We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 9:00 AM - 6:00 PM
Save
Review Highlights
Tesla Custom Winery Tours made me look good

Roger and Tesla Custom Winery Tours did a great job. We had a group of 14, varied wine experience... read more

Reviewed 3 weeks ago
kenouderkirk
,
Portland, Oregon
The BEST way to see Oregon Wine Country

This is the only way to see Oregon wine country! From the moment Karen and Anthony picked us up to... read more

Reviewed 4 weeks ago
cnatalie425
,
San Diego, California
Read all 98 reviews
  
Reviews (98)
Filter reviews
98 results
Traveler rating
96
1
0
1
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveler rating
96
1
0
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews personalized experience wine country boutique wineries wine tour willamette valley his knowledge perfect itinerary lunch spread charcuterie board great tour great information an amazing experience hour tour roger domain driver pinot
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
48 - 53 of 98 reviews
Reviewed November 8, 2019

I wanted to take my mom on a special wine-tasting trip in the Willamette Valley and found this company through a google search.

I was immediately connected with Andrew Finver, who would be our guide for the day. From the first phone call, he was simply incredible. We had a terrific discussion where he gave me some great ideas and advice, while also being very thoughtful about my preferences. He then followed up with more recommendations and did some pre-work by calling around and making appointments so our experience would be entirely seamless and smooth - which it WAS!

After creating the perfect itinerary, Andrew stayed in touch and checked in as we moved closer to our tour date. On the day of the tour, he arrived in the Tesla Model X and picked us up and so began a truly spectacular day! We went to our first stop where he catered a "picnic" lunch for us (a delicious charcuterie board) and I would be remiss if I forgot to mention that Andrew used to own a Michelin-starred restaurant in NYC...so you know it was good!

Despite having this impressive background, Andrew did not volunteer any of this info - he's super laid-back and kind guy, and the restaurant fact only came up when I was asking him all kinds of nosy questions. ;)

We then went on to our second winery (another side note that Andrew knows pretty much everyone at all the wineries, which is always helpful) and our conversation was so enjoyable that we continued to chat with him during the tasting - though I will note for anyone who is concerned about having an intrusive wine guide, Andrew is very respectful and kept a courteous distance - it was only when we prompted him to join us that he did.

By the end of our trip, we were having so much fun chatting with Andrew (he knows SO much about wine but is not a know-it-all about it, which is such a refreshing balance to strike) that we were a little sad when we had to part ways. I am already planning another trip with my husband so we can take another tour through the amazing Willamette Valley with Andrew again.

So now that I've gushed about Andrew and Tesla Custom Winery Tours, let me just add that for anyone who has been to Napa and/or Sonoma and is looking for as just-as-beautiful - yet more personalized - experience, the Willamette Valley is for you. I haven't been to winery I didn't enjoy and I can't wait to try some new ones!

Cannot recommend highly enough!

Date of experience: November 2019
Thank Stephanie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2019 via mobile

Andrew, Andrew, Andrew.. I say his name 3 times because he deserves so much credit for making our wine experience as great and better than the high expectation we had. This tour was never about the “Tesla” or all about our guide bragging about how much smarter than us he was. Andrew was a terrific host. He planned a terrific day for us based upon our preferences, adjusted on the fly, had fun with us and yes, imparted his knowledge on us when we asked for it. In just one day I now call Him a friend. Thank you for being a part of our vacation Andrew.

Date of experience: November 2019
Thank MCEaton
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 20, 2019

We had such an awesome trip with Andrew. We traveled as a couple with my parents so we were a group of four. This was our first time to Willamette.

Andrew was prompt on picking us up in McMinnville and was super friendly, accommodating, and patient. We visited four wineries including lunch at one. Andrew gave us a thorough history of the area and explained what we should expect at each winery. We had coordinated with Roger ahead of time on where we wanted to go. We are part owners of a wine company in California and so are not new to wine. Our experience was very much about tasting the subtle terroir differences. All 4 wineries we went to had a good range of quality and styles. At the last stop we tried 7 total wines!

In Oregon it is standard to waive a tasting fee if you purchase 1-2 bottles or a dollar amount. Hence it usually makes financial sense to buy the wine if you like it. Tasting fees are $20-$35. I recommend having a case you can check on your flight home. We use WineCheck. The pricing at the wineries is not competitive. You can usually get slightly better prices from a wine shop near your home, but it can still make sense to buy to waive the fee (and to support these small, family businesses).

The wines were overall very lovely. Lots of bright, acidic chardonnays aged in stainless and lovely fruit forward, easy drinking Pinot Noir. The 2016 and 2017 vintages were banner years for the area and the Pinot is ready to drink now, which is awesome for wine tasting. The area is known for Pinot, so if you tell Roger you have a specific style you want to taste (earthy, dry Pinots or heavy malolactic Chardonnay), he will make sure you visit the best places for that! Due to the climate, this area doesn’t have heavy cabs or zins.

It rained on and off while we were in town with some awesome rainbows and pockets of sunshine. We came the weekend of Oct 19 and the foliage was breathtaking. We did not expect the amount of reds, yellows, and oranges we saw on the vines and on the trees. It was so gorgeous!

The culture of the Oregon wineries is fairly laid back. Casual dress and a non rushed attitude are prevalent :). It was a nice change from the higher pressure environment you may experience in Napa. If you’re in a hurry I recommend doing your tasting at the bar whenever possible.

In conclusion, Andrew was a delight! He left us to enjoy the tasting but was never far away. He made sure the car was right out front so we didn’t walk far in the rain. He held umbrellas and he carried our wine and was always greeting us with a smile. The lunch he prepared was perfect! And he was so friendly and nice to my husband and I and my senior age parents. Highly recommend!!!

Date of experience: October 2019
2  Thank V9057AAAAAA
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2019 via mobile

We had a great time being driven by Andrew, he knew the area well, was able to get us some last minute appointments, and was such a pleasure for the day we were with him. The car was immaculate and we really loved the experience! Thanks so much -

Date of experience: September 2019
Thank P5786KOlaurat
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2019

Had a marvelous day with Andrew tasting wine at four wineries this past weekend. Andrew was prompt, knowledgeable, gracious and helpful. Not only does he know his wines but he knows many of the wine makers and/or staff. He was able to get us a couple of ‘behind the scenes’ looks throughout our day.

There were four of us drinking and buying wine and trinkets throughout the day. He kept us on track while also keeping track of all our stuff.

Highly recommend Tesla Custom Winery Tours ask for Andrew as your driver and you won’t be disappointed.

Date of experience: September 2019
Thank Brian B
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews