We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Place to Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Courtyard Portland City Center
Ranked #22 of 140 Hotels in Portland
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Dallas TX
2 reviews
“Excellent Place to Stay”
Reviewed November 11, 2011

As a business traveler the Portland City Center Courtyard has all the necessities. It is in the middle of a great downtown area. You can walk to numerous restaurants and shops. The property is always clean and comfortable and the staff is outstanding.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nhull001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,028 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    493
    425
    89
    13
    8
See reviews for
147
392
106
261
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (215)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Busby. Scotland
Level Contributor
70 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed November 6, 2011

Well done.. My wife and I were on holiday from Scotland to Portland and stayed a week at the Marriott Courtyard City Centre.
From the minute we arrived at the front door we were greeted with civil, friendly and courteous staff. Mind you if you're getting dropped off you have to move quickly or the valet guys move you along.
Easy check-in with friendly receptionists and all the hotel facilities explained well.
Our room was on the 14th floor, spotlessly clean, comfortable bed and well furnished and maintained.
The problem we did have with a noisy fridge was sorted within 20 minutes with a friendly engineer standing at our door with a new fridge in her hands.

Breakfast and other meals that we had in the hotel restaurant, The Original, were ok - just ok. The menu was a bit staid, the quality similar and somehow we never actually got the items we ordered at breakfast with on one occassion our hot dish being returned twice as not being served hot. First time I've been in an hotel that doesn't server croissants at breakfast time. Better off heading out of the hotel, going round the block and you'll find plenty of alternative eating places.
The Original also has a bar area with a good selection of local beers and wine at not unreasonable prices. Staff however can be a bit off-hand with one waitress one evening deciding to have her break by having a drink whilst stretched across a bench seat and her feet on the table. Wonder what her manager would have said if it had been a member of the public !

Other than the restaurant/bar which let the hotel standard down considerably, the hotel service itself was excellent with an easy walk a few blocks in to the city centre shopping area and Pioneer Square and Max stations around the corner.
Would certainly return and can recommend the hotel - not so The Original restaurant

Room Tip: Go for a high level room as the public transportation system can be noisy
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Busby_traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naperville, IL
Level Contributor
169 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2011

We have been staying at this hotel since Wednesday....it is now Saturday and I haven't had my room cleaned once even after reminding the front desk twice to do so. Upon arrival the room was clean; however, there was no lotion in the bathroom and only one regular coffee by the coffeemaker. I had to call for lotion, coffee and clean towels. I have been out of kleenex for 2 days as well. Nothing gets replenished. Another negative is there are no room safes.

The positives are location, the valet we have been dealing with (Mike) has provided oustanding service and the restaurant associated with the hotel serves good breakfasts.

The night supervisor did say he would comp breakfast for our inconvenience....the least that this hotel can do since it's 10pm and we're sitting in the lobby waiting for a change of linens and towels and the room to be restocked. In my estimation, they should do more for 2 days of inconvenience. Maybe 2 days of breakfasts comp'd instead of 1 day.

We are members of Marriott and have never received such terrible service and next time I travel with my husband to Portland, you can bet I will NOT give this hotel a second chance.

  • Stayed November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Mari9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
121 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed October 28, 2011

This hotel is pretty much in the center of Portland, Oregon. Transportation on the MAX light rail is within the "Free Zone". No charge to ride the MAX anywhere in the downtown area and there are stops to and from the AMTRAK terminnal just across the street. The airport transit on MAX is outside the free zone and costs $1.00 for seniors which are called "Honored Citizens" in Portland. That city is very civilized! A MAX train change is required to the airport but is acheived simply by walking across the tracks at one of several stops on the way. The hotel has a very friendly and helpful staff and a good dining room with excellent meals. A corner room with more space is well worth the extra charge.

Room Tip: Corner rooms are larger and cost a little more but worth it for a longer stay or just more room to m...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pixer1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CourtyardPDXGM, General Manager at Courtyard Portland City Center, responded to this review, November 3, 2011
Thank you for the 5 Star rating. We love it. I am pleased to know that you enjoyed our hotel, the location, the restuarant and that the staff was friendly and helpful. We hope to see you again on your next travels to Portland.

Sincerely,

Eric Paul | GENERAL MANAGER
Courtyard by Marriott Portland City Center- A Boutique Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado
Level Contributor
25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed October 27, 2011

I travel to Portland frequently and this was my first opportunity to stay at the Courtyard City Center. The experience was outstanding and I would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone visiting the city.

Check-in: Great, nice lobby, clean and inviting.

Room: Simply outstanding. Very much in the boutique style of hotels and a quality that exceeds the "run of the mill" Courtyard. Very clean, well designed and spacious.

Room Service: Great selection and prompt service. The food was very good.

Overall just plain excellent!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rivered
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CourtyardPDXGM, General Manager at Courtyard Portland City Center, responded to this review, November 3, 2011
We loved your 5 Star review and that you think our hotel is excellent. THANK YOU! We hope to see you again soon.

Sincerely,

Eric Paul | GENERAL MANAGER
Courtyard by Marriott Portland City Center- A Boutique Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
90 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed October 25, 2011

Frequent traveler. Visiting Portland with family. I really liked this hotel. Very nice rooms. Quiet. Located near all the sights in the city. Service was very good. We booked two rooms and had to check back a couple of times to get the second room, but they were very polite. Only negative, as others have mentioned, was $29 + tips for valet. I found a lot around the corner for $8 total for two days. Otherwise we were quite pleased with the stay. Inexpensive for a city hotel.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FLfromMN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CourtyardPDXGM, General Manager at Courtyard Portland City Center, responded to this review, November 3, 2011
Thank you for your review. We are pleased that you enjoyed the service and found the hotel to be excellent. See you next time your are in Portland.

Sincerely,

Eric Paul | GENERAL MANAGER
Courtyard by Marriott Portland City Center- A Boutique Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
93 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed October 19, 2011

I really enjoyed my stay here. Staff was super friendly, room was very nice and valet parking super efficient - although a bit pricey at $29 per day (web site says $26). Check in was very efficient - almost too much so... I felt pressured to get everything out of the car and ready to go- must have been a slow day for the staff. Staff was super helpful and friendly and not stodgy at all.

Very close to the MAX line and walking distance to many things downtown. The one complaint about location being that most everything is closed at 9 or 10 pm in this part of town on the week days and forget about trying to find a market or a place to grab a drink any later than 10 pm unless you want to go to a really loud bar.

For me the price was a bit high for my personal preference because I love the location but don't really need all of the "amenities" you get for the extra money - but it was clean and I felt good about my security there so that is worth some piece of mind.

I will stay here again and recommend it to others.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gabbyct
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Portland hotels
Downtown
Portland Marriott City Center
Downtown
Mark Spencer Hotel
Mark Spencer Hotel
#8 of 140 in Portland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,336 reviews
Downtown
Benson Hotel
Benson Hotel
#18 of 140 in Portland
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,030 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Westin Portland
Westin Portland
#19 of 140 in Portland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 892 reviews
Downtown
Hotel Lucia
Hotel Lucia
#13 of 140 in Portland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,353 reviews
Downtown
Embassy Suites by Hilton Portland - Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard Portland City Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard Portland City Center

Property: Courtyard Portland City Center
Address: 550 SW Oak St, Portland, OR 97204-1700
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Oregon > Portland > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Portland
#18 Business Hotel in Portland
#20 Family Hotel in Portland
#28 Romantic Hotel in Portland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Courtyard Portland City Center 3.5*
Number of rooms: 256
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whether you're traveling for business or pleasure, the Courtyard by Marriott® City Center hotel near downtown Portland, Oregon's Pearl District provides you with everything you'll need. From spacious guest rooms to our business center and on-site restaurant with classic American cuisine, this Pearl District, Portland hotel's amenities and services offer the perfect "Rose City" experience in the downtown Portland. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Marriott, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HRS so you can book your Courtyard Portland City Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Portland City Hotel Portland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing