We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very nice resort”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Red Lion Hotel on the River
Ranked #51 of 139 Hotels in Portland
GreenLeadersGold level
Ogden, Utah
Level Contributor
102 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Very nice resort”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 18, 2012 via mobile

Reserved a club level room with supposed city or river views, got one of the parking lot and highway. This was my only gripe, as the facility was spotless, rooms large, clean, and modern, staff were professional and very friendly. River view would have made it perfect. Wi-Fi strong and fast. Recommend.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nitrousedEdB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,024 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    345
    364
    176
    85
    54
See reviews for
264
249
58
289
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (305)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
49 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 16, 2012

we had a great room (#495) overlooking the columbia river. You get 2 free drinks per night with appetizers. The bar serves very good appetizers and has two discount times per day for these. Bar overlooks the river. Service was cordial, drinks were good (strong) The rooms on the 4th floor include a private breakfast on that floor. Enjoyed the heated pool and hot tub. Will be back (daughter lives nearby and I can't think of a better place to stay). Not far from the metro either. Bed was great

Room Tip: get one closest to the river on a high floor (4th is as high as it gets)
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gary J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yachats, Oregon
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 15, 2012

Cannot say enough good things about our experience at this hotel - the rooms were large with comfortable beds and large bathrooms. Every staff member we encountered was friendly and helpful - from the front desk people to the cleaning staff. The hotel provides great van service not only to the airport but to the light rail stop to city center.

After reading some poor reviews of the restaurant we did not know what to expect - and were pleasantly surprised by good food and good service. We ate breakfast there every morning and each choice we had was excellent - especially the breakfast choice of corned beef hash and eggs! Yummy!

WE would stay there again in a heartbeat and will recommend this hotel to our friends and family.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ann97498
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ventura, California
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 14, 2012 via mobile

Just spent 3 days at the Red Lion in Jantzen Beach. We had a terrific room with water view. Large room, very comfortable bed and great friendly service . The bath room was large and well appointed. We would happily stay here again.

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank rwb926
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
37 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 13, 2012

We stayed 2 nights in September at this hotel and found it to be wonderful! The room was spacious and comfortable. The bed was so cozy we didn't want to get out of it in the morning! Having a balcony to go out on is a priority to us, but hard to find anymore, but this location had them. We spent both evenings sitting on the balcony, sipping cocktails and watching the boats on the river. Was great. My only complaint would be the noise from the nearby freeway, but we quickly blocked that out. Everyone was friendly - great place!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ann G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
redlionjbpdx, Director of Sales at Red Lion Hotel on the River, responded to this review, September 14, 2012
Thank you so much for taking the time from your own schedule to relay your experience with us at Red Lion Hotel on the River. It is a joy to read the feedback when a guest enjoyed their stay as much as you did.

We pride ourselves on ensuring each guest is provided with our Stay Comfortable promise and are always delighted to be able to share great input like yours with every team member.

Again, on behalf of all of the staff and management of Red Lion Hotel on the River, thank you for your patronage and for the time you took to let others in the TripAdvisor family know of your experience. We hope to have the honor of being of service to you in the coming months and years.

Happy travels!

Lori Main
Director of Sales & Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grants Pass, Oregon, United States
Level Contributor
89 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 13, 2012

What a great place. The rooms were extra clean, the rooms have been redone for the times. Excellent showers and clean bathrooms. We are RVer's so are use to being in our own environment, was pleasantly surprised how nice they have kept this hotel over the years. We used to stay there often when working up there, but this was a personal trip and a trip it was. We sat and watched the sailboats and fishing boats go up and down the river. We watched the traffic back up when the draw bridge opened while we had a drink in the lounge. The breakfast was wonderful. Can't say enough....the walk to the room was long, but not a problem cause we got some exercise. lol !!!!! Thanks for making us feel special..

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Braintree, Vermont
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 12, 2012

My husband and I tried Jantzen's Beach Bar & Grill at the Red Lion Hotel on the River after buying a discounted gift certificate at Restaurant.com. What a nice surprise. So many hotel restaurants are overpriced for food that isn't very special. Not at Jantzen's. I started with the Grilled Ciabatta. Very nice! Just the right blend of garlic, olive oil and cheese. Not too heavy. Then I had the house salad which had a really unique dressing. The Draper Valley Chicken was so moist and flavorful. The spices were perfect and they seared the surface before roasting it. It was served with broccolini and roasted red potatoes. This was all topped off with the chocolate peanut butter cake. If you are in Portland, The restaurant sits right on the shore of the Columbia River and the wall of glass made the setting perfect.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Twimom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Portland
0.1 mi away
Oxford Suites Portland - Jantzen Beach
0.6 mi away
Courtyard Portland North Harbour
0.7 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Portland North Harbour
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Vancouver-Portland
0.6 mi away
Residence Inn Portland North Harbour
1.3 mi away
Best Western Inn At The Meadows
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Red Lion Hotel on the River? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Lion Hotel on the River

Property: Red Lion Hotel on the River
Address: 909 N Hayden Island Dr, Portland, OR 97217-8118 (Formerly Doubletree)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Oregon > Portland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Green Hotel in Portland
#34 Business Hotel in Portland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Red Lion Hotel on the River 3*
Number of rooms: 320
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A cozy hotel in Portland - Red Lion Hotel on the River - Jantzen Beach Breathtaking river views greet you upon arrival at Red Lion Hotel on the River - Jantzen Beach. Our Portland waterfront hotel provides comfortable accommodations in a rustic setting just outside downtown Portland. Our accommodations provide a calm oasis on the water away from the hustle and bustle of the city. Each premium guestroom and deluxe suite serve as the perfect home away from home during your stay at our Columbia River hotel. Business guests will appreciate 36,000 square feet of flexible function space on the water. If you're coming by plane, our complimentary airport shuttle will provide safe and comfortable roundtrip service. Greet the day with an incredible breakfast at our onsite restaurant, the Jantzen Beach Bar & Grill, before enjoying a leisurely walk along the waterfront or a quick game of tennis on our Red Lion Court. Enjoy premium accommodations and amenities at a great value at Red Lion Hotel on the River - Jantzen Beach. TOP FEATURES AT OUR DOWNTOWN PORTLAND HOTEL: Restaurant & Lounge Swimming pool & whirlpool JB's Night Club​ Pets can stay for just $15 a night GET LOCAL AT NEARBY ATTRACTIONS With a prime location near Downtown Portland, guests at Red Lion Hotel on the River can enjoy both the liveness in the city and adventures in the Pacific Northwest nature nearby. Explore these attractions during your stay at our hotel in Portland. Delta Park Columbia River University of Portland Local craft breweries Theme parks ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Red Lion Hotel on the River reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Lion Hotel Portland
Red Lion Portland
Portland Red Lion
Red Lion Jantzen Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing