We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Courtyard Portland City Center
Ranked #28 of 144 Hotels in Portland
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed April 21, 2014

What a great stay at the Courtyard. Walk out the door to food carts, MAX. A couple blocks to Voodoo donuts and Pioneer Square. room was very comfortable and the staff was helpful. Portland is such a fabulous city, made for walking!!!!

Stayed: April 2014, traveled with friends
Thank Swalt19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CourtyardPDXGM, Manager at Courtyard Portland City Center, responded to this reviewResponded April 22, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write us a review. Our location is great being in the middle of everything. I hope you get a chance to come back to downtown soon!

Best,

Lindsey Ficken | Director of Rooms
Courtyard by Marriott Portland City Center- A Boutique Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,074)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

462 - 468 of 1,074 reviews

Reviewed April 21, 2014

I would recommend this hotel for its excelent location and customer service. The staff is very attentive, specially Karen (from Mexico). She was very efficient and always willing to help. The rooms are nice and clean, and the restaurant offers good food and service. The only negative thing is that they don't have safe deposit box inside the room.

Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
Thank Gloria G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CourtyardPDXGM, Manager at Courtyard Portland City Center, responded to this reviewResponded April 22, 2014

Thank you for the wonderful review. Karen does a great job here on property and we love seeing our associates names mentioned in reviews. I apologize that we did not have safety deposit boxes in the rooms but we do have them behind our front desk for guests to use at no charge.

Best Regards,

Lindsey Ficken | Director of Rooms
Courtyard by Marriott Portland City Center- A Boutique Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 14, 2014

You cannot beat the location of this hotel; its right smack in the middle of downtown and within walking distance of all of my favorite Portland hot spots. The hotel is nice and clean, just beware of the elevator corridor - it is quite narrow and can become jammed with traffic!

Stayed: February 2014, traveled on business
Thank BimmerByrd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CourtyardPDXGM, Manager at Courtyard Portland City Center, responded to this reviewResponded April 16, 2014

Thank you so much for the review. Our location really does put you in the middle of everything and if it isn't in the heart of downtown just hop on the max which is directly across the street. I hope you get another chance soon to stay with our property.

Best,

Lindsey Ficken | Director of Rooms
Courtyard by Marriott Portland City Center- A Boutique Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 7, 2014

I'm from Vancouver Canada and decided to go to Portland as a family vacation. We booked this hotel and was amazed how lovely and nice the hotel was! The staff were extremely friendly and caring to us. Next time we come back we most definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 972Tommy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CourtyardPDXGM, Manager at Courtyard Portland City Center, responded to this reviewResponded April 9, 2014

Thank you so much for the amazing 5 star review! I am so happy that you loved our hotel as much as we do. The entire team looks forward to having you back on property in the future.

All the best,

Lindsey Ficken | Director of Rooms
Courtyard by Marriott Portland City Center- A Boutique Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 7, 2014

Stayed 4 nights at the end of March, beginning of April in ADA room 206. We were quite leery of any place after reading all the reviews of Portland hotels, and picked a place in which the term "musty" did not apply, as my spouse's allergies would not agree with such.

This turned out to be a good centrally located hotel. Check-in was quick, and the room provided was indeed ADA. Staff was polite. We did not eat at the hotel, as there are way too many places to eat in Portland (think Voodoo Doughnuts just a few blocks away, or an entire block of food carts 1 block east).

The room itself was a perfectly fine space, and the ADA bathroom was great. The sink could be fixed to be mounted closer to the front. The shower was good.

Heating did not really work. Setting the heat to 75 produced cool air, and we mostly wore sweaters. Internet was really slow. I set up my phone as a hot spot, and it was faster than the Internet service provided. TV remote did not turn the power on/off. Channels/Volume worked, but one had to press the power button on the TV itself to turn it on/off. Was assured that the remote would be fixed, but 4 days later it had not been fixed. The mattress should be replaced, as it sagged on each side. Then again, nothing too fatal.

Valet service was really quick. $30/day (average for Portland downtown) with in/out privileges. Text them to call for your car, as they do not have onsite parking for guests. They state 10 minutes after texting, but were usually there in 5.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank George S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CourtyardPDXGM, Manager at Courtyard Portland City Center, responded to this reviewResponded April 8, 2014

Thank you for the review. I am sorry that we were unable to correct a few minor issues that you had in your guestroom but I am glad that these did not seem to effect your trip. I hope you get the chance to visit Portland again soon!

Best Regards,

Lindsey Ficken | Director of Rooms
Courtyard by Marriott Portland City Center- A Boutique Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 7, 2014

Good location, walking distance from so many places. Very pleasant & helpful staff, expecially the valet. Thought it was a pretty good value -- we got the valet package, which saved about $10 over getting valet separately. The room was a good size, and well appointed. Overall, I thought it was a good value, and would stay there again.

Room Tip: We were only on the 2nd floor, and close to elevator. There was no noise from the hallway or elevat...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank guppy4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CourtyardPDXGM, Manager at Courtyard Portland City Center, responded to this reviewResponded April 8, 2014

Thank you so much for the fantastic review! We love to hear when others love our staff as much as we do. We hope you get another chance soon to visit us.

Best,

Lindsey Ficken | Director of Rooms
Courtyard by Marriott Portland City Center- A Boutique Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 3, 2014

Stayed at the Courtyard City Center, and was impressed by the location, everything we wanted to do was within walking distance.

The hotel is a standard Courtyard, comfy beds, WiFi, business center. The hotel staff was pleasant, and watch our luggage for us the next day, while we were out exploring before heading to the airport.

I would stay here again.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank noxiousburrito
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CourtyardPDXGM, Manager at Courtyard Portland City Center, responded to this reviewResponded April 4, 2014

Thank you for the review. Again what can I say that hasn't already been said about our location. It truly is one of the best. We look forward to seeing you on your next trip!

Best Regards,

Lindsey Ficken | Director of Rooms
Courtyard by Marriott Portland City Center- A Boutique Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Portland hotels
Downtown
Portland Marriott City Center
Pearl
Residence Inn Portland Downtown/Pearl District
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Mark Spencer Hotel
Mark Spencer Hotel
#7 of 144 in Portland
1,643 reviews
Downtown
Embassy Suites by Hilton Portland - Downtown
Downtown
Residence Inn Portland Downtown/Riverplace
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard Portland City Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard Portland City Center

Address: 550 SW Oak St, Portland, OR 97204-1700
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Oregon > Portland > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Portland
#18 Business Hotel in Portland
#20 Family Hotel in Portland
#28 Romantic Hotel in Portland
Price Range: $116 - $279 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Courtyard Portland City Center 3.5*
Number of rooms: 256
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whether you're traveling for business or pleasure, the Courtyard by Marriott® City Center hotel near downtown Portland, Oregon's Pearl District provides you with everything you'll need. From spacious guest rooms to our business center and on-site restaurant with classic American cuisine, this Pearl District, Portland hotel's amenities and services offer the perfect "Rose City" experience in the downtown Portland. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cancelon, getaroom.com and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Courtyard Portland City Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Portland City Hotel Portland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing