We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Courtyard Portland City Center
Ranked #22 of 141 Hotels in Portland
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Canada
Level Contributor
20 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Fantastic”
Reviewed August 8, 2009

I was trying to find a downtown hotel that was inexpensive, and came across this one by chance for a great deal they had on back in June. We booked 2 rooms separately, and ended up paying less than 100USD per room. It was easy to get to the hotel from the airport by train (45 min ride and 5 min walk). The staffs at the front were really friendly. We arrived at the hotel right at 3pm. Only 1 room was available at the time during check-in because we want both rooms on the same floor. That works out fine for us since we planned to drop off our stuffs first and headed out right away. Our room was on the 16th floor (top floor) and it was rather quiet during our 2-night stay there. The other room was ready for us by the time we returned to the hotel at around 7 or 8pm.

Location-wise, it was convenient to get to the Chinese Garden. The hotel is located on the less-sketchy side of downtown. On Saturday night, a few blocks from the hotel (north) is like the "party zone" with LOTS of people on the street and police cars everywhere. Driving through there was a nightmare. Other than that, car rental locations are within a block or 2 (less than 5 min walk), so that was rather convenient. The walk to the Union Train Station (for Amtrak) was only 20 min as well for those who plan to arrive or leave Portland by train.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cookiedoughy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,036 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    495
    430
    90
    13
    8
See reviews for
147
395
106
264
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (217)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bend, Oregon
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 7, 2009

We spent two weeks in Portland, but the first week was at a different hotel very nearby. We loved staying at the Courtyard. The guys at the door were so helpful and friendly, even though we opted not to use their valet and parked for much cheaper nearby. Every time we passed by they had something nice to say. My kids thought they were the "best"! The rest of the staff was also friendly and very accomodating. Rooms were very clean, nicely decorated and super quiet. We stayed on the 14th floor and never heard anyone nearby or in halls. We also ate in their "diner" called the Original, and had good food w/ generally good service. Great location. I had to have my car to get my daughter to a practice daily, but found an outdoor lot on 4th/Stark for $5 day (pay after 5 pm and it allows you to park all day the following day--just be nice to the guy who works during the day and he'll make life super easy for you!)

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank happytravels43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
Level Contributor
27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed August 3, 2009

We very much enjoyed our three day stay at the Courtyard by Marriott. The hotel is only a couple of months old, the room was lovely, the staff very helpful and friendly, and the location in downtown Portland was perfect for site-seeing. The bell captains were particularly nice. I would highly recommend this hotel and would stay here again on a future visit to Portland.

Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank sed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, Scotland
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2009

I picked this hotel because of location and price. I had no idea it was a brand new refurbished hotel at the time of booking. What a surprise! This is possibly the best hotel I have ever stayed at in the USA.

The rooms are immaculate and very stylish, trendy and clean bathrooms. Crisp, new and comfy linens on comfy King size bed. The complimentary Wi-fi worked well. Good desk space, coffee maker and LCD TV. Our room had an iron and ironing board tucked away. We had a great view of downtown Portland from our top floor room. (There are 3 spacious elevators).

The business center was useful for printing boarding passes etc.

All staff were very friendly, knowledgeable and helpful. They have obviously been well trained in the art of first-class customer service. The door men/valet were more professional than most that you would find in a pricey 5-star hotel.

The gym on the third floor is fabulous and rivals many city gyms. Free water, towels, headphones and fruit are supplied.

The hotel is well located for exploring downtown. One of the staff recommended visiting Portland City Grill on the 30th floor of the U.S. Bank high rise (the big pink building over the road). Great views and a nice place to go for an indulgent cocktail.

Hint: for those taking a peek on Google Street view...the view is of the hotel before it was renovated...the pics on Marriots website are more accurate of what it looks like now!)

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Richy40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
57 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed July 6, 2009

My husband and I stayed here on the last leg of our anniversary trip in Oregon. The hotel has only been open for about a month, and everything is nice, clean, and modern. We were very pleased with the curbside services, the attentiveness of the staff, and the room in general. We stayed for 3 nights and the staff remembered our names for the whole time, and were very helpful with information regarding Portland.

The hotel itself is in a great location, close to the MAX, and the new rail line they are putting in will stop on both blocks near the hotel. It is close to Powell's Books and VooDoo Donut, both of which I highly recommend. (Maple Bacon Bar is the best, I think!)

We did have two slight problems, our TV did not get all the channels and our phone was not able to get a dial tone on one of our days. Both problems were delt with promptly. As an added bonus, the desk clerk brought us a dessert with strawberries dressed as a bride and groom for our anniversary, and as a thank you for being patient on our last night at the hotel.

We had a great time at this hotel - it was quiet, our room was on the 11th floor and was a good size, and the staff were very courteous and friendly.

One final note: as all downtown hotels, the parking was 27 dollars. There is a US Bank a block up that will let you park all day for 10 dollars -- but then you don't get the awesome valet experience. Personlly, I think if you're not leaving Portland, you don't need a car, take the max!

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MeLiElHe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yakima, Washington
Level Contributor
54 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed July 6, 2009

I was just going for overnight and pegged the best price in downtown Portland.
What a treat. The rooms are very modern, but have a quirky twist to them (the artwork). They are spacious, have internet service and the bathroom is well appointed.
Though I was there on a price deal, the staff made me feel welcome and important.
Perfect location if you are "doing" Portland...especially the Pearl district.

  • Stayed June 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank terrymarie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tacoma, Washington
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed June 30, 2009

Wonderful hotel. everything is new, organized and VERY clean. Good for the traveling businessman. Great restaurant connected, a good mix of regular restaurant fare and diner food.

Staff was wonderful and very helpful. Only drawback to this location is the $30 a day parking. That was half of what our daily rate was!!

  • Liked — NEW, CLEAN.
  • Disliked — PARKING COSTS.
  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank firewalkwithmelissa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Portland hotels
Downtown
Portland Marriott City Center
Downtown
Mark Spencer Hotel
Mark Spencer Hotel
#10 of 141 in Portland
1,379 reviews
Downtown
Benson Hotel
Benson Hotel
#16 of 141 in Portland
2,062 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Paramount Hotel
Paramount Hotel
#8 of 141 in Portland
1,191 reviews
Downtown
Embassy Suites by Hilton Portland - Downtown
Downtown
Westin Portland
Westin Portland
#19 of 141 in Portland
898 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard Portland City Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard Portland City Center

Property: Courtyard Portland City Center
Address: 550 SW Oak St, Portland, OR 97204-1700
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Oregon > Portland > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Portland
#18 Business Hotel in Portland
#20 Family Hotel in Portland
#28 Romantic Hotel in Portland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Courtyard Portland City Center 3.5*
Number of rooms: 256
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whether you're traveling for business or pleasure, the Courtyard by Marriott® City Center hotel near downtown Portland, Oregon's Pearl District provides you with everything you'll need. From spacious guest rooms to our business center and on-site restaurant with classic American cuisine, this Pearl District, Portland hotel's amenities and services offer the perfect "Rose City" experience in the downtown Portland. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Ctrip TA, Marriott, Priceline, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HRS so you can book your Courtyard Portland City Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Portland City Hotel Portland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing