We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great museum”

Oregon Museum of Science and Industry
Book In Advance
More Info
$34.00*
and up
Portland Hop-On Hop-Off Tour
Ranked #12 of 442 things to do in Portland
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: The Oregon Museum of Science and Industry (OMSI) is a nationally-renowned science center providing science learning to a range of audiences. Our programming is guided by OMSI’s long-term vision to promote a healthy, innovative, and sustainable society where everyone is prepared to participate in civic life. OMSI’s science, technology, engineering, and mathematics (STEM) programming helps visitors and program participants master 21st century skills such as critical thinking, problem solving and collaboration. We achieve this vision through exhibits, classes, camps, traveling educators, and adult programs around the state, making OMSI a trusted educational resource to all Oregonians.
Oregon Coast, Oregon
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Great museum”
Reviewed March 9, 2014 via mobile

My husband and I came to this museum for a day trip and we were delighted at the friendly greeting we got when we arrived. The staff is most delightful and the museum was well done. Next trip I will be sure to bring the grand kids.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Milly S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,281 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    719
    381
    136
    34
    11
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“See what the featured exhibit is”
Reviewed March 4, 2014

This is a popular science museum for families. The admission price is not cheap, so see what the featured exhibit is. If it something very special, often the admission price will be even more. If you have children that have an interest in science, this might be something they would enjoy. Sometimes the featured exhibits are very interesting, so determine if your interest level matches your budget.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank imwahday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
143 reviews
49 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“marvelous hands on fun !!!”
Reviewed February 26, 2014

What a terrific science museum !! I spent 4+ hours here with 2 small boys, and we did not see even half of this child centered , fascinating museum. The kids were 100% engaged the entire time. The exhibits were designed to draw them in, get them touching,moving, pushing,cranking , ...and THINKING about what was happening. There were many people on site to facilitate and explain once the kids interest was peaked, and they helped expand the experience. We did the submarine tour, and loved it. The boys sat at the tables, and laid down in the miniscule bunks, and even got to look through the periscope and see the bridge up above! very exciting, and different. We finished our tour with a visit to the surprisingly pleasant cafeteria, where we were all able to find yummy, freshly prepared food at a reasonable price. I highly recommend this museum!

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank SeeSmellTasteTouch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beaverton, Oregon
Level Contributor
109 reviews
24 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“OMSI...a perfect museum!”
Reviewed February 21, 2014

This place is awesome! There is something to do interactively for ALL ages....believe me...ALL ages! It is a very fun filled place with hours and hours worth of stuff to see and do. I do not have kids but got to interact with many and it seemed as thou it was a hit for them too. The planetarium to the theater to all the other hands on sights with in the building make it a perfect day.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank E C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Level Contributor
89 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Great for families with young kids”
Reviewed February 19, 2014

The best part of the museum is the submarine tour, but if you have young kids there are tons of hands on exhibits to keep them occupied. Interesting facts for all ages.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank hernse1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Oregon Museum of Science and Industry also viewed

 

Been to Oregon Museum of Science and Industry? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing