We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Value, Nice Place!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Portland Airport
Ranked #32 of 144 Hotels in Portland
Reviewed September 20, 2010

A very nice place to stay very close to PDX. Free airport shuttle departs the hotel on the hour and half hour and will come to get you at the airport when you fly in (free courtesy phone at PDX). I stayed there on two separate occasions and both times were very nice and restful. The breakfast was free and extensive; I did not try their restaurant for other meals. The rooms were quiet with little noise from neighbors.

Be aware that you will hear jet noise in your room from departing aircraft when runway 10 Right is in use (departing to the east) but the noise is much less when the aircraft are landing to the west. Fortunately PDX doesn't handle that much traffic between 11pm and 6am but there is a big rush of departures shortly after 6am so plan on rising early if jet noise bothers you. That really is the only drawback to this place.

The rates were great considering the level of service and quality of the rooms in which I stayed. While it's not the cheapest in the area (there are some that offer rooms in the $55-60 range at the time of this writing), it's worth the extra $20-30. I would definitely stay there again.

Staff is helpful, affable and very nice!!

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank punchbuggy_winnah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,159)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,098 - 1,104 of 1,159 reviews

Reviewed September 14, 2010

We stayed here on our last 2 nights of our Oregon vacation. The staff were friendly and helpful, and the limited restaurant inside was good. We used the breakfast buffet the first morning, and then got 2 bags (juice, orange and danish) to go on our way to an early flight. We heard no commercial aircraft noise but were startled with jet aircraft from the nearby airbase. However, they were silent before 9pm. It only took minutes to get to the airport to return our car. The room was a great size, the sink outside the bathroom was unusual in a hotel. The internet connection was free, however, the printer in the hotel didn't work so we couldn't print our passes. We would choose this hotel again!

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank debee54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2010

My sister and I met in Portland and stayed here when we arrived. Took the shuttle from the airport with very friendly driver and we were made to feel very welcome when we got to the lobby. The room was clean, comfortable, and quiet even though our room was right next to the breakfast room. Free breakfast was substantial and good. Desk staff were very knowledgeable no matter what we asked and I'd highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pennie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2010

Their website said our "card will be billed 104.62 USD by hotel at time of booking. Penalty applies to all cancellations." We arrived at 8 p.m. They had resold our studio suite, and offered us only a two-bed room at a reduced rate. We needed a suite, but they were all occupied. Had we not showed up, their policy is to charge us the amount that we booked.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SkiPlayWork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2010

My wife and I stayed at Country Inn and Suites near the Portland, Oregon airport over a weekend in August while I was there for an interview. There were other hotels that were closer to the airport (2 minutes instead of 4 minutes) but they were quite a bit more expensive. This hotel was clean, modern, well furnished, with pool and hot tub, a great breakfast, and a knowledgeable staff that helped me plan an evening in Portland last minute. The hotel has a 24 hour shuttle that will take you to and from the airport or to the nearest Max train station with only a phone call. I highly recommend this Portland gem.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank birchmark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2010

I have stayed at this hotel numerous times in the past and my last stay was no exception to the great customer service I have always received. This may have to do w/their low turnover rate as they same lady has been doing Continental breakfast there for at least 2 or 3 years and I've been checked in by the same people spanning years now. Over all I just love the hotel as well. The work out facility is small but it has everything I like to use such as the eliptical etc. The pool is a blast as is the hot tub. It's always been clean. The continental breakfast is always good, kept clean and stocked. The lobby always has fruit, coffee, tea, hot chocolate, cookies and books! I love the book-it program where you can borrow books and return them at your next visit. They have everything from classics to modern thrillers to Curious George. I would recomend a few more kids books, although I understand they may just go fast. The computer area is nice and I've never had to wait long to use it. The rooms are always clean and fully stocked. I'm just very comfortable there! Love it! Very family oriented.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SoozeQ83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 18, 2010

Boarding the shuttle I was accompanied by four flight attendants -- how's that for a recommendation. Excellent room and service -- check-in and shuttle from and to the airport. NO negatives.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pmm0303
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Portland hotels
0.4 mi away
Radisson Hotel Portland Airport
1.0 mi away
Hyatt Place Portland Airport / Cascade Station
0.7 mi away
Hampton Inn Portland-Airport
Hampton Inn Portland-Airport
#41 of 144 in Portland
795 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Residence Inn Portland Airport at Cascade Station
0.6 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Portland Airport
2.0 mi away
Clarion Hotel Portland Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Portland Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Portland Airport

Address: 7025 NE Alderwood Rd, Portland, OR 97218-2833
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Oregon > Portland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 Best Value Hotel in Portland
#18 Family Hotel in Portland
#32 Romantic Hotel in Portland
#36 Business Hotel in Portland
Price Range: $113 - $184 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Portland Airport 3*
Number of rooms: 153
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A cozy stay at a comfortable priceJust off the beaten path near the tranquil setting of Colwood National Golf Course, Country Inn & Suites offer a plethora of amenities to make you feel at home. Our friendly and professional staff will take care of your every need. Country Inn & Suites Portland-Airport is the perfect choice for your next trip, out of town guest, group, or event. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Carlson, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Portland Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Portland Airport Hotel Portland
Country Inn And Suites By Carlson, Portland Airport
Country Inn Portland Airport
Country Inn Suites Portland Oregon
Portland Country Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing