We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant hotel in downtown area.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Courtyard Portland City Center
Ranked #24 of 144 Hotels in Portland
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed October 27, 2012

This a clean, easy to find, modern Courtyard hotel. I have no major qualms or special praise for this location; the staff seems to be functional and not over the top nice. It is closest to the Green and Yellow MAX Oak Street stations, and the Blue Oak Street Station is really close walking distance. It does seem to be in a downtown area that becomes mostly deserted at nighttime, not super popular as the official website seems to indicate.

My biggest complaint is that the windows DO NOT open and there is the type of HVAC unit that is either powered off or is set at a single temperature so the thing is always working trying to get you heated up or cooled down. It is really efficient as a dehumidifier, too; in less than seven hours the room was uncomfortably bone dry.

Free in-room wifi, but no free breakfast. I did not park, so I cannot remark on the value of that here. On a good day, hotel is about 40 mins by train from the airport; it took us about 60 mins, having arrived to PDX on a Friday night about 9.15 PM.

Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank cx20009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CourtyardPDXGM, General Manager at Courtyard Portland City Center, responded to this reviewResponded November 5, 2012

Thank you for your review, I am glad that you like our clean and modern hotel. We will take all your comments to heart as we strive to improve our guest exeperience. We hope to see you again the next time you are in Portland.

Best,

Eric Paul | GENERAL MANAGER
Courtyard by Marriott Portland City Center- A Boutique Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,058)
There are newer reviews for Courtyard Portland City Center
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

647 - 653 of 1,058 reviews

Reviewed October 24, 2012

Clean, comfortable, affordable. Great no-frills hotel in the middle of downtown. We were actually surprised by comfort of the bed and the room appointments, but the Courtyard was a great one night getaway for us. The staff was helpful and very friendly and the location could not have been better.

Room Tip: Higher floors have nice views
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jeckertny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CourtyardPDXGM, General Manager at Courtyard Portland City Center, responded to this reviewResponded October 25, 2012

Awesome, another 5 Star rating, THANK YOU! I am pleased that you enjoyed our hotel, from the clean comfortable rooms, to our friendly staff. Hope to see you next time!

Best,


Eric Paul | GENERAL MANAGER
Courtyard by Marriott Portland City Center- A Boutique Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 23, 2012

Everything that is important....great location which is centrally located to everything in downtown Portland, 3 blocks from the MAX light rail, very quiet, clean with nice linens, comfortable bed, and the option to experience a "Pure" room with excellent air filtration, friendly staff. Never ate at restaurant on property but close to delicious establishments. Had a nice fitness room as well. Never used the pool.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cftalk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CourtyardPDXGM, General Manager at Courtyard Portland City Center, responded to this reviewResponded October 25, 2012

We love the 5 Star rating, THANK YOU! We are happy that you had a nice stay with and that the location was perfect for you! Hope to see you again in the near future!

Best,


Eric Paul | GENERAL MANAGER
Courtyard by Marriott Portland City Center- A Boutique Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 23, 2012

Clean and conveniently located property. Walk to everything! Lots of restaurants nearby. Amazing staff--they know about customer service. Friendly, knowledgeable. It will be my hotel of choice from now on for my trips to Portland. Bedding comfortable. Bathroom large and clean. Great views from the upper floors.

Room Tip: high floors have great view
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank skeffie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CourtyardPDXGM, General Manager at Courtyard Portland City Center, responded to this reviewResponded October 25, 2012

Thank you for the 5 Star review. We are happy that our hotel is your choice next time you travel to Portland. I am pleased that you had a great escape with us. See you soon!

Best,


Eric Paul | GENERAL MANAGER
Courtyard by Marriott Portland City Center- A Boutique Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 20, 2012

We make about 4 trips to Portland every year and this is our hotel. The people are friendly and helpful. The lobby is hip. The restaurant that is attached to the hotel wonderful. The beds are comfortable and the rooms are nicely decorated and clean. We always ask for a high floor and have not been disturbed by the traffic on the weekends. It is close to numerous wonderful restaurants and not far from the Pearl district.

Room Tip: Ask for a high floor.
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank crfty1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CourtyardPDXGM, General Manager at Courtyard Portland City Center, responded to this reviewResponded October 25, 2012

We love 5 Star reviews....THANK YOU! I am pleased that we made our hotel the perfect place to stay! See you again soon, We hope!!


Best,


Eric Paul | GENERAL MANAGER
Courtyard by Marriott Portland City Center- A Boutique Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 19, 2012

We enjoy this hotel and stay often. Although we do not prefer the hotel lounge and restaurant, it is well situated for an easy walk to many fine establishments.

The rooms are very nice and comfortable. It seems that from any direction you have terrific views.

The parking cost is high - $30.00, but the only downside. You will enjoy this hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for a higher floor facing Mt. Hood. There are great views from any direction, but thios is grea...
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MJBaer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CourtyardPDXGM, General Manager at Courtyard Portland City Center, responded to this reviewResponded October 25, 2012

Thank you for the nice review. We are all happy that our hotel is you favorite in Portland. I hope that means that we will see you again.

Best,


Eric Paul | GENERAL MANAGER
Courtyard by Marriott Portland City Center- A Boutique Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 16, 2012

I was there to run the Portland marathon and was highly impressed with this Courtyard. The hotel was sold-out and I never felt like there was a stampede of people at any time.

Getting to the hotel was easy as I took MAX light rail, you can either take the red line and walk west three blocks or take the red line and change at the Rose center to the green line which drops on you on the corner of the hotel. It is $2.50 one way, the rail is clean and safe.

The front lobby had a hip feel with some great music plyaing. My checkin was very fast, helpful with information and professional. I was on the 12th floor with a great view. The room was the standard Courtyard room, spacious, clean nicely decorated and comfortable. There was a minifrig in the room which came in handy. The water pressure was great and there was an extra set of towels in the bathroom.

I did not use the gym as I was there for the marathon. I did use the diner attached to the hotel, the breakfast was excellent. The rest of the menu for lunch and dinner looked impressive. The hotel location is ideal. It is minutes walk from the Pearl district, the waterfront, old town and the rest of downtown area. You are only a 15 minute light rail ride to the Lloyd district. The rest of Portland is extemely accesible by mass transit. I would only recommend a car for a tight schedule, if you are mass transit phobic or you need to get way outside of the city.

The Valet and bell men were always on the spot with assitance and helpful information.

Portland is a great city to spend a quick trip. My one negative of the city is the city farther's need to do something to control the excessive amount of homeless on almost every corner, which is no relfection on the Courtyard.

I would recommend this hotel as rates are great typically

Room Tip: Ask for a room on a higher floor
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Escapefromthedesert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CourtyardPDXGM, General Manager at Courtyard Portland City Center, responded to this reviewResponded October 25, 2012

Thank you on the 5 Star rating... we appreciate it! Congratulations on running the marathon. That is a big accomplishment. I was pleased to read your review and find that you had a great stay with us and how much you enjoy Portland. We hope to see you again soon!

Best,

Eric Paul | GENERAL MANAGER
Courtyard by Marriott Portland City Center- A Boutique Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Portland hotels
Downtown
Benson Hotel
Benson Hotel
#18 of 144 in Portland
2,184 reviews
Downtown
Mark Spencer Hotel
Mark Spencer Hotel
#9 of 144 in Portland
1,539 reviews
Downtown
Hotel Lucia
Hotel Lucia
#14 of 144 in Portland
1,421 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Embassy Suites by Hilton Portland - Downtown
Downtown
Paramount Hotel
Paramount Hotel
#7 of 144 in Portland
1,231 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard Portland City Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard Portland City Center

Address: 550 SW Oak St, Portland, OR 97204-1700
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Oregon > Portland > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Portland
#18 Business Hotel in Portland
#20 Family Hotel in Portland
#28 Romantic Hotel in Portland
Price Range: $145 - $299 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Courtyard Portland City Center 3.5*
Number of rooms: 256
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whether you're traveling for business or pleasure, the Courtyard by Marriott® City Center hotel near downtown Portland, Oregon's Pearl District provides you with everything you'll need. From spacious guest rooms to our business center and on-site restaurant with classic American cuisine, this Pearl District, Portland hotel's amenities and services offer the perfect "Rose City" experience in the downtown Portland. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Marriott, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and getaroom.com so you can book your Courtyard Portland City Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Portland City Hotel Portland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing