We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Nice hotel in a great location for a weekend getaway. Friendly staff.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Courtyard Portland City Center

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Courtyard Portland City Center
Ranked #22 of 137 Hotels in Portland
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Santa Cruz, California
Level Contributor
23 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Nice hotel in a great location for a weekend getaway. Friendly staff.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2013

We stayed here for a weekend getaway in the summer on our first trip exploring Portland.

We wanted to use our Marriott Rewards points and we were so glad we chose this location! It is very clean and nicely decorated--it must have been renovated fairly recently because I didn't even notice a scratch on the furniture, scuffs on the walls, or cracked grout in the bathroom. We had a beautiful, large-ish, corner room with a peak of the river on the 14th floor! The room was mostly quite, tho' we did occasionally hear our heavy-footed neighbor above us.

The staff were very friendly & we appreciated the free wi-fi, in-room refrigerator, in-room recycle bins, and complimentary morning Stumptown coffee in the lobby.

The location was perfect for us. We didn't need a car, at all. We took MAX from the airport, rented bikes for a few hours (Waterfront Cycles), took MAX to the Zoo & walked everywhere else (Food trucks, Saturday Market, VooDoo dounts, Powell's Bookstore, Pioneer Square...).

Didn't try the fitness center or restaurant , but they seemed nice.

Would definitely stay here again and would recommend it to anyone wanting to be in this part of downtown Portland.

Room Tip: 1405 was a nice room with a peak of the river.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sproketz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CourtyardPDXGM, General Manager at Courtyard Portland City Center, responded to this review, August 2, 2013
Thank you for the 5 Star review. I am please you had such a nice experience with us and that you enjoyed our hotel and location. We hope to see you again the next time you are in Portland.

Best,

Eric Paul | GENERAL MANAGER
Courtyard by Marriott Portland City Center- A Boutique Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

973 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    469
    399
    84
    13
    8
See reviews for
143
373
99
245
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (205)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Rafael, California
Level Contributor
60 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2013

I stayed here with my girlfriend in September for a weekend. It was very nice, clean, with friendly staff. It was conveniently located walking distance to EVERYTHING. Everything else was a MAX ride away. The Original downstairs had good food and even better cocktails. I would absolutely stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mwilenchik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CourtyardPDXGM, General Manager at Courtyard Portland City Center, responded to this review, August 2, 2013
Thank you for the nice review. I am glad that you enjoyed your stay and that you will absolutely stay here again. See you soon!

Best,

Eric Paul | GENERAL MANAGER
Courtyard by Marriott Portland City Center- A Boutique Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
128 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2013

Stayed in this hotel for business during a week when rooms in downtown Portland were not to be had. Although I had to leave after two nights because of the hotel being completely booked prior to my reservation, I returned one night later, and was assigned an upgraded room.
WOW! Corner room, with floor to ceiling windows, and even a window in the bathroom.
Beautiful furnishings, roomy and not cluttered, and comfortable beyond belief.
Great value for downtown Portland, short walk to many restaurants, including the famous block of food wagons, warm and welcoming staff.
Loved it.

Room Tip: Ask for a NW corner room if it is available.
See more room tips
Green Features: Recycle bins in the bathroom, card to encourage towel re-use.
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Cheryl B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CourtyardPDXGM, General Manager at Courtyard Portland City Center, responded to this review, August 2, 2013
Thank you for the 5 Star review. I love that you had a great experience with us. I am happy that you were able to stay in one of our corner king rooms, they do rock and you can't beat the views.

Hope you come stay with us again!

Best,

Eric Paul | GENERAL MANAGER
Courtyard by Marriott Portland City Center- A Boutique Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
44 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2013

Stayed 4 nights for business the 2 with points and certificates. Outstanding location, walkable distance to several food cart pods, the Pearl District, etc. parked a car using the valet service for the business portion, and the service was fantastic - prompt and very friendly. They suggested several places to eat, but the Original on site was great. We ate there for breakfast Sunday morning. Room was spacious with fridge and large bathroom.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ErinReisa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CourtyardPDXGM, General Manager at Courtyard Portland City Center, responded to this review, August 2, 2013
We love 5 Star reviews, thank you! I am pleased that you enjoyed our hotel, the restaurant, the staff and the location. We are glad that you stayed with us and hope that you return soon!


Best,

Eric Paul | GENERAL MANAGER
Courtyard by Marriott Portland City Center- A Boutique Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntington Beach, California
Level Contributor
81 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 24, 2013

I am going to start by stating my one and only complaint, then I'll get to the positives. This place is massively over-priced! The only thing about this hotel that could even come close to warranting their pricing of $300/night is the location. Other than that, it is the same as many Courtyard's I have strayed at for around $150. Maybe I am ignorant and perhaps $300/night is simply the "going rate" around here, but it felt way too high to me for this hotel. Yes, it has a prime location near all the best Downtown Portland attractions, but other than that, it was just a regular Courtyard hotel(not that that's a bad thing). The rooms are modern and clean, the lobby is pleasing to the eye and relaxing, and the staff is friendly. We enjoyed our room and our view from it. The bottom line, however, is this place simply is fancy enough and over-the-top enough to charge what they do. I think the plan next time will be to stay a little bit further away for half the price or if I do spend $300/night, I will look for a fancier place further away, so that I get more "bang" for my buck.

Room Tip: Higher floor = better view.
See more room tips
Green Features: Felt like a very "green" hotel, at least from my observations.
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Frank-Money
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CourtyardPDXGM, General Manager at Courtyard Portland City Center, responded to this review, August 2, 2013
Thank you so much for your review. I am pleased that you enjoyed our hotel and the location. The summer months here in Portland are our high demand periods and yes, you will find that rates are higher in the city. Typically, we are still priced equal to or lower than most hotels in the downtown market. I hope that you come see us again!

Best,

Eric Paul | GENERAL MANAGER
Courtyard by Marriott Portland City Center- A Boutique Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
36 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2013 via mobile

Very good location in downtown - easily walkable to the Saturday market, Pearl District and across to the river. Seconds away from north and southbound stops on the Trimet MAX yellow line if you want to use public transport.
Hotel very clean. Bedroom and bathroom a good size and all newly fitted - although a bit boring decor, very brown and beige. My only real grumble is there's no mirror in the bedroom area only in the bathroom which is a bit of a pain if you want to do your hair/makeup whilst the other person is in the bathroom!! - surely it wouldn't cost that much to put another mirror over the desk area.

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank LunaWest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CourtyardPDXGM, General Manager at Courtyard Portland City Center, responded to this review, July 24, 2013
Thank you for your review. I am happy that you had a nice stay. Thank you for your suggestion regarding having an extra mirror. Hope to see you again the next time you are in Portland.

Best,

Eric Paul | GENERAL MANAGER
Courtyard by Marriott Portland City Center- A Boutique Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
30 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2013 via mobile

My husband and I were traveling on business and we were not in charge of deciding on the hotels we stayed at on this trip. We spent two nights at this hotel, then stayed at a hotel on Mt. Hood, then came back to the Courtyard for the last night of the trip. The first room we stayed in was average at best. It was oddly shapen and did not appear to be a good use of space. This room had a queen size bed and the bathroom only had a shower stall that was not in arm's reach of any towel bar. The room was nicely decorated, but the bathroom was rather plain and the hair dryer looked (and worked) as if it was from the early 90's. The second room we stayed in was much bigger and utilized the space better. It had a king size bed, so I'm guessing that it probably cost more. This bathroom had a tub, but the same disappointing hair dryer. The best part of this hotel is the bar/restaraunt that is attached, "The Original." Fantastic food, creative drinks, and great happy hour prices. They also have delicious cupcakes. Any place that serves martinis next to cupcakes is a winner by me!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank snowflake_chaser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CourtyardPDXGM, General Manager at Courtyard Portland City Center, responded to this review, July 23, 2013
Thank you for your review. Sounds like you really enjoyed our restaurant and bar. I am happy that you were able to stay in one of our larger rooms on your second night back. We do have a few smaller rooms. I am sorry that it did not work out for you. Thank you for the feedback on the hair dryers. We take all of our guest feedback as a way to improve on the guest experience.

We hope to see you again the next time you are in Portland.

Best,

Eric Paul | GENERAL MANAGER
Courtyard by Marriott Portland City Center- A Boutique Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Portland hotels
Downtown
Portland Marriott City Center
Downtown
The Mark Spencer
The Mark Spencer
#15 of 137 in Portland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,138 reviews
Downtown
Embassy Suites by Hilton Portland - Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Westin Portland
Westin Portland
#14 of 137 in Portland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 791 reviews
Downtown
Hotel Lucia
Hotel Lucia
#13 of 137 in Portland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,118 reviews
Downtown
Benson Hotel
Benson Hotel
#20 of 137 in Portland
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,860 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard Portland City Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard Portland City Center

Property: Courtyard Portland City Center
Address: 550 SW Oak St, Portland, OR 97204-1700
Location: United States > Oregon > Portland > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Portland
#18 Business Hotel in Portland
#20 Family Hotel in Portland
#28 Romantic Hotel in Portland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Courtyard Portland City Center 3.5*
Number of rooms: 256
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whether you're traveling for business or pleasure, the Courtyard by Marriott® City Center hotel near downtown Portland, Oregon's Pearl District provides you with everything you'll need. From spacious guest rooms to our business center and on-site restaurant with classic American cuisine, this Pearl District, Portland hotel's amenities and services offer the perfect "Rose City" experience in the downtown Portland. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Courtyard Portland City Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Portland City Hotel Portland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing