We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Such a surprise! Should be a 4 star not 3 star as listed on travel sites.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Courtyard Portland City Center
Ranked #22 of 140 Hotels in Portland
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Philadelphia
Level Contributor
58 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Such a surprise! Should be a 4 star not 3 star as listed on travel sites.”
Reviewed August 18, 2012

We traveled to stay at the Courtyard for a wedding outside of Portland. The hotel was providing a discounted rate for wedding guests so we reluctantly booked our reservation. I always had an impression that Courtyards had more of a motel feel for budget business travelers looking for a cheap place to sleep. Needless to say, I was not looking forward to staying at the hotel. What a pleasant surprise I received when we arrived. I had no idea that Marriott had revamped all their courtyards to a higher standard with modern decor, free wifi, and a fantastic new lobby.

The room was beautiful with a huge bathroom with dual sinks and a large stand up shower. I really appreciated the fresh lemonade and ice tea offered to the guests in the lobby. The attached restaurant was also very convenient for late night food/drinks and breakfast in the morning. One negative was that there was no pool...but I would rather have a nicer room than a pool for city visits.

I will definitely reconsider staying at any courtyards based on our experience and recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Rates on the direct website are really high. Check out Expedia for lower prices.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GolfGirl427
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CourtyardPDXGM, General Manager at Courtyard Portland City Center, responded to this review, September 3, 2012
Thank you for the nice review. We agree, we should be a 4 Star verse a 3 Star. Courtyard as a brand is always listed as a 3 star. We are not like the normal Courtyard as you describe, we are a boutique hotel with a Courtyard name. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay and that you were pleasantly surprised. We hope to see you again the next time you are in Portland!

Best,


Eric Paul | GENERAL MANAGER
Courtyard by Marriott Portland City Center- A Boutique Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,028 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    493
    425
    89
    13
    8
See reviews for
147
392
106
261
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (215)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Waterloo, Canada
Level Contributor
641 reviews
106 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 240 helpful votes
Reviewed August 12, 2012

We enjoyed our stay. Location was good for walking around. Upgraded to suite, but room 405 had view of alley and very little natural light. Room was very clean and comfortable. Staff was helpful and friendly.

Original restaurant was good for breakfast (not included in room rate). Fitness center was very good, but no pool. $30/night for valet parking.

If you can score a deal (on Hotwire or other) I would recommend this hotel. If you're paying close to "full price", our friends stayed at Hotel Modera on the same nights and quality vs value, it seemed like a better choice.

I am trying to be objective. I did not have any issues, especially for the rate we paid.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Waterloonie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CourtyardPDXGM, General Manager at Courtyard Portland City Center, responded to this review, September 3, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We appreciate it! We are pleased that you enjoyed the comfy room, the stay and the location.

Best,


Eric Paul | GENERAL MANAGER
Courtyard by Marriott Portland City Center- A Boutique Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naramata, Canada
Level Contributor
24 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed August 12, 2012

We stayed here in March and again found the staff to be very friendly and helpful. The room was spacious as was the bathroom. It was very quiet. The location is excellent for exploring the downtown areas. The price we got was good value. We would stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KBterrier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CourtyardPDXGM, General Manager at Courtyard Portland City Center, responded to this review, September 3, 2012
Thank you for your review. I am happy that you enjoyed the hotel, the staff and our location. We hope to see you again in the near future!

Best,


Eric Paul | GENERAL MANAGER
Courtyard by Marriott Portland City Center- A Boutique Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
135 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed August 10, 2012

The Courtyard by Marriott is a great hotel with some nice amenities. The internet connection was quick and free, the gym is one of the best hotel gyms I've used, and I love having a refrigerator in my room.

The location is perfect, and you can easily take the train from the airport to the hotel for $2.40. I highly recommend it. Once downtown, you are able to take the train for free in the downtown area (free zone.) Unless you're planning on venturing out very far, I don't think a car is necessary.

The beds are comfortable, and the rooms are quiet. I can't ask for more in a hotel. While there is no lotion or shower caps in the room, the front desk will provide upon request.

Speaking of the front desk, I've not seen more friendly people than here. I asked about local vineyards, and the front desk person said she didn't know of any, but would find out. She ran outside with a print out of restaurants near vineyards in less than 5 minutes. This team is dedicated to making every guest happy.

The restaurant attached to the hotel, the Original, is very good as well. I often ordered a slice of pie to go and they packed up everything I needed to enjoy dessert in my room. It was very good.

I enjoyed my stay, and highly recommend the hotel to others.

Room Tip: I would stay away from the 3rd floor since that is where the gym and laundry room is located. There...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cyanhead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CourtyardPDXGM, General Manager at Courtyard Portland City Center, responded to this review, September 3, 2012
Thank you for the 5 Star review and the high recommend! I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay here and Porltand! We hope to see you again the next time you are in Portland!

Best,


Eric Paul | GENERAL MANAGER
Courtyard by Marriott Portland City Center- A Boutique Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 8, 2012

This hotel is in the middle of downtown Portland at 6th and Oak near the MAX Green tram, which can take you anywhere in the downtown area for free. As with most of the hotels downtown, it was perfect for a business conference. Some of the hotels in the area do not offer breakfast and this was not an exception. The lack of amenities for the price paid is not worth it. There are may other hotels which offer more service, a better room, etc., all for a better price. I was offered another nights stay for $259 and chose to leave for a better hotel down the street that was $50 cheaper (Hotel Modera).

Room Tip: The higher up the quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vernon S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CourtyardPDXGM, General Manager at Courtyard Portland City Center, responded to this review, September 3, 2012
Thank you for your review. We appreciate your feedback. It helps us work on making every effort to improve. We do our best to stay competitive with our rates and many times lower than most. Please check us out again in the future, I think you will find our rates better than most!

Best,


Eric Paul | GENERAL MANAGER
Courtyard by Marriott Portland City Center- A Boutique Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
384 reviews
270 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 391 helpful votes
Reviewed August 5, 2012

We stayed for five nights during a long trip in the Pacific North West. The hotel is very comfortable: the beds were excellent, the room was quiet (apart from the fridge), the staff were courteous. The Internet connection is free and fast. The hotel is very well placed just north of Pioneer Square and 5 minutes walking to the Saturday market (Wonderful!!!) though at the weekend a lot of local cafes were shut. Parking is very pricey but there is a cheap carpark across the way for 15 dollars for 24 hours and 4 dollars at weekends. But there are 'no in-out privileges'. Downsides: possibly the price, (we had points from our UK nectar card that reduced the cost), there is no pool or sauna, the sink water flow was really meagre, the windows don't open and were very small, the cleaners didn't replace soap or shampoo/conditioner and the TV selection was limited. (Why don't US hotels get BBC World, Russian TV English, or Al Jazeera English?- mind you they did in Vermont). But despite this the hotel provided a base for a great stay in this brilliant city

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NLR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CourtyardPDXGM, General Manager at Courtyard Portland City Center, responded to this review, August 6, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to post a nice review. I am pleased that the hotel, your room and the staff met your expectations. We continue to review all of our comments so that we can make improvements to better the experience for all our guests . Thank you!

Best,

Eric Paul | GENERAL MANAGER
Courtyard by Marriott Portland City Center- A Boutique Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lakeland, Florida
Level Contributor
26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 1, 2012

Young couple - just stayed here on our annual summer vacation. Got a reasonable price w/ AAA discount.
The hotel room was very nice, comfy bed, 2 choices in firm/soft pillows, couch, nice TV, desk, coffeemaker, and minifridge. Bathroom was nice, spacious. You have to use your keycard to get up the elevator so that is a nice security feature.
We picked the location to be close to the river for the Oregon Brewer's Festival - which worked out great for that day. But otherwise I don't think Downtown was the place for us. For some and for business though it's probably perfect. And we were able to walk to the Pearl District, VooDoo doughnut, and Mother's Cafe. Think I would rather stay in one of the eclectic neighborhoods with more shopping and fun restaurants. There were a lot of homeless people downtown at all hours of the day.
We paid $32 a day for parking. But the valet was nice - you could text them and your car would be ready in 10 minutes.
Didn't try the restaurant, but it was often busy, especially for breakfast.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DellaC_FL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CourtyardPDXGM, General Manager at Courtyard Portland City Center, responded to this review, August 6, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. I am happy that you thought our hotel was very nice. Although many people love our location, it is understandable that some prefer to stay in the heart of it all and others in small quaint neighborhoods. We appreciate that you chose us for your annual vacation.

Best,

Eric Paul | GENERAL MANAGER
Courtyard by Marriott Portland City Center- A Boutique Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Portland hotels
Downtown
Portland Marriott City Center
Downtown
Mark Spencer Hotel
Mark Spencer Hotel
#8 of 140 in Portland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,336 reviews
Downtown
Benson Hotel
Benson Hotel
#18 of 140 in Portland
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,027 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Westin Portland
Westin Portland
#19 of 140 in Portland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 892 reviews
Downtown
Hotel Lucia
Hotel Lucia
#14 of 140 in Portland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,350 reviews
Downtown
Embassy Suites by Hilton Portland - Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard Portland City Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard Portland City Center

Property: Courtyard Portland City Center
Address: 550 SW Oak St, Portland, OR 97204-1700
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Oregon > Portland > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Portland
#18 Business Hotel in Portland
#20 Family Hotel in Portland
#28 Romantic Hotel in Portland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Courtyard Portland City Center 3.5*
Number of rooms: 256
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whether you're traveling for business or pleasure, the Courtyard by Marriott® City Center hotel near downtown Portland, Oregon's Pearl District provides you with everything you'll need. From spacious guest rooms to our business center and on-site restaurant with classic American cuisine, this Pearl District, Portland hotel's amenities and services offer the perfect "Rose City" experience in the downtown Portland. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Marriott, Hotwire, Priceline, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and HRS so you can book your Courtyard Portland City Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Portland City Hotel Portland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing