We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Popcorn and Room Service” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Courtyard Portland City Center

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Courtyard Portland City Center
Ranked #22 of 137 Hotels in Portland
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Pullman, Washington
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Popcorn and Room Service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2014

After a long Portland Rose Parade day and pub crawl, the Marriott Courtyard was the perfect hotel to return to. Centrally located around many eating and bar destinations, we were easily able to meet up with friends and return to the hotel even in the midst of parade day chaos.
There are many average hotels, but this one stands out as a relaxing and welcoming place to stay. Yes, you should be out doing stuff in Portland while you are visiting, but if you want, as I did, you can relax at this Marriott. Room service was fast and tasty. I even popped myself some popcorn in the lounge and felt comfortable doing it! The room was cool and comfortable. Every interaction with the staff was friendly.
For the location and the price (especially compared to other hotels in the area and of the like) this was well worth the price.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ABodley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CourtyardPDXGM, Manager at Courtyard Portland City Center, responded to this review, August 5, 2014
Thank you for the amazing review. I am glad we could be your home away from home. I hope you get a chance to return again soon.

Best Regards,

Lindsey Ficken | Director of Rooms
Courtyard by Marriott Portland City Center- A Boutique Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

973 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    469
    399
    84
    13
    8
See reviews for
143
373
99
245
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (205)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
430 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2014

One of the best things about this hotel is its location in downtown Portland. Easy to walk everywhere. We stay at Marriott hotels a lot, and this Courtyard is one of the better ones we've ever stayed in. We had a corner room, and it was a little awkward for people to sit. The bathroom was huge and well lit. Very clean, attractive. We certainly will consider this hotel when we visit Portland the next time.

Room Tip: The corner rooms are a little awkward, you might want to take a look at it before you reserve it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank C B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CourtyardPDXGM, Manager at Courtyard Portland City Center, responded to this review, July 23, 2014
Thank you for the review. Our location is hard to beat as we are right smack in the middle of downtown Portland. I hope you were able to enjoy the floor to ceiling windows in your corner room. We look forward to seeing you again when your travels bring you back to Portland.

Best Regards,

Lindsey Ficken | Director of Rooms
Courtyard by Marriott Portland City Center- A Boutique Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
20 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2014 via mobile

A nice place the stay. The rates are reasonable and the breakfast was above average. The bathroom is pretty decent and I liked the modern decor. If Portland was a regular stop, I would definitely stay here all the time. The staff was very helpful and very courteous.

Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank yum-hum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CourtyardPDXGM, Manager at Courtyard Portland City Center, responded to this review, July 23, 2014
Thank you for the review and we hope you are able to add Portland as a regular stop!

Best,

Lindsey Ficken | Director of Rooms
Courtyard by Marriott Portland City Center- A Boutique Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, OR
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 18, 2014

We recently stayed 2 nights at this hotel in downtown Portland. I have lived here for over 30 years and wasn't aware of this hotel. I'm glad I found out about it now.
The hotel is located between the two main transit streets downtown, making getting on public transit very easy. It's also located within walking distance of just about everything in downtown.
The hotel is a "courtyard" in name only since it doesn't have any outdoor space, but that was not an issue.
The hotel has nicely furnished rooms, lacking only a foot stool to make the sitting areas more comfortable. Free Wi-Fi was nice, and the room was very quiet. As is common in most of the high-rise hotels, the window didn't open and the AC struggled to cool the room as much as I like it. That was the only negative.
The hotel has an associated restaurant called The Original. It bills itself as a "dinerant" which is a term new to us: a cross between a "diner" and "restaurant." We ate 3 meals there and the food was very good and the prices reasonable.
The main reason I chose this hotel was that it was at least $75 cheaper than comparable hotels in the area. We were very pleased with our stay and would recommend this hotel to both travelers or business people looking for a convenient downtown hotel.

Room Tip: the higher the better to get a view of Portland buildings and bridges
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bikerider23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CourtyardPDXGM, Manager at Courtyard Portland City Center, responded to this review, July 23, 2014
Thank you so much for the nice review. A small secret on property is that we do have an actual Courtyard in the very center of our building. Just ask the front desk and they will show you the way so that you are able to enjoy some time outdoors without the craziness of city life around you.

Best,

Lindsey Ficken | Director of Rooms
Courtyard by Marriott Portland City Center- A Boutique Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
28 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 17, 2014

Great location walkable to many restaurants and food trucks. This is billed as a "boutique" Courtyard, but it feels more like a regular Marriott. We had a corner room with 2 queens, which had plenty of room. There was a small fridge in the room. There was a good workout room equipped with some free weights and cardio machines, but there is no pool in this hotel. Valet parking was $30/night. Room was clean on arrival, but they did not service the room after our first night.

Room Tip: Corner room on upper floor will give you the best views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank apcstac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CourtyardPDXGM, Manager at Courtyard Portland City Center, responded to this review, July 23, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write us a review. We strive to not be the typical Courtyard and hope that it shows. We look forward to having you stay again the next time you are in Portland.

Best Regards,

Lindsey Ficken | Director of Rooms
Courtyard by Marriott Portland City Center- A Boutique Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, Virginia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2014

The courtyard is in a perfect location. Close to everything downtown, popular food trucks and public transportation. An easy walk to any neighborhood.

Hotel employees very helpful in suggesting places for dinner. Quick to respond, forgot shower cap , called and had one in 5 minutes.

Very nice room. Restaurant on premises Zagat rated, however didn't try as there are so many wonderful eateries.

Hotel easily accessible by light rail from airport. One dollar for a two hour ticket or $5 for an all day pass.

Room Tip: Great view of the city from the 16th floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pilaro O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CourtyardPDXGM, Manager at Courtyard Portland City Center, responded to this review, July 23, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write us a 5 star review. We hope the next time you visit Portland you also get to try the amazing brunch at The Original.

Best ,

Lindsey Ficken | Director of Rooms
Courtyard by Marriott Portland City Center- A Boutique Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Powell, Tennessee
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 14, 2014

I miss it already. The room was clean, cozy, and modern. The staff was amazing. I had the greatest housekeeping service ever! Location can't be beat. Meeting facilities so comfortable and easy! (Bring a sweater - meeting rooms cook but I like that!!!!). This was one of the best properties I've visited in a long time!!!!!

Room Tip: I bet all are fantastic
See more room tips
Green Features: I loved the recycle bins and the LEEDS certification drew me right in. It's cool how far out front this hotel is!
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Joanfhughes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CourtyardPDXGM, Manager at Courtyard Portland City Center, responded to this review, July 23, 2014
Wow I think you made us blush a little. Our staff on property are amazing and work very hard to make sure everyone enjoys their stay. I hope you get another chance to visit Portland again soon.

Best,

Lindsey Ficken | Director of Rooms
Courtyard by Marriott Portland City Center- A Boutique Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Portland hotels
Downtown
Portland Marriott City Center
Downtown
The Mark Spencer
The Mark Spencer
#15 of 137 in Portland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,142 reviews
Downtown
Embassy Suites by Hilton Portland - Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Westin Portland
Westin Portland
#14 of 137 in Portland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 793 reviews
Downtown
Hotel Lucia
Hotel Lucia
#13 of 137 in Portland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,122 reviews
Downtown
Benson Hotel
Benson Hotel
#19 of 137 in Portland
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,865 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard Portland City Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard Portland City Center

Property: Courtyard Portland City Center
Address: 550 SW Oak St, Portland, OR 97204-1700
Location: United States > Oregon > Portland > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Portland
#18 Business Hotel in Portland
#20 Family Hotel in Portland
#28 Romantic Hotel in Portland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Courtyard Portland City Center 3.5*
Number of rooms: 256
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whether you're traveling for business or pleasure, the Courtyard by Marriott® City Center hotel near downtown Portland, Oregon's Pearl District provides you with everything you'll need. From spacious guest rooms to our business center and on-site restaurant with classic American cuisine, this Pearl District, Portland hotel's amenities and services offer the perfect "Rose City" experience in the downtown Portland. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Marriott, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Courtyard Portland City Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Portland City Hotel Portland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing