We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Red Lion Hotel on the River
Ranked #54 of 141 Hotels in Portland
GreenLeadersGold level
Columbia, South Carolina
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Nice place to stay”
Reviewed September 23, 2013

Hotel could use a few renovations, but overall experience was good. Staff very friendly & helpful, nice size rooms with great views of the river. Hotel restaurant has very good food, with reasonable prices. No complaints.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rabrn11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,073 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    356
    377
    188
    92
    60
See reviews for
274
258
62
307
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (307)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed September 21, 2013

This was my aunt and uncle's second visit to Portland and I was so glad I chose this hotel for them! They had a king corner suite with a magnificent view of the Columbia and Mt. St. Helens. The room was huge, staff very nice, easy access location for driving and no additional fees for parking...perfect for them since I live downtown and was picking them up to show them around. Join their frequent stay program for a great room....& it's very dog friendly!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hopeful410
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spijkenisse, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
80 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed September 21, 2013

Fine location: just aside the I5 North to Seattle and along the Columbia. At night one can see Mt Hood from the terrace while having diner. Service is ok and the rooms are clean (we've stayed there twice in different rooms). Carpets, furniture, wall paper and especially shower and plumbing are really up for serious maintenance. It’s not worn down, but call it well-used. Staff is great and very friendly and helpful. However the way the large restaurant is managed, is out of date, causing long waiting times. For breakfast you need to calculate at least a full hour. It is a la carte served but with no real specialties. Switching to a buffet breakfast would certainly be appreciated. Another improvement would be a shuttle service to Portland downtown. Overall: surely a nice place to stay for a couple of nights, with good service and friendly staff.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bastiaan57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olympia, Washington
Level Contributor
49 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed September 15, 2013

We got the Fireplace Suite this time with the view of the Columbia and enjoyed every minute of our stay. You have 2 balconies to chose from to sit back and relax and watch the river or other areas nearby. There are two rooms and space for a variety of things to see and do. The check in and room service staff were very helpful any time we talked with them. The room is very sound-proof considering the sounds from the river traffic, I-5 vehicles and the airport nearby. Easy access from I-5 is nice, and there are shops nearby if you have some free time. This is our 4th and best visit to the Red Lion and look forward to staying again next year. Thanks again for a very GREAT STAY!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Midlands
Level Contributor
83 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
Reviewed September 12, 2013

The hotel is right by the river and just off the freeway so easy to get to. When we arrived, the hotel had our day of arrival incorrect and thought we were two days early; thankfully they were able to change this without problem.

The room we had was a decent size with a huge bathroom. It was lovely to have a balcony (shame we didn't have a river view though!). The wifi worked well and it was nice to have a microwave.

The pool was nice; it is situated by the river so a nice view; just ignore the freeway which runs across the bridge adjacent to the hotel and is reasonably noisy!

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank hufri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Snohomish, Washington
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed September 12, 2013

I love it here, the rooms are spacious, and the pool/hot tub area is amazing !. DOGS are WELCOME. The rooms facing pool, and river are the best in my opinion, and are very affordable. Great lounge which is always busy on the weekend evening, with live music. All the food I have ever had from the resturaunt has been great ! Like a large fish and chip dinner with caper remoulade for $12.00. I live only a few miles away in Portland, but stay at the Red Lion here, because it really feels like a getaway ! The place is huge, and awesome, really great views.

Room Tip: Pool side rooms. The 4th floor is terrific !!
See more room tips
Green Features: Recycling bins, towel service, bath products, all to help be more environmentally friendly.
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank melissamK4374LG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lytton, Canada
2 reviews
Reviewed September 11, 2013

Had a wonderful stay at this hotel ... Staff FRIENDLY & HELPFUL ... food was EXCEPTIONAL and VERY AFFORDABLE ... room was LARGE and beds VERY, VERY COMFY ... property & location AWESOME ... nice to see how ECO FRIENDLY they are ... will ABSOLUTELY go back again!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Janice S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Portland
0.1 mi away
Oxford Suites Portland - Jantzen Beach
0.6 mi away
Courtyard Portland North Harbour
0.7 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Portland North Harbour
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Residence Inn Portland North Harbour
1.1 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Vancouver-Portland
1.3 mi away
Best Western Inn At The Meadows
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Red Lion Hotel on the River? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Lion Hotel on the River

Property: Red Lion Hotel on the River
Address: 909 N Hayden Island Dr, Portland, OR 97217-8118 (Formerly Doubletree)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Oregon > Portland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Green Hotel in Portland
#34 Business Hotel in Portland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Red Lion Hotel on the River 3*
Number of rooms: 320
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A cozy hotel in Portland - Red Lion Hotel on the River - Jantzen Beach Breathtaking river views greet you upon arrival at Red Lion Hotel on the River - Jantzen Beach. Our Portland waterfront hotel provides comfortable accommodations in a rustic setting just outside downtown Portland. Our accommodations provide a calm oasis on the water away from the hustle and bustle of the city. Each premium guestroom and deluxe suite serve as the perfect home away from home during your stay at our Columbia River hotel. Business guests will appreciate 36,000 square feet of flexible function space on the water. If you're coming by plane, our complimentary airport shuttle will provide safe and comfortable roundtrip service. Greet the day with an incredible breakfast at our onsite restaurant, the Jantzen Beach Bar & Grill, before enjoying a leisurely walk along the waterfront or a quick game of tennis on our Red Lion Court. Enjoy premium accommodations and amenities at a great value at Red Lion Hotel on the River - Jantzen Beach. TOP FEATURES AT OUR DOWNTOWN PORTLAND HOTEL: Restaurant & Lounge Swimming pool & whirlpool JB's Night Club​ Pets can stay for just $15 a night GET LOCAL AT NEARBY ATTRACTIONS With a prime location near Downtown Portland, guests at Red Lion Hotel on the River can enjoy both the liveness in the city and adventures in the Pacific Northwest nature nearby. Explore these attractions during your stay at our hotel in Portland. Delta Park Columbia River University of Portland Local craft breweries Theme parks ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Red Lion Hotel on the River reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Lion Hotel Portland
Red Lion Portland
Portland Red Lion
Red Lion Jantzen Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing