhibits. Displays are well presented in nice spaces. Would be easy enough to spend 2 or 3 hours browsing.
In the end we were sorry to have left a contribution here and 2 things contributed to this. Firstly and less importantly we were virtually hounded out of the place as closing time neared. I have never experienced such enthusiasm for chasing people out.
Most frustrating though was the conscious decision of the board to display a photograph of a young ( now deceased) Japanese girl in the full knowledge that such an action was against the wishes of her family who are the rightful copyright owners. We thought it an exceptionally thoughtless thing to do, and to make matters worse the letter justifying the decision was placed after you viewed the photo. Any well meaning person would place a warning at the beginning of the display to allow viewers to make their own choices in advance. We felt this to be morally reprehensible. I can only begin to imagine the outrage that would be felt if the situation were reversed and an American family were disrespected the same way by a gallery in Japan.
it has taken me some time to write this review, and as I do I still feel regret and disappointment. We were sorry to have contributed our entrance fee - which was by comparison not cheap.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
5 Thank Anne B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon, United States
Level Contributor
53 reviews
36 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“I should go more often”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 27, 2013

Its been ages since I've been more than to the gift shop or sculpture garden, but they always have an exhibit that sounds interesting, and I believe they have free admission if you hit the right night of the month... maybe first friday?

Helpful?
Thank Tina K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
36 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“This is a lovely museum”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 25, 2013

It's not huge, but you can come for a day, or even a half day and have plenty of time to see most everything. They have a great Native American collection, wonderful collections of paintings and sculptures, and almost always there is a traveling exhibit worth visiting. They also have a swell little cafe and gift shop (it's great at Christmas) and a sales/rental gallery where you can rent art for your home or your office.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Virginia1120
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beaverton, Oregon
Level Contributor
229 reviews
46 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Hard to navigate but some beautiful things”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2013

I am not big into the art scene but have found myself at the art museum several times. I've been disappointed in the area where they have traveling art as the first I went to was J. Ellsworth Kelly who in my opinion is a joke. The man is a master at getting rich people to buy his crap, that much I will say. Then they had the body beautiful which I was warned to not take my 11 year old daughter to, it was very pornographic from what I was told. Another shame, lets get real art people! My favorite section is always the masters, I am always amazed at the skill, the detail, the light, the masters were brilliant and hundreds of years later it still shows! I still get a bit confused trying to navigate the museum, it is very broken up with many floors and easy to lose your place and you can't tell if you've seen everything or missed an area.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Traci S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Portland Art Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing