We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Birthday get-a-way”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Red Lion Hotel on the River
Ranked #51 of 139 Hotels in Portland
GreenLeadersGold level
Shelton, Washington
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Birthday get-a-way”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 29, 2014

A beautiful location right on the waters edge of the Columbia River, a perfect setting! We were celebrating our December birthdays and stayed in a suite with a river view and fireplace which made our experience very special. We had an unexpected complimentary bottle of wine in our suite, The Red Lion knows how to do things right! The young man and lady at the front desk were both very friendly and efficient, making us feel welcome right from the start. We will return for sure....

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Red Lion Hotels

Helpful?
Thank Sargenlynn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rod R, Manager at Red Lion Hotel on the River, responded to this review, June 2, 2014
Sargenlynn
Thank you for your kind comments and I am pleased that you enjoyed the fireplace suite over looking the beautiful Columbia river. We have a great staff and I will pass along your comments to them along with thanking them for a job well done. Happy Birthday and we hope to see you again soon.

Rod Russell
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,024 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    345
    364
    176
    85
    54
See reviews for
264
249
58
289
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (305)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Selma
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2014

Just spent a couple days there recovering from a knee surgery i had at OHSU hospital. We got a room with a perfect view of the river and a balcony. It was beautifully decorated with a king size bed, microwave, frig, etc. Since I was not able to walk around a lot, it was wonderful to relax and watch the boats go by. Room service was prompt and courteous. Convenient to Hwy 5, so convenient to all of Portland. .
Great Room, Great View, Great Service, Great Location.

Room Tip: Room with a view of the river.
See more room tips
Green Features: Does a great job encouraging it's "Green" policies.
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Susanlvg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Regina, Canada
Level Contributor
30 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2014

spent a week with this establishment as home base in May. Very low key, and easy access. facility shows signs of it's age, but is reasonably kept with friendly staff. Internet room was convenient, but keyboards were filthy.

Room Tip: Mount Hood wing, facing away from the river is quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland
1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 27, 2014

The staff that checked me in were extremely rude and argumentative. I had to call the 1-800 customer service live for help and booked my room through the website. The staff continued to be rude. I finally raised my voice at the supervisor/manager checking me in to say, "I don't want to argue and I don't care what you have to say. Please just check me in so we can go to our room!!". Even after that she still continued to make snide passive aggressive remarks to me. The service she provided was so terrible that I plan to avoid red lion as much as possible and I negatively promoted your hotel on multiple social networks, which is unfortunate because everything else about the hotel was splendid.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Red Lion Hotels

Helpful?
Thank Amanda C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rod R, Manager at Red Lion Hotel on the River, responded to this review, May 29, 2014
Amanda
Thank you for taking the time to let us know of your negative experience and interaction with our front desk staff. You had arrived at the hotel without a reservation and requested a rate that you had viewed on a third party internet site unfortunately the rate you were requesting was not available. It is never our intention to cause inconvenience for our guests and I am happy that we were able to get you a rate that was acceptable to you and that you enjoyed your stay.

Rod Russell
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Solvang, California, Usa
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 25, 2014

That says it all. Price is great if you don't mind sleeping on little hard nuggets they call pillows and even though they have a bar/restaurant open until 11 p.m. At night they discontinue room service at 8 p.m. Well before the Sun even sets!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Red Lion Hotels

Helpful?
Thank PegSanDiego
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rod R, Manager at Red Lion Hotel on the River, responded to this review, May 27, 2014
I am sorry that you found the pillow small and uncomfortable and the room service hours was an inconvenience, Please notify us after you make your next reservation and let us know what type of pillow you prefer and we will make sure to have it available for you when you arrive, our goal is to supply a clean comfortable stay with a friendly atmosphere for our guest and we will do everything possible to make sure our guests are comfortable, We hope to see you again soon and happy travels.

Rod Russell
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honolulu
Level Contributor
114 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 15, 2014

Red Lion has a cwertain reputation and to me this place worked'we were finding ourselves needing to check out' of opur hotel bad planning on my part;;;
andf luckily they were between groups so were able to accomodate us
found the staff to be frienndly and accomodating

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mjmjmjmjmjmj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
44 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 13, 2014

The sons and I too wife / mom here for mothers day and found that we should have just gone grocery shopping the day before, and done the job ourselves. The set up wasn't too bad, being on the river and all, but the service and the food just caved in like a flood. In addition, we didn't spend the night here, so we can't speak to the rooms, and so fourth, but stay home on the holiday brunches, as this place jet does not add up to what one would pay… $40 per.
Furthermore, the Hotel decor is stuck somewhere between the 70's and 80's. Someone please call the property Brothers!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michaelbush6417
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rod R, Manager at Red Lion Hotel on the River, responded to this review, May 14, 2014
Thank you very much for providing feedback regarding your Mothers Day Brunch. I am sorry to hear that you did not enjoy the brunch. We take all of our guest’s comments seriously as they assist us in making operational adjustments to provide better service for our guest. The Mothers Day brunch is an extremely busy day for us and I am sorry that I did not get a chance to address your concerns while you were dining with us. We received a lot of positive comments regarding the brunch and I would hope that you will give us another chance in the future to meet your expectations.

We appreciate your feedback and your business
Rod Russell
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Portland
0.1 mi away
Oxford Suites Portland - Jantzen Beach
0.6 mi away
Courtyard Portland North Harbour
0.7 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Portland North Harbour
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Vancouver-Portland
0.6 mi away
Residence Inn Portland North Harbour
1.3 mi away
Best Western Inn At The Meadows
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Red Lion Hotel on the River? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Lion Hotel on the River

Property: Red Lion Hotel on the River
Address: 909 N Hayden Island Dr, Portland, OR 97217-8118 (Formerly Doubletree)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Oregon > Portland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Green Hotel in Portland
#34 Business Hotel in Portland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Red Lion Hotel on the River 3*
Number of rooms: 320
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A cozy hotel in Portland - Red Lion Hotel on the River - Jantzen Beach Breathtaking river views greet you upon arrival at Red Lion Hotel on the River - Jantzen Beach. Our Portland waterfront hotel provides comfortable accommodations in a rustic setting just outside downtown Portland. Our accommodations provide a calm oasis on the water away from the hustle and bustle of the city. Each premium guestroom and deluxe suite serve as the perfect home away from home during your stay at our Columbia River hotel. Business guests will appreciate 36,000 square feet of flexible function space on the water. If you're coming by plane, our complimentary airport shuttle will provide safe and comfortable roundtrip service. Greet the day with an incredible breakfast at our onsite restaurant, the Jantzen Beach Bar & Grill, before enjoying a leisurely walk along the waterfront or a quick game of tennis on our Red Lion Court. Enjoy premium accommodations and amenities at a great value at Red Lion Hotel on the River - Jantzen Beach. TOP FEATURES AT OUR DOWNTOWN PORTLAND HOTEL: Restaurant & Lounge Swimming pool & whirlpool JB's Night Club​ Pets can stay for just $15 a night GET LOCAL AT NEARBY ATTRACTIONS With a prime location near Downtown Portland, guests at Red Lion Hotel on the River can enjoy both the liveness in the city and adventures in the Pacific Northwest nature nearby. Explore these attractions during your stay at our hotel in Portland. Delta Park Columbia River University of Portland Local craft breweries Theme parks ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Red Lion Hotel on the River reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Lion Hotel Portland
Red Lion Portland
Portland Red Lion
Red Lion Jantzen Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing