We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“ABOVE & BEYOND”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Red Lion Hotel on the River
Ranked #57 of 144 Hotels in Portland
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed April 29, 2014

We were celebrating our 50th Anniversary with a little get away. Having stayed at the Red Lion some time ago, we decided Portland and the Red Lion would be a nice junket. The service was above & beyond. Yolanda provided recommendations, directions, even making reservations for us. The pillow top beds are extremely comfortable, cleanliness and amenities were unexpected.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Red Lion Hotels
Thank wmjjack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rod R, Manager at Red Lion Hotel on the River, responded to this reviewResponded May 14, 2014

Congratulation on your 50th wedding anniversary and I am pleased that you decided to spend it with us.I truly appreciate your kind comments recognizing Yolanda and our staff staff for their exceptional guest service. We have a great team and they strive to exceed each guest’s expectations. I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay. I have already passed on my thanks to them for a job well done.

Rod Russell
Director of Operations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,175)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

738 - 744 of 1,175 reviews

Reviewed April 28, 2014

We have never been to Portland in our lives and upon checking reviews on the internet, we stayed at the Red Lion Hotel on the River-Jantzen Beach and it was a very nice stay. It was a spacious, clean, modern room with a view from the balcony -not a direct view of the Columbia River but still we could see it and the beautiful manicured yard and tennis court. It had a microwave, frig and coffee maker in the room which we love (we drink a lot of water and like the frig for that and also coffee in our rooms). The hotel shuttled us back and forth to the downtown and that is such a good thing so to avoid the Portland traffic. It's just a beautiful establishment-close by a shopping mall and grocery store. The food at the restaurant was great-we went there for 3 meals and was never disappointed. We'd definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Red Lion Hotels
2  Thank Kris H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rod R, Manager at Red Lion Hotel on the River, responded to this reviewResponded May 14, 2014

Kris
I am happy that you enjoyed your first trip to the Portland area and that you were able to take advantage of the local shopping and our great Restaurant overlooking the Columbia River. We look forward to seeing you again in the future.

Rod Russell
Director of Operations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 28, 2014

When we arrived..after 5:00 PM the front desk gal told us that one of our 2 rooms wasn't ready. We were exhausted after a long day at a funeral service. I thought check in was at 3:00pm or 4:00 pm so we were unpleasantly surprised to be told our room wasn't ready. Plus ask for a room overlooking the pool not the tennis courts area.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Red Lion Hotels
1  Thank Dee B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 28, 2014

For a nice hotel I expected a bit more. Not a 50 minute wait to get towels. Torn up umbrellas around the pool and hot tub which are old and ready to be remolded. The headboards were filthy along with the left over food on the carper

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Red Lion Hotels
1  Thank Dianna F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rod R, Manager at Red Lion Hotel on the River, responded to this reviewResponded May 14, 2014

Dianna
I am sorry for the long wait on the towels you had requested and I would like to let you know that the umbrellas around the pool cabanas were in the process of being replaced during your stay along with a renovation of the entire pool area and depending on the weather we hope to have the pool area surface replaced along with new tile around the sauna, The umbrella project around the cabanas is already complete and I hope you will like the improvements on your next visit.

Rod Russell
Director of Operations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 28, 2014

When we arrived at this location my first thoughts were hmmmmm pretty old, hope it's clean. This may be an older property and I think maybe it is the color scheme on the outside that makes it look so outdated, because though it looks a bit tired, the staff were exceptional, as was the food. In it's day I bet it was the luxury Motel in Portland. The location is great, the site very relaxing, right on the river so the dining is wonderful. We would go back there in a heartbeat. Hope Red Lion allows them to update the outside appearance a bit. It deserves it

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Red Lion Hotels
Thank watchdog127
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 25, 2014

I was very satisfied with my 3 day stay at Red Lion. I was treated respectfully, housekeeping people over all were very friendly when i would see them in the halls. Wait people in the Restaurant were good, Service was excellent. I had some problems in the room with lights and AC but were quickly solved.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Red Lion Hotels
Thank SUZI D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 22, 2014

We love staying at Red Lions and this is one of the best. Every employee was friendly and helpful. It was great to wake up to the view of the river and mountain. We watched the hundreds of boats fishing for salmon and steelhead. And the Red Lion beds are always the best. This is a very fine hotel and very reasonably priced.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Red Lion Hotels
1  Thank cheryltapp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Portland hotels
0.1 mi away
Oxford Suites Portland - Jantzen Beach
1.3 mi away
Best Western Inn At The Meadows
5.7 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Portland
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.4 mi away
Radisson Hotel Portland Airport
7.1 mi away
Shilo Inn Suites Hotel - Portland Airport
0.6 mi away
Courtyard Portland North
Courtyard Portland North
#66 of 144 in Portland
46 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Red Lion Hotel on the River? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Lion Hotel on the River

Address: 909 N Hayden Island Dr, Portland, OR 97217-8118 (Formerly Doubletree)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Oregon > Portland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Green Hotel in Portland
#34 Business Hotel in Portland
Price Range: $119 - $219 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Red Lion Hotel on the River 3*
Number of rooms: 320
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A cozy hotel in Portland - Red Lion Hotel on the River - Jantzen Beach Breathtaking river views greet you upon arrival at Red Lion Hotel on the River - Jantzen Beach. Our Portland waterfront hotel provides comfortable accommodations in a rustic setting just outside downtown Portland. Our accommodations provide a calm oasis on the water away from the hustle and bustle of the city. Each premium guestroom and deluxe suite serve as the perfect home away from home during your stay at our Columbia River hotel. Business guests will appreciate 36,000 square feet of flexible function space on the water. If you're coming by plane, our complimentary airport shuttle will provide safe and comfortable roundtrip service. Greet the day with an incredible breakfast at our onsite restaurant, the Jantzen Beach Bar & Grill, before enjoying a leisurely walk along the waterfront or a quick game of tennis on our Red Lion Court. Enjoy premium accommodations and amenities at a great value at Red Lion Hotel on the River - Jantzen Beach. TOP FEATURES AT OUR DOWNTOWN PORTLAND HOTEL: Restaurant & Lounge Swimming pool & whirlpool JB's Night Club​ Pets can stay for just $15 a night GET LOCAL AT NEARBY ATTRACTIONS With a prime location near Downtown Portland, guests at Red Lion Hotel on the River can enjoy both the liveness in the city and adventures in the Pacific Northwest nature nearby. Explore these attractions during your stay at our hotel in Portland. Delta Park Columbia River University of Portland Local craft breweries Theme parks ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets and TripOnline SA so you can book your Red Lion Hotel on the River reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Lion Hotel Portland
Red Lion Portland
Portland Red Lion
Red Lion Jantzen Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing