We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Horrible”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Red Lion Hotel on the River
Ranked #56 of 142 Hotels in Portland
GreenLeadersGold level
Philadelphia
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Horrible”
Reviewed November 16, 2012

I don't like to trash any location but this can't be avoided. The desk staff was extremely helpful-but boy oh boy.
When I entered my room i found tuffs of dog hair in several locations in the room. There were also urine stains on the floor in the bathroom. It took three days for these issues to be resolved. I also stumbled upon the Russian maid who had tied my knit shirt to the clothes hanger and had the heavy oak door tied open with my shirt. My shirt was ruined- the hotel said they would replace the shirt if I could produce the original purchase receipt for the shirt-sorry, I don't carry that stuff around in my wallet. The location is horrible-there is no place to walk to eat unless you like burger king or prefer a Safeway grocery store to dine-also it isn't a very nice area to walk-especially at night. This is exacerbated by the large number of homeless hanging out at the nearby re-cycling center. Your choice-good luck!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carlin69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
redlionjbpdx, Manager at Red Lion Hotel on the River, responded to this review, November 17, 2012
I was sorry to read your overview of the unfortunate and regrettable experiences that you had with us. Our hotel manager has been made aware of the challenges you had and hopefully has been able to connect with you to come to a resolution for you.

We seek to ensure every guest is satisfied with all aspects of our service and product and as you can see by other reviews we have had many happy guests. We are deeply sorry that you did not have a similar experience.

On behalf of our entire hotel team please accept our most sincere apologies and we wish you future happy travels.

Kindest regards,

Lori Main
Director of Sales & Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,131 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    374
    390
    199
    98
    70
See reviews for
300
271
63
319
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (315)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Warrenton, Virginia
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed November 15, 2012

My wife and I stayed 7 nights at the Red Lion for a wine conference and thoroughly enjoyed our stay in one of the club level rooms. We had the chance to visit most of the conference rooms, bar and taste the chef's food at the conference and were impressed by the delivery to over 500 people. The staff went out of their way for our members and ourselves to make the experience very enjoyable. The rooms were spacious and the shower rocked. The club level breakfast and coupons for drinks in the evenings came in handy even though we had much of that at the conference as well. Our shower was draining slowly and they fixed it within minutes of our mention of it.

Room Tip: A view of the river is worth the effort.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bogborn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bend, OR
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed November 15, 2012

On our last jaunt to Portland (half business/half fun), I really wanted to stay at a swanky little boutique hotel, but finances nixed that idea. We remembered the Red Lion (where they have an excellent park & fly program, by the way), and were relieved when the room rate was so reasonable. Even more delighted when we got there and the room was almost...swanky! Our room was super spacious, very clean (I'm a nut about that), and very well appointed. They paid attention to the details, with a beautiful bathroom (and nice amenities), modern touches (dark woods, marble, etc.), and most importantly, a very comfortable bed (and pillows). I always appreciate having a fridge and micro when we travel, too. We did not get one of the view (or balcony) rooms, but we were traveling with our dog, and liked having easy access to the exit/entry door so we could take her on walks (fabulous walking trail right there). They are very pet-friendly, and there's just a small extra charge for them. It is a huge facility, clearly geared up for conventions, but we felt right at home for our little adventure. Easy access to I-5 made it simple to zoom all over Portland. Yes, next time we'll ask for one of the rooms overlooking the gorgeous Columbia River and bridge, but we were happy campers this time.

Room Tip: River views on the north side
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mollieb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
redlionjbpdx, Director of Sales at Red Lion Hotel on the River, responded to this review, November 16, 2012
What a joy to read your review.... we are honored that you took the time to tell others about your stay and do hope that the next trip to our area you not only will enjoy our surroundings but we'll be sure you get one of those great rooms overlooking the mighty Columbia River!

Again, thanks so much for lettting others know about us!

Happy travels!

Lori Main
Director of Sales & Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United States
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed November 14, 2012

We stayed for 7 nights. The rooms are very clean, fresh and well appointed. Took the tip from other travelers and got a room with a beautiful view of the Columbia river. Since we were also attending a conference there, we were in many of the rooms used for conferences. All rooms were clean and well organized for the meetings. Many of the rooms had access to the outdoors and views of the river. The entire staff, restaurant, housekeeping, maintenance and front desk were extremely pleasant and helpful. There is a lovely walk of about 1 mile along the river. The only hitch that we had was with the airport shuttle. Would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank aceandhoney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
redlionjbpdx, Director of Sales at Red Lion Hotel on the River, responded to this review, November 15, 2012
We get a number of fun reviews but to hear that you think we ROCK takes this month's prize for putting us in the best mood! Thank you for taking time to tell others what you think of Red Lion Hotel on the River... I will be certain to pass on to our entire team that you think they ROCK.... and I can say, I completely agree!

Next time you come to our area I, on behalf of our entire team, sure do hope you will allow us to be of service to you and we will ROCK right along with you.

Happy travels to you!

Lori Main
Director of Sales & Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 12, 2012 via mobile

This hotel was gorgeous. Nice hotel with the water steps away. Rooms were large, open and clean. The hotel was busy but once in our rooms we felt like we were the only ones in the hotel. Hotel staff were very friendly.

We used this hotel as a pit stop for some shopping on our way back to Canada

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dbg19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed November 12, 2012

My sister and I stayed for six nites recently and enjoyed the hotel location and amenities. The room had a microwave and refrigerator that came in handy. I was a bit dissapointed that breakfast was not included for the price we paid, but the microwave came in handy for that. the coffee supplied was amazing. We usually don't like the coffee provided and brought our own, but didn't need to use it! Beds were extremely comfortable, but really - can't you get sheets that fit the mattress?? Hot tub was great - pool was closed since it was November. I'd stay again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ReneeT53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
redlionjbpdx, Director of Sales at Red Lion Hotel on the River, responded to this review, November 14, 2012
Thank you for letting others know about your experience with us at Red Lion Hotel on the River. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your time with us. It's a reality that there are many choices to stay in the area and want to take this moment to thank you for allowing us to be of service to you. We do hope to have the honor again when you next visit our area.

Happy Travels

Lori Main
Director of Sales & Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springfield, Ohio
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed November 12, 2012

We stayed 3 nights for a convention. The hotel room was very clean, unusually roomy and nicely decorated. The bathroom was large and very nice. There was an additional sink with great lighting - great for make-up. Also a mw and mini-fridge. There was a fabulous view from our window of the Columbia River. The restaurant had an even better view of the river. We used the hotel airport shuttle twice and had no problems with wait times, although some others in our conference complained of waiting. The meeting rooms were large, turned over quickly and even equipped with recycling bins. The staff was welcoming and very efficient. Almost forgot - the beds and pillows were very comfy and many easily accessible stairwells.

Room Tip: Get a room with a view of the river.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mary51000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Portland
0.1 mi away
Oxford Suites Portland - Jantzen Beach
1.3 mi away
Best Western Inn At The Meadows
0.6 mi away
Courtyard Portland North Harbour
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Portland North Harbour
0.6 mi away
Residence Inn Portland North Harbour
1.1 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Vancouver-Portland
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Red Lion Hotel on the River? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Lion Hotel on the River

Property: Red Lion Hotel on the River
Address: 909 N Hayden Island Dr, Portland, OR 97217-8118 (Formerly Doubletree)
Location: United States > Oregon > Portland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Green Hotel in Portland
#34 Business Hotel in Portland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Red Lion Hotel on the River 3*
Number of rooms: 320
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A cozy hotel in Portland - Red Lion Hotel on the River - Jantzen Beach Breathtaking river views greet you upon arrival at Red Lion Hotel on the River - Jantzen Beach. Our Portland waterfront hotel provides comfortable accommodations in a rustic setting just outside downtown Portland. Our accommodations provide a calm oasis on the water away from the hustle and bustle of the city. Each premium guestroom and deluxe suite serve as the perfect home away from home during your stay at our Columbia River hotel. Business guests will appreciate 36,000 square feet of flexible function space on the water. If you're coming by plane, our complimentary airport shuttle will provide safe and comfortable roundtrip service. Greet the day with an incredible breakfast at our onsite restaurant, the Jantzen Beach Bar & Grill, before enjoying a leisurely walk along the waterfront or a quick game of tennis on our Red Lion Court. Enjoy premium accommodations and amenities at a great value at Red Lion Hotel on the River - Jantzen Beach. TOP FEATURES AT OUR DOWNTOWN PORTLAND HOTEL: Restaurant & Lounge Swimming pool & whirlpool JB's Night Club​ Pets can stay for just $15 a night GET LOCAL AT NEARBY ATTRACTIONS With a prime location near Downtown Portland, guests at Red Lion Hotel on the River can enjoy both the liveness in the city and adventures in the Pacific Northwest nature nearby. Explore these attractions during your stay at our hotel in Portland. Delta Park Columbia River University of Portland Local craft breweries Theme parks ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cancelon, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Red Lion Hotel on the River reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Lion Hotel Portland
Red Lion Portland
Portland Red Lion
Red Lion Jantzen Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing