We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Must for Book Lovers”

Powell's City of Books
Book In Advance
More Info
$65.00*
and up
Private and Personal Tour of Portland
Ranked #1 of 128 Shopping in Portland
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The world's largest book store.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
429 reviews
209 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
“A Must for Book Lovers”
Reviewed November 22, 2012

Amazing experience for a book store. There are more books there than you could possibly explore in many many hours. There are a variety of rooms split into genres. We explored a couple of our favourite sections and bought a couple books. The books are quite reasonable and the used books are in excellent shape. They also have a nice coffee shop area, it is very popular though so you may have trouble finding a seat. If you are going with someone there and exploring separately make sure that you have a plan or your phones because it is easy to get lost in there. A must do for the Portland experience.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Robert K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,345 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2,864
    413
    59
    7
    2
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Laurel, Maryland
Level Contributor
79 reviews
27 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Loved it!”
Reviewed November 15, 2012

Any trip to Portland must include a visit to powell's. It is a huge place so make sure to plan on spending a few hours exploring. They have an amazing selection of both new and used books which was great! My husband and I loved it!

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank missyh113
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ventura, California
Level Contributor
26 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Book Lovers Rejoice!”
Reviewed November 15, 2012

Powell's Books, SO great. Encompasses several buildings in the same area. Funky, great selection, new and used. Coffee and snacks available for purchase because you just stay way longer than you think you will.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank inga518
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, NY
Level Contributor
448 reviews
204 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 298 helpful votes
“I have died and gone to heaven”
Reviewed November 14, 2012

Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! For someone who reads so much, my words escape me. My husband dropped me off here after lunch while he went on a hike with the kids. When I looked up, it was pitch dark and it was 10:30PM!!! The place is huge--takes up an entire city block, most subjects have an entire room devoted to them. Sure, they have the best-seller racks you see in all the other conventional book stores. But they also have end caps where the staff note their reviews and recommendations. But wait, there's more. There are little reviews and recommendations randomly spaced on the shelves themselves! There are used books filed proudly right alongside the new books.
The staff at Powell's LOVE books as much as I do. A local told me some of them work here for low wages so they can get the Powell's discount. One of the staff helped me find a book I was looking for based on my description that the book was about birds and the author's name sounded like "Coconut" by doing a reverse literature search on a documentary I had seen at the Eastman House in Rochester New York. We BOTH squealed with excitement when she was able to find out the name of the book ("Hope is a thing with feathers" by Christopher Cokinos) AND then I found it on the used shelf for $6!!! Next time I'm in Portland, will budget two days here. I'm not kidding. I don't think this is a place any serious reader can just "drop by".

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank sazoram
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City, Utah
Level Contributor
8 reviews
“Must see gem in Portland for hours of entertainment”
Reviewed November 12, 2012

We had to check it out just to see if it really was cool. And yes,
it was a very interesting place to visit on a rainy afternoon. Towers and floors of any and every book ever made that you could possibly want! It felt like the library on Harry Potter! It's great because many books will have little tidbits of info displayed underneath them. There is a coffee shop and a rare section with
secure doors. It was fun! You can spend hours there if you want.
What's awesome is you can take your old books and recycle them for other readers to enjoy. This place was very resourceful and green!

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank M F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Powell's City of Books also viewed

 

Been to Powell's City of Books? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing