We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic!”

Powell's City of Books
Book In Advance
More Info
$65.00*
and up
Private and Personal Tour of Portland
Ranked #1 of 128 Shopping in Portland
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The world's largest book store.
Kelowna, Canada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Fantastic!”
Reviewed September 10, 2013

What an amazing book store. You could spend hours here. New mixed in with the used. Very easy to follow colour coded sections. Loved it.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Donna C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,334 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2,856
    411
    58
    7
    2
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Indianapolis, Indiana
2 reviews
“Powell's City of Books”
Reviewed September 9, 2013

It was so fun and organized. I was so interested in everything there that I missed my plane and had to stay another day :)

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank lnvoelk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Vancouver, BC
Level Contributor
460 reviews
95 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
“Book Galore”
Reviewed September 8, 2013

A full square block of books, what more is there to say. We've been several times to Portland and we always make time for Powell's. New or used a great place to get lost for a few hours. Don't be rushed, take your time and challenge yourself to a new and different read, new or used they should have what you tickles your reading fancy!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank paulowlcourt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmington, Vermont
Level Contributor
61 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“A book store on steroids”
Reviewed September 5, 2013

This is perported to be the largest book store in the country and maybe in the world. It goes on forever with both new and used books. It is one of the wonders of the world and must be seen to be believed. Don't miss it if you are in Portland.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Charles S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Appleton, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
50 reviews
28 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Books Everywhere!”
Reviewed September 5, 2013

Love to read? This is the place for you. Used and new books, a veritible city of books. Loved the children's section and everyone in our group purchased something. A must see!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank TinaJensen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Powell's City of Books also viewed

 

Been to Powell's City of Books? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing