We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Quiet, modern Hotel in Downtown Portland” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Courtyard Portland City Center

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Courtyard Portland City Center
Ranked #22 of 137 Hotels in Portland
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Bloomington, il
Level Contributor
30 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Quiet, modern Hotel in Downtown Portland”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

I used a rewards night to stay here for one night at the beginning of our trip in Portland. I think this hotel is a steal at a Category 4 for Marriott. It is located on the northern end of the main Downtown area. It is just a few short blocks away from the famous Portland Saturday Market area and car rental companies. We bought 1 - Day Train passes when we got to the airport to get downtown, but never used it again because we could walk everywhere we wanted to go from our hotel. It is just about a 4 block walk from where the Red Line train drops you off coming from the airport(45 min or so ride).

The rooms them selves were modern, up to date, clean and very quiet to outside noise (this my biggest thing with hotels). The bathrooms were big with really nice showers. TV had great channel selection and bed was very comfortable.

We did not use many of the hotel amenities because we were only there for 1 night and we were out doing things most of the time, but the hotel staff was very friendly at check in and we didn't have any complaints about anything.

I would definitely consider this hotel again if I ever returned to Portland.

Room Tip: Ask for a high room facing river. The higher you go, the best chance of having views of Mt hood and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JamaicaSun27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CourtyardPDXGM, General Manager at Courtyard Portland City Center, responded to this review, June 22, 2013
Thank you for the nice review. I am pleased that your over all experience was great with us. We do hope that we see you again the next time you are in Portland!

Best,

Eric Paul | GENERAL MANAGER
Courtyard by Marriott Portland City Center- A Boutique Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

930 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    449
    384
    78
    13
    6
See reviews for
137
358
94
231
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (193)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
30 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

the location is really great; Pearl district, Chinatown, Waterfront Park, etc. can be reached within 5 to 10 minutes by foot, huge variety of restaurants and bars in walking distance but ...

when I arrived they offered me a room on the 12th floor which they sold to me "more spacious than the others", but the room just had a tiny window and about 2 feet away from the window there was a large brick wall so I could not even see the sky! So I asked them to give me another room what they did. Unfortunately the "do not disturb"-sign was missing and one of the towels had a huge large spot (~10'' diameter; probably another guest has shined his shoes with it). Housekeeping fixed that pretty quickly and the staff was very friendly the whole time, but overall this is not the kind of service I am expecting when I stay at a Courtyard ...

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 333CD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CourtyardPDXGM, General Manager at Courtyard Portland City Center, responded to this review, June 22, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. Sorry for some of the issues you had with your stay and that we did not live up to your expectations, it is not the norm for us. I am pleased to read that you like our location and the staff was always friendly.

We value your business and regret not meeting you expectations!

Best,

Eric Paul | GENERAL MANAGER
Courtyard by Marriott Portland City Center- A Boutique Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

Everything about my stay was great. First, the hotel is located in a great location only a few blocks from the light rail station from the airport, and in a central location which makes walking around quite easy. Also, I thought the room was in excellent condition and quite modern. I thought the staff was helpful and accomodating. Overall, I would definitely stay at this location again when I come back to Portland.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank beloit35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CourtyardPDXGM, General Manager at Courtyard Portland City Center, responded to this review, June 22, 2013
Thank you for the 5 Star review, we love them. I am happy that you had a great stay and that this is the best Courtyard that you have stayed at! We look forward to your return.

Best,

Eric Paul | GENERAL MANAGER
Courtyard by Marriott Portland City Center- A Boutique Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Siloam Springs, AR
Level Contributor
34 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013

We stayed here for a week in July 2012 and loved it! The Hotel staff were always friendly and helped us with directions and areas around town. The location was great, within walking distance to several great restaurants!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ladybug7812
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CourtyardPDXGM, General Manager at Courtyard Portland City Center, responded to this review, June 22, 2013
Thank you for the 5 Star review. I am pleased that you had a great stay with us. We hope to see you again the next time you come to Portland!

Best,

Eric Paul | GENERAL MANAGER
Courtyard by Marriott Portland City Center- A Boutique Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
80 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

Our room was disappointing. It felt rather small and the decor and furnishings were basic and unattractive. The shade on the standard lamp was loose on its fittings and wonky. Our first task on entering the room was to remove the non-washable bolster and cushion which were in contact with the clean bed linens. The bed was comfortable but the sheets were not good quality and the pillows overfilled and lumpy. The room does not have a safe (although one was available in reception - but even then the box we were allocated was very awkward to open) . Internet is free but cuts itself off every few minutes when not in use.

A lack of attention to detail was also evident in the bathroom, from the wafer thin toilet paper, to the shower control with hot and cold transposed and a tissue box empty except for a few screwed up bits of paper stuffed into its orifice.

I suspect our disappointment was partly due to the contrast with the excellent Residence Inn by Marriott which we had stayed in the previous night in Vancouver,Canada. Since the Residence Inn room rate includes breakfast, the cost is similar. We asked a member of staff to explain the relative position of two brands in the Marriott portfolio. He said that Courtyard by Marriott is marketed primarily to the business traveller. This probably explains why drinking water is on sale in the rooms for $ a bottle since the guests can reclaim the cost on their expense accounts!

Room Tip: There are probably much more spacious rooms than the one we were allocated.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JJRG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CourtyardPDXGM, General Manager at Courtyard Portland City Center, responded to this review, June 10, 2013
Thank you for your review. I am sorry that we did not live up to your expectations. I sure don't like to hear that our guests think our hotel is mediocre. It is not the norm for us. We take you comments to heart, as it is always away for us to improve on our product and service.

We value your business and hope that you give is a try again.

Best,

Eric Paul | GENERAL MANAGER
Courtyard by Marriott Portland City Center- A Boutique Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valley Stream
Level Contributor
124 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013

First I would like to tell you that the staff is great. They would talk to me and my wife and when we asked about places they tried to give personal experience advice. When we wanted to know about a place for a drink or dinner with great river views one of the staff told me that I would love the Portland City Grill, which was right across the street on the 30th floor. It was a great recommendation and there were other things too.
The rooms were not the biggest but they were clean and well appointed. I loved the bathroom shower and the bed was huge. My one complaint with the room was that the only waste basket was in the bathroom and the fridge was a bit noisy.
The hotel bar was friendly and they had pretty good drinks but they closed at 10 PM. In the same room is the restaurant and they had real nice breakfasts and wonderful coffee.
I like to run and the hotel is just 5-6 blocks from the waterfront esplanade and it is a wonderful place to run. This place is always filled with runners, walkers and bikes all day long. The steel bridge has a pedestrian path that cuts across the Willamette River and the views are great. We were also near the Streetcars and bus stop is right by the building. You are near shopping, Powell's Books, the Portland Museum of Art, many coffee shops and there also two brewpubs just a short walk away. There are also the three different food wagon courts inside of a 4 block walk.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank librarian81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CourtyardPDXGM, General Manager at Courtyard Portland City Center, responded to this review, June 10, 2013
Thank you for the nice review. Sounds like you had the opportunity to take in Portland. I am pleased that you had a nice experience with us and that the staff was great! Thank you for the feedback on the trash can. We have few in each room, so I passed your comments onto housekeeping. Thank you for staying with us!

Hope to see you again!!

Best,

Eric Paul | GENERAL MANAGER
Courtyard by Marriott Portland City Center- A Boutique Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Massachusetts
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

Great location downtown. Located 2 blocks from the Tri-MET to/from the airport. Clean, tidy rooms. Stylish decor throughout the property. Good restaurant attached. Coffee shops and restaurants nearby, Powell's bookshop only blocks away!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NewEnglandJonny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CourtyardPDXGM, General Manager at Courtyard Portland City Center, responded to this review, May 30, 2013
Thank you for your review. I am pleased that you had a nice stay with us and that you enjoyed the location, the clean room and the stylish decor. We hope to see you again in the near future.

Best,

Eric Paul | GENERAL MANAGER
Courtyard by Marriott Portland City Center- A Boutique Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Portland hotels
Downtown
Embassy Suites by Hilton Portland - Downtown
Downtown
Sentinel
Sentinel
#4 of 137 in Portland
4.5 of 5 stars 1,036 reviews
Hotel deLuxe
#5 of 137 in Portland
4.5 of 5 stars 2,300 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
The Mark Spencer
The Mark Spencer
#19 of 137 in Portland
4.5 of 5 stars 1,081 reviews
Downtown
Hotel Monaco Portland - A Kimpton Hotel
Downtown
Hotel Lucia
Hotel Lucia
#13 of 137 in Portland
4.5 of 5 stars 966 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard Portland City Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard Portland City Center

Property: Courtyard Portland City Center
Address: 550 SW Oak St, Portland, OR 97204-1700
Location: United States > Oregon > Portland > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Portland
#18 Business Hotel in Portland
#20 Family Hotel in Portland
#28 Romantic Hotel in Portland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Courtyard Portland City Center 3.5*
Number of rooms: 256
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whether you're traveling for business or pleasure, the Courtyard by Marriott® City Center hotel near downtown Portland, Oregon's Pearl District provides you with everything you'll need. From spacious guest rooms to our business center and on-site restaurant with classic American cuisine, this Pearl District, Portland hotel's amenities and services offer the perfect "Rose City" experience in the downtown Portland. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Odigeo, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Courtyard Portland City Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Portland City Hotel Portland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing