We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Courtyard Portland City Center
Ranked #22 of 141 Hotels in Portland
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Nagoya
1 review
“Fantastic Hotel”
Reviewed September 7, 2009

This is really nice brand-new hotel. Hotel location is good. About finve minute walk to Max station, pioneer square. The hotel room is fancy and clean. It has really comfortable and big beds which made us good sleep to refresh fatigue of long flight from Japan. The hotel has provided free coffee at the reception area. My wife really loves the coffee service.

My wife and I were impressed with polite attitude, kindness and smile of the doormen and the staffs. And also, the staffs kindly helped us, first trip in Portland, to guide us the way to the sightseeing spots and to make a reservation of an airport shuttle bus. Thanks to this support, we could enjoy the city without any trouble. We want to stay this hotel again in our next trip in Portland.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DrPepperlover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,034 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    494
    429
    90
    13
    8
See reviews for
147
394
106
263
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (217)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
62 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed September 5, 2009

This hotel was 3 months old and has lots of nice touches like art by local artists. Design is modern, muted but vibrant. It's got a feel that's not like any other Courtyard I've ever stayed at. This is a LEED gold hotel with nice enviro touches like bottle and paper recycling, small and medium toilet flushes. Staff is helpful and professional. Only hitch was the morning we were leaving, we'd to wait quite a while for our car. Location is very central. Only a 10 minute walk from Powell Books. The restaurant downstairs has an interesting menu and good value.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank p8patyger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
brandii
1 review
Reviewed September 4, 2009

Beautifully designed and executed modern/contemporary rooms. This hotel had more of boutique feel...with lots of personal touches. Staff was clearly the best staff, most attentive, and most helpful I have EVER seen at a hotel. They were welcoming and really seemed to enjoy their job. Hotel is in a great location...close walks to restaurants, shopping, bars and light rail. And the room was an AWESOME value! I would definitely recommend and would definitely visit again for business or leisure. Truly a pleasure.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank brandii
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta
1 review
Reviewed September 4, 2009

The rooms are just the right size, they are clean and everything is in working order. The staff is friendly and is constantly asking if you need assistance; and you get the sense that they enjoy their jobs and really mean it!

I received exceptional service from the Guest Services Manager when he took the initiative to track down some conference material that was shipped to the wrong hotel; he drove to the hotel where it had been delivered and got it to me in time for our conference!

If you are looking for a place to host a company event or conference this is the place!

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DeskTopAtlanta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alaska
Level Contributor
52 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed August 30, 2009

While looking for an apartment for our college-bound son, we stayed a few nights at this hotel. It was clean, the staff were very helpful and fun, and the location was perfect for getting around NW and SW parts of Portland. We were able to take the red line Max from the airport to a stop just four blocks from the hotel. There is a good restaurant adjacent to the hotel.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Arctic_Daisy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, NV
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed August 30, 2009

Rooms are nice. Clean and new. I stayed here after it opened and not much has changed. The staff is a little slow. They don't have any taxis out front of the hotel so unless your planning on taking one of their limo/town car services($$$) you should just walk up to Broadway ave and grab a taxi. The doormen have a hard time hailing a taxi and you could be stuck waiting for a while. The limo/town cars and the rooms are way overpriced!!! Maybe when their staff are more up to par this will be a nice place to stay.

Stayed August 2009, traveled on business
Helpful?
3 Thank GoldJewelry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
103 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed August 30, 2009

We stayed for two nights, and everything was new and clean. All of the staff were terrific, just a good vibe from them all around. The lobby and rooms are relatively spare and modern, and the room was very quiet. I've stayed at other Portland hotels, and when I go back to Portland I will certainly choose to stay here again. The location is also great, right downtown, close to everything.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Incognito-one
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Portland hotels
Downtown
Portland Marriott City Center
Downtown
Mark Spencer Hotel
Mark Spencer Hotel
#8 of 141 in Portland
1,378 reviews
Downtown
Benson Hotel
Benson Hotel
#16 of 141 in Portland
2,060 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Westin Portland
Westin Portland
#19 of 141 in Portland
897 reviews
Downtown
Embassy Suites by Hilton Portland - Downtown
Downtown
Paramount Hotel
Paramount Hotel
#9 of 141 in Portland
1,188 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard Portland City Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard Portland City Center

Property: Courtyard Portland City Center
Address: 550 SW Oak St, Portland, OR 97204-1700
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Oregon > Portland > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Portland
#18 Business Hotel in Portland
#20 Family Hotel in Portland
#28 Romantic Hotel in Portland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Courtyard Portland City Center 3.5*
Number of rooms: 256
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whether you're traveling for business or pleasure, the Courtyard by Marriott® City Center hotel near downtown Portland, Oregon's Pearl District provides you with everything you'll need. From spacious guest rooms to our business center and on-site restaurant with classic American cuisine, this Pearl District, Portland hotel's amenities and services offer the perfect "Rose City" experience in the downtown Portland. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Marriott, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HRS so you can book your Courtyard Portland City Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Portland City Hotel Portland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing