We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Take a stroll through the aisles and aisles of books”

Powell's City of Books
Book In Advance
More Info
$65.00*
and up
Private and Personal Tour of Portland
Ranked #1 of 128 Shopping in Portland
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The world's largest book store.
East Lansing, Michigan
Level Contributor
39 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Take a stroll through the aisles and aisles of books”
Reviewed November 9, 2012

Floor after floor and aisle after aisle this is a fantastic place to look for books. We found ourselves returning several times to spend 30 or 40 minutes looking at the various sections of the store. If you like books, you will love Powell's. I believe Powell's ships for free if you purchase $50.00 or more so no worry about having to take them on the plane.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank MIgal1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,420 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2,927
    424
    60
    7
    2
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Book Heaven”
Reviewed November 8, 2012

If you love books, prepare to spend the day. This is sensory overload for readers. Then, just when you think you can take no more, there is another floor, and another.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Linda P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Longwood, Florida
Level Contributor
38 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Classic Book Browsing in Downtown Portland”
Reviewed November 5, 2012

Get lost in the multi floor maze that is the green, gray, purple, pearl, blue, red etc rooms of the reader's dream house in downtown Portland-- Powell's City of Books. Located near Portland State, this city block of catacombes and wooden bookshelves makes finding the right book half the pleasure. I immediately knew the book (Woodward's "Wired") I wanted since it's been eluding me in bookstores for years. Take my advice-- if you want something specific, ask the info booth at the entrance for advice. One fo the best bookstore adventures I've ever had. I only wish I could have stayed longer!

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank WVUrick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Del Mar, California
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Book Store Lovers Rejoice”
Reviewed November 5, 2012

In the declining market of great bookstores, Powell's is a destination not to be missed. You could browse all day. Staff is helpful and one of the best things about Powell's is they sell new and used copies of books, even best sellers. I sent books to my children as I did not want to carry them home and the cost to send directly from the store was about the same as mailing them myself.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank SHELLEY P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver
Level Contributor
25 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Got "lost" for hours and didn't want to leave!!”
Reviewed November 3, 2012

For book lovers, this is Mecca. An incredible selection of books, new and used. Several floors and half floors...coloured coded "rooms" and super friendly, knowledgeable staff! An excellent cafe is located in the building. Bring many sturdy bags because you will need them to carry your "loot"!

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Darkmisto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Powell's City of Books also viewed

 

Been to Powell's City of Books? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing