We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Nice hotel for a convention” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Red Lion Hotel on the River

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Red Lion Hotel on the River
Ranked #51 of 137 Hotels in Portland
GreenLeadersGold level
Level Contributor
139 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Nice hotel for a convention”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

just spent 8 nights at this hotel for a convention. I had requested a certain suite with attached room and they were very accommodating. The hotel is spread over a large area so you do need to be able to walk a lot. There are some handy shops and restaurants across the road.

Ate several meals in their dining room and the staff there were very pleasant and the food was good.

Green Features: Since I am someone who is very interested in ecology, I appreciated that they had separate waste baskets in each room so we could have any paper, plastic or bottles recycled.
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rosalee E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

900 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    304
    331
    147
    73
    45
See reviews for
232
212
49
253
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (288)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

A beautiful peaceful location on the river, north of downtown Portland, convenient to I-5. Ample parking and access to a paved river walk. Lobby espresso stand plus full service bar/restaurant. Traditional well-maintained facility with large guest rooms. My first choice for staying in the Portland area with family, friends, and pets for vacation and recreational travel.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Red Lion Hotels

Helpful?
Thank Elaine J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salem, VA
Level Contributor
152 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2014 via mobile

A large, old, elegant hotel that is masterfully maintained. Rooms are large and nicely appointed with large baths and comfortable beds. If you want a view, don't get a room on the first (lower) floor unless you are poolside. The restaurant is excellent. Three great dinner salad choices, we got the trout and the steak. The fried calamari has a unique, crispy and tasty flavor with a spicy dipping sauce. The house wines from Oregon are good except for the Pinot Noir. Breakfasts are ample and service fast and friendly. Throughout, our encounters with save were pleasant and professional.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank SnowAvoiderSalem_VA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rod R, Manager at Red Lion Hotel on the River, responded to this review, July 21, 2014
Thank you for your kind comments regarding our Hotel and restaurant, I am happy that you enjoyed your stay.

Rod Russell
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2014

Be wary of scary pool towels, lackadaisical housekeeping, and pricy food with very limited room service options. The view is stubbing if you can get river side but be ware- elevators are small and limited- not super friendly for mobility impaired folks. Very limited clothing storage also for extended trips unless you get a suite.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Red Lion Hotels

Helpful?
Thank Jeanine H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rod R, Manager at Red Lion Hotel on the River, responded to this review, July 21, 2014
Jeanine
Thank you for your comments regarding the pool towels and the concerns with housekeeping, I will follow up with our Housekeeping and Laundry manager to see if there are areas we need to address, Our elevators are 4' wide by 6' long and I am sorry that you found them to be limited in size we also have 3 drawer dressers along with full size closets in each room and for a long stay with more then 2 to 3 people in the room I can see how the dresser drawer space would be a little limited. Thank you again for the feedback and we hope to see you again in the near future.

Rod Russell
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2014

It's not their fault, I got the wrong river- I thought it might be closer to down town, and funkier - I did get a good deal, so I'm not complaining there. I was surprised how bad Portland traffic is (I guess it's all those bridges), but since this hotel is at the last exit in Portland- better plan your trips either away from rush hour, or your activities/meals during the traffic. The beds were comfortable, and the rooms had a lot of space.

Room Tip: Try to get a room off the first floor- the parking lot is right next to them
See more room tips
Green Features: Except for the recycle bin, really didn't notice anything.
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dave H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2014

Red Lion on the River has staff who excel in customer service. You will do well to spend your home away from home here and the best plus eve,r is the view of the river and mountains. Temperature is pleasant for your walks to unwind.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Red Lion Hotels

Helpful?
1 Thank Sheri C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Washington
Level Contributor
24 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2014

We stayed one night here to treat our family to a nice pool in the midst of some extremely hot weather. We joined their club and received a discount which made the Fireplace Suite very affordable. The room was excellent, and the pool even better!

Room service hours are a bit perplexing - only for a few hours in the evening and from 7-9am in the morning. However, we did call for coffee at 10:00 am, and they cheerfully delivered a delicious pot of coffee.

I would not however recommend the restaurant. We dined for dinner and then lunch the next day. On both occasions, the kitchen prepared did not prepare the food as it was ordered. In fact, when ordering from the pool, the container was visibly marked "cheeseburger, ketchup only", and yet the kitchen still decided to put a tablespoon of mayonaise on the bun. One hamburger prepared for dinner the previous evening was nearly raw despite our request for medium well.

On the first occasion, the server brought out the chef who apologized profusely and comped the burger. So we decided to give it a try the next day, and of course the results were no better. This time we complained to the server(s) that the kitchen seems to have a problem getting things right, and they just smiled and said "yeah, I know".....

Room Tip: Fireplace Suites are a great upgrade!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Robert B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rod R, Manager at Red Lion Hotel on the River, responded to this review, July 21, 2014
Robert
I am happy that you enjoyed your stay with us and the staff was able to take care of your coffee request in the off hours when room service was closed, I was disappointed to read your experience concerning the inaccurate food orders. We traditionally receive great comment concerning our food and service and I will follow up with our culinary staff to make sure we are getting it right the first time.

Rod Russell
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Portland
0.1 mi away
Oxford Suites Portland - Jantzen Beach
1.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN Inn At The Meadows
0.6 mi away
Residence Inn Portland North Harbour
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Vancouver-Portland
8.5 mi away
River's Edge Hotel & Spa
River's Edge Hotel & Spa
#33 of 137 in Portland
4.0 of 5 stars 949 reviews
5.6 mi away
Courtyard Portland Downtown/Convention Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Red Lion Hotel on the River? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Lion Hotel on the River

Property: Red Lion Hotel on the River
Address: 909 N Hayden Island Dr, Portland, OR 97217-8118 (Formerly Doubletree)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Oregon > Portland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Green Hotel in Portland
#34 Business Hotel in Portland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Red Lion Hotel on the River 3*
Number of rooms: 320
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A cozy hotel in Portland - Red Lion Hotel on the River - Jantzen Beach Breathtaking riverviews greet you upon arrival at Red Lion Hotel on the River - Jantzen Beach. Our Portland waterfront hotel provides comfortable accommodations in a rustic setting just outside downtown Portland. Our accommodations provide a calm oasis on the water away from the hustle and bustle of the city. Each premium guestroom and deluxe suite serves as the perfect home away from home during your stay at our Columbia River hotel. Business guests will appreciate 36,000 square feet of flexible function space on the water. If you're coming by plane, our complimentary airport shuttle will provide safe and comfortable roundtrip service. Greet the day with an incredible breakfast at our onsite restaurant, the Jantzen Beach Bar & Grill, before enjoying a leisurely walk along the waterfront or a quick game of tennis on our Red Lion Court. Enjoy premium accommodations and amenities at a great value at Red Lion Hotel on the River - Jantzen Beach. TOP FEATURES AT OUR DOWNTOWN PORTLAND HOTEL: ​Restaurant & Lounge Swimming pool & whirlpool JB's Night Club Complimentary airport shuttle Pets can stay for just $15 a night GET LOCAL AT NEARBY ATTRACTIONS With a prime location near Downtown Portland, guests at Red Lion Hotel on the River can enjoy both the liveness in the city and adventures in the Pacific Northwest nature nearby. Explore these attractions during your stay at our hotel in Portland. Delta Park Columbia River University of Portland Local craft breweries Theme parks ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Hotwire and Priceline so you can book your Red Lion Hotel on the River reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Lion Hotel Portland
Red Lion Portland
Portland Red Lion
Red Lion Jantzen Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing