We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good, clean hotel for business”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Red Lion Hotel on the River
Ranked #56 of 146 Hotels in Portland
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed March 5, 2012

I stayed here for a night during a continued learning conference. The staff were friendly and helpful. The hotel is clean and comfortable without a ton of bells and whistles. Plenty of restaurants and shopping nearby and easy access to I-5 to go right to downtown Portland (where all the best shopping and food is).

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank purpleheather1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
redlionjbpdx, Director of Sales at Red Lion Hotel on the River, responded to this reviewResponded March 7, 2012

Thank you for your kind comments regarding our hotel. From free WIFI throughout the hotel, free parking, in-room microwave, coffee maker, refrigerator and our Stay Comfortable bathrooms and pillowtop bedding the Red Lion Hotel on the River is proud to serve those business travelers who need a place to Stay Comfortable and do it at a cost that is Comfortable for your wallet as well!

We are honored to have you as our guest and thank you for taking the time to let others know about our property.

Kindest regards,

Lori Main
Director of Sales & Marketing

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,194)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,025 - 1,031 of 1,194 reviews

Reviewed February 27, 2012

Stayed with a friend who had obtained a package rate at $59.
We decided to upgrade to the "Club Level" for an additional 20 bucks, and it was definitely worth the price: the room had a view of the Columbia River, happy hour included two drinks per person and an appetizer, there was a continental breakfast available on the Club floor plus we were given vouchers for breakfast in the restaurant overlooking the water. With the vouchers, we were allowed to order anything in the breakfast menu--even the most expensive item.

The room was spacious. Bath had a huge walk-in shower and ample toiletries. There was an additional sink in the entry--across from the microwave and refrigerator--so it could be used as a wet bar, if needed.
The beds were comfortable and had a selection of pillows; there was a flat-screen tv with many channel selections and a desk large enough to place your laptop and lay out all your stuff. Too bad it was not warm enough to spend time on the balcony!

We would stay here and do the upgrade again; what a nice deal !

Room Tip: Ask for top floor or 'Club Level' and not view of the parking lot.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank gary053
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 26, 2012

Thoroughly enjoyed my third stay at Red Lion Hotel, Jantzen Beach. There for a seminar
on the new Spring/Summer Scentsy product line I was given excellent service and effeciency
with a smile. Everyone was out to please us even though we were one of many people
there for the same seminar. The food in the restuarant was excellent and we so enjoyed
the free appetizer and well drink at Happy Hour. I give them a four out of five and would
have given a five if I had a river view. Who could ask for anything more.

Room Tip: All the rooms are good, but a river view is really nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Donna S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2012

Arrived to find bathtub full of hair. Bath mat folded on side of tub wet and long black hair on back of it. Towel was on top of it. Hair band on sink. Floor sticky.
Fitted bottom sheet was upside down on bed with pubic hair on sheets. One pillowcase appeared to have been stepped on further verification bed not changed.
Note left with problems, none of which were corrected second night there. We went and asked for a clean set of sheets first night and changed ourselves. Mattress pad on king bed was a twin size so the mattress itself was only protected by a sheet on majority of it. They did not try to solve issues. Disgusting! Also saw a truck in parking lot with window broke out and glass on ground. Not secure area.

  • Stayed: February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travelgirlandboys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 23, 2012

Having never been to Portland before, and not having transport I chose the Red Lion Hotel for it's proximity to where I needed to be and for the best rates for the duration of my stay. I stayed here for 5 nights and could not have asked for anything more. From accepting a delivery of a package before my arrival, to collecting me from the airport after their complimentary shuttle hours, to upgrading me. Honestly, I will stay there anytime I am back in Portland. Nothing was too much trouble for the staff, who always greeted you with a smile - no matter who it was! Breakfast was included and plentiful and fresh. I did not eat in the restaurant, but it looked great. Would highly recommend this hotel and it's wonderful staff :-)

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lisa W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 20, 2012

I had long 10 hour layover and this was a perfect stop to get a good night sleep. The staff was courteous, the room a good size and clean, and the bed comfortable. It is just minutes from the airport with frequent shuttles. It is not fancy but a great deal and just what I was looking for.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Agouti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 13, 2012

I spent two nights at the RL-Jantzen Beach hotel. The hotel is on the river and offers a nice view. It has a suitable (small) convention area and meeting rooms. In Summer, I think this would make for a pleasant location, but it is in an area that offers little. Staff was friendly. My room was the average Red Lion style; nothing special. Heating within the hotel halls was dreadful.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BLT310
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Portland hotels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Courtyard Portland North
#65 of 146 in Portland
48 reviews
Downtown
Residence Inn Portland Downtown/Riverplace
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Red Lion Hotel on the River? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Lion Hotel on the River

Address: 909 N Hayden Island Dr, Portland, OR 97217-8118 (Formerly Doubletree)
Location: United States > Oregon > Portland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Green Hotel in Portland
#34 Business Hotel in Portland
Price Range: $119 - $248 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Red Lion Hotel on the River 3*
Number of rooms: 320
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A cozy hotel in Portland - Red Lion Hotel on the River - Jantzen Beach Breathtaking river views greet you upon arrival at Red Lion Hotel on the River - Jantzen Beach. Our Portland waterfront hotel provides comfortable accommodations in a rustic setting just outside downtown Portland. Our accommodations provide a calm oasis on the water away from the hustle and bustle of the city. Each premium guestroom and deluxe suite serve as the perfect home away from home during your stay at our Columbia River hotel. Business guests will appreciate 36,000 square feet of flexible function space on the water. If you're coming by plane, our complimentary airport shuttle will provide safe and comfortable roundtrip service. Greet the day with an incredible breakfast at our onsite restaurant, the Jantzen Beach Bar & Grill, before enjoying a leisurely walk along the waterfront or a quick game of tennis on our Red Lion Court. Enjoy premium accommodations and amenities at a great value at Red Lion Hotel on the River - Jantzen Beach. TOP FEATURES AT OUR DOWNTOWN PORTLAND HOTEL: Restaurant & Lounge Swimming pool & whirlpool JB's Night Club​ Pets can stay for just $15 a night GET LOCAL AT NEARBY ATTRACTIONS With a prime location near Downtown Portland, guests at Red Lion Hotel on the River can enjoy both the liveness in the city and adventures in the Pacific Northwest nature nearby. Explore these attractions during your stay at our hotel in Portland. Delta Park Columbia River University of Portland Local craft breweries Theme parks ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Red Lion Hotel on the River reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Lion Hotel Portland
Red Lion Portland
Portland Red Lion
Red Lion Jantzen Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing