We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not up to expectations” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Portland Airport

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Portland Airport
Ranked #31 of 138 Hotels in Portland
Certificate of Excellence
Wisconsin
Level Contributor
54 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Not up to expectations”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 31, 2012

My daughter choose this property based on location near her home in Portland and our desire to have a full kitchen. Their website does not show a kitchen as an option and she found it by calling around. With tax the rate was a pricey $140/night. We stayed there for five days.
While the room was spacious, and the free breakfast exceptional, varying some each day, the facilities had a few problems. The full kitchen lacked basic needs, such as silverwear, utensils, cups, dish towels, detergent for the dish washer, a drain plug in the kitchen sink, etc. Plus the trash had not been emptied from the previous guest. We generally rent facilities with kitchens and it was evident that Country Inn's heart really wasn't in to supporting a kitchen. The staff was cooperative in correcting the problems, but it took three calls and a trip to the store by the maintenance supervisor to get everything we needed.
The pool was small but nice, the excercise room looked like it was well equipped. Free shuttle rides were offered to anywhere within five miles, not just to the airport, which was good if you wanted to visit or eat elsewhere. A golf course is next door.
We expected some noise from the adjacent airport, but did not expect that the hotel would be the target of low level flights several times a day and evening by dual fighter jets from the Air Base next door. The first couple times were exciting, after that, not so much.
And, as long as I am nit picking, the entry sign is modest in size and dwarfed by the sign for the restaurant, which has a different name. We missed the driveway the first time we drove there.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank WisconsinRidgewalker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

966 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    463
    317
    121
    39
    26
See reviews for
383
224
77
180
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (90)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Corvallis, Oregon, United States
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 31, 2012

I didn't stay in room and management still decided to charge me half of the gold points used to book room. The front desk was not knowledgeable. The managers were greedy. Will never stay in Carlson Club Hotel again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dan G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brad B, Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Portland Airport, responded to this review, November 5, 2012
We are truly sorry that this guest feels misled but we actually went beyond what we needed to in order to try and make them happy. This guest tried to cancel a room at 2:30am way after the 4pm cancellation policy stated at the time of booking. I tried to be curtious as our guests are very important to us and meet him in the middle but that wasn't far enough. Again I do apologize but that is the policy that is in place.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salem, OR
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 30, 2012

The staff for the Country Inn are superb. We were greeted wonderfully and ate cookies at a very efficient check-in process. The waitress in the on-site restaurant was johnny-on-the-spot and accommodated extra requests even though she was the only one working the room (late hours). Due to a mix-up in timing on our part, the shuttle driver made a separate trip to the airport for us, first having been armed by the office staff with a sack-breakfast provided in lieu of a restaurant breakfast that was offered with our room. The room itself was adequate and clean. The hotel could stand to update the country decor to 2012, but all in all, it's an older, clean and quiet property. For the money, it was a very good experience to get us off on our trip the next morning.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jjretired03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tempe, az
Level Contributor
128 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 25, 2012

This is a great location. About 2 miles from airport. They offer a great shuttle service (and will even take you to the nearby mall). Free breakfast is super nice. Nice beds and linens. Mini fridge and micro in room are great! Sink in outside of bathroom (it's in the main part of the room), which was fine. Not the largest room, but adequate. Pleasant staff. Indoor pool and great hot tub! The only issue was that my toilet backed up and overflowed after using it in the middle of the night. :-(

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank hummergirlTempe_Az
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baton Rouge, LA
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 25, 2012

I spent one night at this hotel while waiting on a flight and I chose it because I got a great price on the room. The hotel is conveniently located to the Portland airport. The room was comfortable and clean. Bed was comfortable, the bathroom large and clean, and a microwave and fridge are provided. There is free Wifi but my signal was so weak it wasn't good for much. A shuttle service to and from the airport runs regularly if you need it. The most important thing about this hotel is the staff. Every employee that I encountered was polite and professional. Check-in was quick and courteous. When I went back later for a question, I was greeted by name. I ate two meals in the small restaurant. The food was good, not great, but again the service was fantastic. It'e becoming rare to see employees smile! But there are plenty of smiles at the Country Inn and it makes a big difference. I recommend this hotel for anyone in Portland. One other quick note: I see in other reviews that some people complain about aircraft noise. This is an airport hotel so obviously from time to time you will hear aircraft. I found it to be no big deal and I was not awakened even once by aircraft noise.

Room Tip: The back of the hotel faces a golf course so it may be quieter. Having said that, my room faced the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank john33br
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taylorsville, Kentucky
Level Contributor
69 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 4, 2012

Stayed before an early-morning flight back to the Eastern time zone, for an unbelievably low rate offered through an e-mail to Club members (about $61). My room was perfect: comfy bed, free wifi, fridge/microwave, nice bathroom, friendly front desk staff. No complaints about my room at all -- perfectly up to Country Inn standards.

However, the sandwich/salad I ordered for pick-up from the on-site restaurant was not the best: pre-bagged, iceberg lettuce salad, on the same plate and right next to my hot sandwich, covered by plastic wrap ... yuck. But it was cheap, and the bar/pick-up server was so nice that I'm sure if I had complained, she would have replaced the whole meal, no questions asked. I was just too tired to complain.

I will definitely stay here again the next time I fly out of PDX. I just won't order a side salad next to a hot sandwich.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Christi B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oregon
Level Contributor
45 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 27, 2012

I have found that Country Inn usually has the lowest price for a room and 14 days of parking. Among the best free breakfasts I have found. Prompt shuttle to and from PDX. It is the third time I have stayed here.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Roseburger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Portland hotels
0.4 mi away
Radisson Hotel Portland Airport
0.7 mi away
Hampton Inn Portland-Airport
Hampton Inn Portland-Airport
#36 of 138 in Portland
4.0 of 5 bubbles 716 reviews
0.8 mi away
Residence Inn Portland Airport at Cascade Station
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Hyatt Place Portland Airport / Cascade Station
1.8 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Portland Airport
0.7 mi away
Sheraton Portland Airport Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Portland Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Portland Airport

Property: Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Portland Airport
Address: 7025 NE Alderwood Rd, Portland, OR 97218-2833
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Oregon > Portland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#18 Family Hotel in Portland
#32 Romantic Hotel in Portland
#36 Business Hotel in Portland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Portland Airport 3*
Number of rooms: 153
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A cozy stay at a comfortable priceJust off the beaten path near the tranquil setting of Colwood National Golf Course, Country Inn & Suites offer a plethora of amenities to make you feel at home. Our friendly and professional staff will take care of your every need. Country Inn & Suites Portland-Airport is the perfect choice for your next trip, out of town guest, group, or event. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Portland Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Country Inn And Suites By Carlson, Portland Airport
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Portland Airport Hotel Portland
Country Inn Portland Airport
Country Inn Suites Portland Oregon
Portland Country Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing