We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Huge property, great pool, close to downtown Portland.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Red Lion Hotel on the River
Ranked #54 of 141 Hotels in Portland
GreenLeadersGold level
Oakland, Ca
Level Contributor
49 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Huge property, great pool, close to downtown Portland.”
Reviewed August 8, 2011

This is a great place for families if you want to be near Portland but away from the bustle and high prices of downtown. This is a large property, often used for meetings and conventions. The advantage is that it has a huge swimming pool and nice hot tub. There is also a restaurant and lounge on site. We wanted a pool for the kids during a family reunion and this was ideal. It is also convenient to the Portland Airport. The rooms are very large and have nice amenities. We were on the concierge floor which included breakfast and afternoon wine/appetizers. Worth the upgrade. The staff is super friendly. It is about a 5-10 min. drive to downtown, 10-15 min to Washington Park and the Zoo. The prices are more reasonable than finding something downtown. It is also near a shopping center and a great river front seafood restaurant named Salty's. We would return.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view of the river!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lwolff1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,073 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    356
    377
    188
    92
    60
See reviews for
274
258
62
307
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (307)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Santa Barbara, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 7, 2011

Stayed here for three nights in July. The hotel is old and needs updating badly, and our room was obviously a former smoking room. Our room wa also located right next to the Interstate 5 and we heard the traffic all night long. On a positive note, the staff was very courteous and the room was large. The first floor had just experienced some kind of flooding because there was plastic covering the carpet and large fans set up to dry it out. I would only stay here again as a last resort.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank msmarik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wenatchee, Washington
1 review
Reviewed August 6, 2011

Great place to stay.... We spent one night and had the best time. Check in was quick, smooth with very friendly front desk agents, Our 2 rooms were adjoining, very spacious, clean with great views of the pool and the river. Dinner was delicious, and again, Great service!!
Really a great location. Not to far from the freeway, Vooddoo donuts, and University of Portland all of which we visited on our way to Lincoln City.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 844RLW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 4, 2011

We stayed at this hotel this past week. It was me, my husband and my three children.
Immediately after staying at this hotel, my oldest child began complaining of an itchy head and had spots all over her body. We came home and checked her head and we found lice and realized that the spots on her body were because of bedbugs. We also checked our youngest children and they also had lice. Although this hotel may look clean and nice from the outside and at a first glance, the staff aren't doing a good job in cleaning the rooms throughly! The night we stayed there, the staff didn't even clean the bathroom or respond to requests of new towels. I complained to the customer service of this hotel and they were very condescending and unhelpful.

Choose any other hotel in Portland other than this one... unless you want LICE AND BEDBUG BITES!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank traveller1234183462
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rod R, Manager at Red Lion Hotel on the River, responded to this review, August 10, 2011
As the Director of Operations I wish to respond to the comments made in your posting. As is standard practice in the hotel industry, we inspected the room and called in a third party company to verify that the room was, as I found, lice- free. Our report shows no presence of any pest; lice or otherwise. What was most intriguing about your post is the new mention of bedbugs which was never mentioned when we spoke. As we discussed last week, your family’s 13-day trip ended with our locale and while your claim was you contracted the lice here, the claim is false.

In the spirit of hospitality we agreed to refund 50% of your stay; albeit we had no findings that led to any substantiation of your comments about the presence of lice; yet reading this posting suggests that you have altered your comment to also include bedbugs…which, as I stated earlier, did not exist.

We pride ourselves on the guest comments we receive from our visitors and our commitment to our rooms’ cleanliness. Your input is disturbing on the whole, but in our research totally unsubstantiated.

Rod Russell
Director of Operations
Red Lion Hotel on the River
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bountiful, Utah
Level Contributor
149 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed August 3, 2011

I have always enjoyed my stays at the Red Lion Jantzen Beach; however, I'd advise that you don't foot the bill for their new "club level". The only real difference is room key only access to the top floor, free continental breakfast and a couple of extra amenities (swabs and cotton balls) in the room. The redeeming quality was the top level (for you light sleepers). However, there were still some issues. Seems like all of the partiers were on the top floor during our stay. Shouting in the halls and slamming doors between mid-night and 4:00 AM, etc. I would likely stay there again but the upper floor is not worth the extra cost. Luckily, we didn't pay this cost; the room was an upgrade due to lack of availability of our original reservation.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank foto_monkey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kennewick, Washington
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed August 1, 2011

I had a gift certificate for a Red Lion, and after some searching around, we decided on the Red Lion at Jantzen Beach! The hotel staff was very helpful and accomodating. Our room was beautiful and spacious. Loved the updated shower; after walking around Portland all day , the shower was a relaxing end to the day! In the morning my son had a blast at the pool and spa.The ONLY negative thing I have to say is that the coffee maker took forever to brew a pot of coffee! But who needs the coffee pot when you have really good coffee in the lobby. I was pleased to see that they used compostable cups and lids too!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank adrianna030
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 1, 2011

Old hotel, needs some renovations and care but good service

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pgascon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Portland
0.1 mi away
Oxford Suites Portland - Jantzen Beach
0.6 mi away
Courtyard Portland North Harbour
0.7 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Portland North Harbour
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Residence Inn Portland North Harbour
1.1 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Vancouver-Portland
1.3 mi away
Best Western Inn At The Meadows
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Red Lion Hotel on the River? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Lion Hotel on the River

Property: Red Lion Hotel on the River
Address: 909 N Hayden Island Dr, Portland, OR 97217-8118 (Formerly Doubletree)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Oregon > Portland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Green Hotel in Portland
#34 Business Hotel in Portland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Red Lion Hotel on the River 3*
Number of rooms: 320
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A cozy hotel in Portland - Red Lion Hotel on the River - Jantzen Beach Breathtaking river views greet you upon arrival at Red Lion Hotel on the River - Jantzen Beach. Our Portland waterfront hotel provides comfortable accommodations in a rustic setting just outside downtown Portland. Our accommodations provide a calm oasis on the water away from the hustle and bustle of the city. Each premium guestroom and deluxe suite serve as the perfect home away from home during your stay at our Columbia River hotel. Business guests will appreciate 36,000 square feet of flexible function space on the water. If you're coming by plane, our complimentary airport shuttle will provide safe and comfortable roundtrip service. Greet the day with an incredible breakfast at our onsite restaurant, the Jantzen Beach Bar & Grill, before enjoying a leisurely walk along the waterfront or a quick game of tennis on our Red Lion Court. Enjoy premium accommodations and amenities at a great value at Red Lion Hotel on the River - Jantzen Beach. TOP FEATURES AT OUR DOWNTOWN PORTLAND HOTEL: Restaurant & Lounge Swimming pool & whirlpool JB's Night Club​ Pets can stay for just $15 a night GET LOCAL AT NEARBY ATTRACTIONS With a prime location near Downtown Portland, guests at Red Lion Hotel on the River can enjoy both the liveness in the city and adventures in the Pacific Northwest nature nearby. Explore these attractions during your stay at our hotel in Portland. Delta Park Columbia River University of Portland Local craft breweries Theme parks ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Red Lion Hotel on the River reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Lion Hotel Portland
Red Lion Portland
Portland Red Lion
Red Lion Jantzen Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing