We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Red Lion Hotel on the River
Ranked #54 of 141 Hotels in Portland
GreenLeadersGold level
Ventura, California
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Wonderful Hotel”
Reviewed September 14, 2012 via mobile

Just spent 3 days at the Red Lion in Jantzen Beach. We had a terrific room with water view. Large room, very comfortable bed and great friendly service . The bath room was large and well appointed. We would happily stay here again.

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank rwb926
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,077 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    357
    377
    188
    93
    62
See reviews for
275
258
62
309
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (307)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
39 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed September 13, 2012

We stayed 2 nights in September at this hotel and found it to be wonderful! The room was spacious and comfortable. The bed was so cozy we didn't want to get out of it in the morning! Having a balcony to go out on is a priority to us, but hard to find anymore, but this location had them. We spent both evenings sitting on the balcony, sipping cocktails and watching the boats on the river. Was great. My only complaint would be the noise from the nearby freeway, but we quickly blocked that out. Everyone was friendly - great place!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ann G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
redlionjbpdx, Director of Sales at Red Lion Hotel on the River, responded to this review, September 14, 2012
Thank you so much for taking the time from your own schedule to relay your experience with us at Red Lion Hotel on the River. It is a joy to read the feedback when a guest enjoyed their stay as much as you did.

We pride ourselves on ensuring each guest is provided with our Stay Comfortable promise and are always delighted to be able to share great input like yours with every team member.

Again, on behalf of all of the staff and management of Red Lion Hotel on the River, thank you for your patronage and for the time you took to let others in the TripAdvisor family know of your experience. We hope to have the honor of being of service to you in the coming months and years.

Happy travels!

Lori Main
Director of Sales & Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grants Pass, Oregon, United States
Level Contributor
99 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed September 13, 2012

What a great place. The rooms were extra clean, the rooms have been redone for the times. Excellent showers and clean bathrooms. We are RVer's so are use to being in our own environment, was pleasantly surprised how nice they have kept this hotel over the years. We used to stay there often when working up there, but this was a personal trip and a trip it was. We sat and watched the sailboats and fishing boats go up and down the river. We watched the traffic back up when the draw bridge opened while we had a drink in the lounge. The breakfast was wonderful. Can't say enough....the walk to the room was long, but not a problem cause we got some exercise. lol !!!!! Thanks for making us feel special..

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Braintree, Vermont
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 12, 2012

My husband and I tried Jantzen's Beach Bar & Grill at the Red Lion Hotel on the River after buying a discounted gift certificate at Restaurant.com. What a nice surprise. So many hotel restaurants are overpriced for food that isn't very special. Not at Jantzen's. I started with the Grilled Ciabatta. Very nice! Just the right blend of garlic, olive oil and cheese. Not too heavy. Then I had the house salad which had a really unique dressing. The Draper Valley Chicken was so moist and flavorful. The spices were perfect and they seared the surface before roasting it. It was served with broccolini and roasted red potatoes. This was all topped off with the chocolate peanut butter cake. If you are in Portland, The restaurant sits right on the shore of the Columbia River and the wall of glass made the setting perfect.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Twimom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 11, 2012

After a long drive, we were thrilled to find that our standard king reservation, had been upgraded to a junior suite on the club level! I have no idea why, plus the price remained the same! We had two very large rooms, luxurious leather couch and chairs in one, plus a dining table for four with chandelier! The bedroom also was over-sized and wonderful. The bathroom was huge with a terrific walk-in shower. Dinner in the restaurant that night was excellent, as was the view of the river. I recognize I can't always expect this treatment, but what a joy when you get it! Thank you!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank itsagreatlife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 8, 2012

Only the end rooms have a view on the river. The rooms by the bridge are very noisy. The pool is 75... Very cold. Disappointed in this hotel. Expect more from red lion. River view rooms are not true views.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Schugg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviewed September 6, 2012

The location was very convenient for the Columbia River Gorge/Mt. Hood. It was also a very reasonable drive to the Pacific Ocean or Mt. St. Helens. The property has a very nice setting along the river...it also has a great business center and large, comfortable rooms.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Phillip3657
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
redlionjbpdx, Director of Sales at Red Lion Hotel on the River, responded to this review, September 10, 2012
Thank you for taking time to let others know that we are a perfect location for all that you might want to enjoy in the Portland Oregon area---from the Gorge to Mt. Hood, the Ocean to downtown or even wine country, Red Lion Hotel on the River is truly a great place to use as basecamp!

Thank you for selecting our hotel and for sharing your experience with others in TripAdvisor

Happy travels to you!

Lori Main
Director of Sales & Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Portland
0.1 mi away
Oxford Suites Portland - Jantzen Beach
0.6 mi away
Courtyard Portland North Harbour
0.7 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Portland North Harbour
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Residence Inn Portland North Harbour
1.1 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Vancouver-Portland
1.3 mi away
Best Western Inn At The Meadows
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Red Lion Hotel on the River? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Lion Hotel on the River

Property: Red Lion Hotel on the River
Address: 909 N Hayden Island Dr, Portland, OR 97217-8118 (Formerly Doubletree)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Oregon > Portland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Green Hotel in Portland
#34 Business Hotel in Portland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Red Lion Hotel on the River 3*
Number of rooms: 320
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A cozy hotel in Portland - Red Lion Hotel on the River - Jantzen Beach Breathtaking river views greet you upon arrival at Red Lion Hotel on the River - Jantzen Beach. Our Portland waterfront hotel provides comfortable accommodations in a rustic setting just outside downtown Portland. Our accommodations provide a calm oasis on the water away from the hustle and bustle of the city. Each premium guestroom and deluxe suite serve as the perfect home away from home during your stay at our Columbia River hotel. Business guests will appreciate 36,000 square feet of flexible function space on the water. If you're coming by plane, our complimentary airport shuttle will provide safe and comfortable roundtrip service. Greet the day with an incredible breakfast at our onsite restaurant, the Jantzen Beach Bar & Grill, before enjoying a leisurely walk along the waterfront or a quick game of tennis on our Red Lion Court. Enjoy premium accommodations and amenities at a great value at Red Lion Hotel on the River - Jantzen Beach. TOP FEATURES AT OUR DOWNTOWN PORTLAND HOTEL: Restaurant & Lounge Swimming pool & whirlpool JB's Night Club​ Pets can stay for just $15 a night GET LOCAL AT NEARBY ATTRACTIONS With a prime location near Downtown Portland, guests at Red Lion Hotel on the River can enjoy both the liveness in the city and adventures in the Pacific Northwest nature nearby. Explore these attractions during your stay at our hotel in Portland. Delta Park Columbia River University of Portland Local craft breweries Theme parks ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Red Lion Hotel on the River reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Lion Hotel Portland
Red Lion Portland
Portland Red Lion
Red Lion Jantzen Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing