We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Travelodge Portland City Center
Ranked #105 of 139 Hotels in Portland
Fairfax, Virginia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Comfortable Stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 19, 2012

Great location and really nice stay. Everyone was very polite and accommodating.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Geralyn M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

341 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    25
    74
    108
    68
    66
See reviews for
87
76
50
81
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Anchorage, Alaska
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 7, 2012

Location was perfect for us. Rooms were just what was needed. I really only need a bed and a hot shower, come on this is a motel, what more do you want?

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jackindabox392
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albany, Oregon
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 9, 2011

My husband had a very early appointment at the VA and this motel was an option the VA gave us for lodging after checking out the website and having stayed at other travel lodges and had been happy, we decided on this one, very bad choice. The desk clerk was very odd and shifty. The room was dirty and dingy, beds were very uncomfortable and the noise from traffic was horrible. The lounge or bar is not recommended, I don't know how to say this without tripadvisor not publishing it but I think people should be warned, but it is considered a homosexual bar, so if you are not interested, avoid it!! The neighborhood surrounding the motel is not very good either.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank chrissy888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Portland hotels

Hillsboro, Oregon
Level Contributor
89 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 4, 2011

As the title states, the location is great. Rooms... a bit worn but clean. The price use to be a good deal but they've raised their prices to the point of not being worth it. I haven't tried it yet but "last minute room deals" offer "four star" rooms at "one star" prices. I'll let you know.

If you need to be close to OHSU the location might be worth it. The location will take the stress out of getting to the hospitals if you have family there.

Room Tip: Some rooms allow smoking. Some rooms are right over the bar. Specify your preferences when making yo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Good_As_Gone_4Now
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hasbrouck Heights
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 28, 2011

The only thing good about this place is that it was inexpensive. It's near the hospital where we had to go. The couch had stuffing coming out of it, the lamps were old and cracked. No phonebook or TV listings. It was clean. Charged for safe in room that we didn't ask for.
Paint peeling off the walls. We will avoid it next time.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 23, 2011

I stayed at the Travelodge with my sister while we were travelling down the coast and stopped in portland. We paid $200 for three nights, which was a bargain! It is really easy to get to by bus, and the staff are friendly and helpful!

The food downstairs at Suki's is great, and the staff are really welcoming and friendly as well. The room was clean, a little small, clean and totally nice! It had everything you need, as well as extra coffee in the lobby. They give you buy one get one half price vouchers for breakfast at Suki's which I tried and was the best freakin waffle ive ever eaten!

The location is good, but only for the price really. If you are visiting because you need to go downtown, its great!!! its about 3 or 4 blocks from downtown, not a scary or dodgy area (we walked around at night, it seemed much safer than downtown!!!) If you are looking to get to the NW or SW area, which is the cooler younger area, it might be better to stay in that area, but for downtown the Travelodge is ideal! There is a free tram that stops a few blocks from the Travelodge, but buses go both ways right outside the door!

The staff were nice, we stayed mid week but didnt hear anything from the 'loud' bar or loud street, unless you are a very light sleeper or a bit of a princess you will be absolutely fine, it was really hot and I hate air conditioning, we slept with the window open on to the street and it was totally ok.

I would say that if you are interested in being able to get around Portland and see the main sights by bus or walking on a budget, the Travelodge is ideal!

PS there are loads and loads of homeless people and people asking for money in portland, it can kind of creep you out. its ok if you just say no, they arent dangerous, but there are A LOT!!!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank princessjenny123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
california
Level Contributor
73 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 20, 2011

I picked a different hotel out when I was looking at them online and my son (who lives in Portland) told me the Travelodge was in a much safer area, so I changed my reservation. Boy, am I glad I did. You can safely walk in downtown Portland in 3-4 blocks and there is a bus stop across the street that will take you all over the city. The room was small, but it was very clean and it had everything I needed, including a safe and small refrigerator. There are many places I could have picked in Portland that would have been unsafe, and this was not one of them. Friendly staff too!

Room Tip: I stayed in the building across the parking lot from the lobby to avoid noise from the bar.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mikaelsen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Portland hotels
Downtown
University Place Hotel and Conference Center
Park Lane Suites & Inn
#49 of 139 in Portland
4.0 of 5 bubbles 694 reviews
Downtown
Residence Inn Portland Downtown/Riverplace
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Hyatt House Portland / Downtown
Days Inn Portland Central
#96 of 139 in Portland
3.0 of 5 bubbles 213 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Travelodge Portland City Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travelodge Portland City Center

Property: Travelodge Portland City Center
Address: 2401 SW 4th Ave, between Cruthers & Sheridan, Portland, OR 97201-4913
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Oregon > Portland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #105 of 139 Hotels in Portland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Travelodge Portland City Center 2*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Travelodge Portland City Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travelodge Portland City Center Hotel Portland
Portland Travel Lodge
Portland Travelodge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing