We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, friendly staff, but choose your room wisely”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Red Lion Hotel on the River
Ranked #55 of 144 Hotels in Portland
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed October 21, 2013

Given I have stayed at this particular Red Lion dozens of times I felt it was time I gave it a review. Designed by famous Seattle based architect Roland Terry (1917 - 2006) many years ago this sprawling building must have over 300 rooms. Done about the same time Terry was designing hotels in Hawaii the building originally had touches like Tiki torches and other tropical motifs, all of which have disappeared over the years. But each room has a small balcony and the courtyards between the 4 wings give it the feel of a resort hotel. The rooms are twice the size of your average upscale motel (after all this is a "Hotel") and the bathrooms are huge by normal standards. I haven't eaten in the hotel restaurant, the Jantzen Beach Bar & Grille or had a drink in the bar JB's Night Club but I can say that returning to the hotel about 11:30 pm on a Saturday the crowds were still arriving to party (therefore, see my tips on getting a good room.) Prices per room can swing wildly from $90 to $140 as it depends if you are trying to book when a convention is going on. The only alternatives in the area are low price motels and "suite" type buildings.

Room Tip: The hotel has 4 wings A, B, C & D. Try and get a 4th floor room in Wing D that faces the courty...
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank speedroberts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,153)
There are newer reviews for Red Lion Hotel on the River
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

766 - 772 of 1,154 reviews

Reviewed October 21, 2013

convenient to the city and the airport - lovely being on the river
The Hotel rooms are spacious, quiet, clean. The staff is friendly and professional. The food is average at the bar & grill. You definitely get your money's worth.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dewatobay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2013

I have stayed at Red Lions in other cities and elsewhere in portland and have never been all that impressed (always just a basic, clean hotel but nothing to get excited about), so I was really surprised to be so pleased with pretty much everything about the Red Lion on the River. The public spaces were impressive and modern, the rooms were wonderful with balconies overlooking the pool and the river, the staff were really really great, and the bar/restaurant was definitely better than I would have imagined. Yes, you don't get free breakfast but we ate there nearly every morning and the quality was far better than you get for a free hotel breakfast. (You are also very close to starbucks and panera for a decent cheap breakfast nearby.) They have an awesome happy hour with some really great cheap appetizers (the wings and potstickers were amazing). Loved our room because it was really big and had two sinks (one in the bathroom and the other in the entry area) plus a fridge and microwave. The rooms were not just clean but were really nicely decorated and very comfortable. The location of this hotel next to the I-5 also made it very handy for everything. Can't believe what you get here for the money. I was traveling for business and brought my family and would say that I would come back again for both business and pleasure.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bethy123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2013

Its clean, nice and affordable. Beds are good and the quality of sleep was good. Would recommend for about 100$ a night. The breakfast is not included, thats why i wont pay over 100$ for a night. The bathroom was renovated, and the carpets were clean.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
Thank Hubbleflow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 12, 2013

Nice hotel on the Columbia river with a very friendly staff.. The room was huge! Big bathroom with separate sinks, safe in room, coffe maker. Easy on and off the freeway, but very quiet. The beds were very comfortable.Will definitely stay here again!

Room Tip: Ask for the river side...more expensive, but nice view of river.
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LindaMG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2013

recently stayed here on a business trip! Hotel was reasonably clean, and had a nice decor. Room service was a bit lax, and my room had not been made up on a few days when I returned at 4pm. Restaurant was a bit sketchy, with the waitress telling us that they were out of a lot of the simple breakfast and dinner items, as they were in the process of changing the menu! This was not acceptable, especially in light of the fact that the hotel was sold out for the week and weekend due to a convention and show!
There are better hotels and more convienient hotels in Portland to stay at!

Room Tip: Try a differnet hotel in downtown area! This hotel is off the beaten track!
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank james p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rod R, Manager at Red Lion Hotel on the River, responded to this reviewResponded October 10, 2013

We value each and every one of our guests and I truly apologize that we failed to provide you the best possible service. We are very displeased to see that there were some areas of concern regarding the timing of getting your room cleaned and your experience in the Restaurant and we will certainly address your concerns with our Restaurant Manager and housekeeping staff.
Thank you for your feedback you are a valued guest and we hope to have the opportunity to provide you better service in the near future!

Rod Russell
Director of Operations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2013

Stayed here two nights for the July 2013 bar exam. Very comfortable hotel considering how stressful the bar exam was. They were very accommodating with a late check out and also held my bag at the desk during the last day of the bar exam. Thanks!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pdxbarrister
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rod R, Manager at Red Lion Hotel on the River, responded to this reviewResponded October 10, 2013

Thank you for sharing your experience with others and I am happy that we were able to provide a stress free enviroment during the Bar Exam, We hope to see you again soon.

Rod Russell
Director of Operations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Portland
0.1 mi away
Oxford Suites Portland - Jantzen Beach
1.3 mi away
Best Western Inn At The Meadows
0.6 mi away
Courtyard Portland North
Courtyard Portland North
#71 of 144 in Portland
32 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Rodeway Inn & Suites Jantzen Beach
5.4 mi away
Radisson Hotel Portland Airport
1.2 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Vancouver-Portland
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Red Lion Hotel on the River? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Lion Hotel on the River

Address: 909 N Hayden Island Dr, Portland, OR 97217-8118 (Formerly Doubletree)
Location: United States > Oregon > Portland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Green Hotel in Portland
#34 Business Hotel in Portland
Price Range: $135 - $249 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Red Lion Hotel on the River 3*
Number of rooms: 320
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A cozy hotel in Portland - Red Lion Hotel on the River - Jantzen Beach Breathtaking river views greet you upon arrival at Red Lion Hotel on the River - Jantzen Beach. Our Portland waterfront hotel provides comfortable accommodations in a rustic setting just outside downtown Portland. Our accommodations provide a calm oasis on the water away from the hustle and bustle of the city. Each premium guestroom and deluxe suite serve as the perfect home away from home during your stay at our Columbia River hotel. Business guests will appreciate 36,000 square feet of flexible function space on the water. If you're coming by plane, our complimentary airport shuttle will provide safe and comfortable roundtrip service. Greet the day with an incredible breakfast at our onsite restaurant, the Jantzen Beach Bar & Grill, before enjoying a leisurely walk along the waterfront or a quick game of tennis on our Red Lion Court. Enjoy premium accommodations and amenities at a great value at Red Lion Hotel on the River - Jantzen Beach. TOP FEATURES AT OUR DOWNTOWN PORTLAND HOTEL: Restaurant & Lounge Swimming pool & whirlpool JB's Night Club​ Pets can stay for just $15 a night GET LOCAL AT NEARBY ATTRACTIONS With a prime location near Downtown Portland, guests at Red Lion Hotel on the River can enjoy both the liveness in the city and adventures in the Pacific Northwest nature nearby. Explore these attractions during your stay at our hotel in Portland. Delta Park Columbia River University of Portland Local craft breweries Theme parks ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Red Lion Hotel on the River reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Lion Hotel Portland
Red Lion Portland
Portland Red Lion
Red Lion Jantzen Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing