We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good for overnight stay, great staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Courtyard Portland Airport
Ranked #48 of 140 Hotels in Portland
Kenai
Level Contributor
25 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Good for overnight stay, great staff”
Reviewed February 16, 2013 via mobile


I stayed overnight for the first time at this Courtyard near the PDX airport. First off I will say that since the refresh of the Courtyard brand several years back I have avoided these like the plague. I do not like the Bistro concept nor do I need a large interactive Go Board in the lobby, I have my own technology for that!

During evening arrival hours the shuttle is on-call, so once you get outside be sure and give the hotel a call and let them know you are there. It was about an eight minute ride to the property. Check in was efficient, my gold status was recognized and the staff was very polite and we had a good conversation about the Courtyard brand. The agent was very proud of her hotel, which is a trait that I love to see.

The positive aspects of this stay included great staff both at the desk and in the bistro, a spacious very clean room, good fast wi-fi and microwave/refrigerator in the room. I know there was a fitness center and meeting rooms in the hotel, but I was there for a 12 hour turnaround and did not have a chance to visit them.

Honestly my only complaint is the Bistro. The agent told me on check in that they had an "enhanced Bistro" because they have a kitchen and food was made to order. It was, I had a sandwich and it wasn't bad, and it wasn't great. I had no other food options and that did the job of a meal until I had to fly out the next morning.

If you have other dining options in your trip, this is a great property. I would have preferred a full service property for this turn around trip, but there were none in very close proximity to PDX which is what was needed on this trip. Great value and wonderful staff!

Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank AKDan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dawna R, General Manager at Courtyard Portland Airport, responded to this review, February 19, 2013
Thank you for sharing your opinion of our hotel and your stay. I appreciate hearing from our guests and I take their input seriously. Our goal is to exceed your expectations. I'm sorry that your Bistro experience wasn't more positive. As a Courtyard with an Enhanced Plus menu we do offer steak, seafood and pasta dishes. We are fortunate to be able to offer a wider variety than most Courtyard. We will be undergoing room renovations this year. If you are traveling through Portland again later in the year we would love the opportuity to serve you. Maybe you can try out one of our heartier entrees in the Bistro. You have several delicious options to choose from. Again, thank you for taking the time to share your experience. We hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

249 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    81
    96
    50
    14
    8
See reviews for
49
50
17
101
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Santa Ana, California
Level Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed February 15, 2013

This was a pretty average Courtyard but the worst part was I could have stayed at the ALOFT right down the street for $10 cheaper. For the money, I'd head to another chain for more comfort and a better scene. The bar was pretty good and the bartender was really cool. The food was OK but I'd have rather had something at a regular restaurant for the cost. I found the room to be very drab, no extras at all and laid out similar to a cheap line hotel room. For the money, I'd have expected a nicer room. I did really appreciate the free wifi but I could have gotten that at ALOFT too. I'd expect this to have been at least $25 cheaper per night, if not more.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Greg C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dawna R, General Manager at Courtyard Portland Airport, responded to this review, February 19, 2013
Thank you for sharing your experience. I am sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations. After the completion of our renovation I hope you will return for another stay. We would welcome the opportunity to change your mind about us. Also, thank you for the compliments on our bartender. Again, thank you for your input. I appreciate your candor.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walla Walla, Washington
Level Contributor
57 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed January 27, 2013

My first stay at a Marriott without a refrigerator or a microwave.
The bathroom counter was so small I had to place my soap and other accessories in the drawer in the bedroom.
The Staff was friendly.
This property needs to be remodeled to look like todays Courtyard properties.
It is old and run down.

Room Tip: Ask for a clean newer room with new carpet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank elliott99362
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dawna R, General Manager at Courtyard Portland Airport, responded to this review, January 29, 2013
I apologize that you found your room to be less than you expected. That can be very disappointing. I have good new for you though. We will begin a renovation of our guestrooms this year! It is an exciting time for us as we begin this process. We look forward to updating our rooms and providing a comfortable relaxing space for our guests. I hope you will allow us an opportunity to be of service to you in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviewed January 10, 2013

I have stayed at this hotel a few times and have found it to be clean, comfortable and extremely convenient to the airport. I recently stayed at the hotel ahead of an early morning flight and left behind something valuable in my room. When I called the hotel after realizing what I had done, they retrieved the item right away and the general manager of the hotel went out of her way to take responsibility and make sure that the item was shipped back to me. Many thanks to the alert and helpful staff!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CJTravel878
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dawna R, General Manager at Courtyard Portland Airport, responded to this review, January 18, 2013
Thank you so much for your kind comments. I am delighted that we were able to return your item to you in a timely manner. Thank you choosing to stay with us at the Courtyard Portland Airport when you visit our fair city. We look forward to connecting with you again soon. All my best...
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coos Bay, Oregon
Level Contributor
35 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed November 30, 2012 via mobile

Great service. Only minutes away and a complimentary shuttle to the airport. Rooms are good. Very clean. They provide an alarm clock you can plug your iPod into and play music. Free and fast wifi! Great stay overall.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Coos2View
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
62 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed November 8, 2012

Not a train wreck but my suite was circa 1990 wallpaper pealing from bathroom shower area and just the look of a tired courtyard with the deception of the redone lobby. Hallways have that familiar green carpet (think 1980 Courtyard) with depressing brown doors Check in only so so and they forgot to tell me that shuttle was by appointment only and I had to take a cab to airport even though I arrived downstairs before the top of the hour at 5am and the sign at check in says shuttle runs every 30 minutes. Restaurant service as excellent.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MONYLINE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dawna R, General Manager at Courtyard Portland Airport, responded to this review, November 9, 2012
I am excited to share with you that we will begin guestroom renovations later this year. With the dramatic change in Courtyard's appearance over the past few years our 2007 renovation is now outdated. I am looking forward to the refreshing updates coming soon. I apologize that our shuttle service was not clearly communicated to you upon check-in. I will take the opportunity to use your experience as a training tool for our desk associates. I want to insure we are providing you with all of the important information needed upon your arrival. Thank you for choosing Courtyard and for sharing your experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, CA
Level Contributor
46 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed November 3, 2012

We checked in for a one night stay for easy access to the airport. The access might have been a bit too easy, as we were directly on the landing flight path---which proved noisy until late evening--when the flights stopped.

The room was nicely sized, but with a wall mounted air-conditioning unit which was noisy. The bathroom was good with separation of the toilet and the small sink. There was a mirror outside of the bathroom which aided my wife with her make-up chores. The room needs more wall sockets, but was equipped with a hide-a-bed---if you had more people sharing the room.

This is one of the new styled Courtyard's that offers cocktails and bar food in the lobby w/o having the travel outside the hotel---much appreciated. The hotel was only 17 minutes from downtown and had great access to rental car return, along with a nice shuttle to the airport.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SouthBay_Traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Portland hotels
0.4 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Portland Airport
0.2 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Portland Airport
0.2 mi away
SpringHill Suites Portland Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Clarion Hotel Portland Airport
0.2 mi away
Comfort Suites Portland Airport
0.2 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Portland Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard Portland Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard Portland Airport

Property: Courtyard Portland Airport
Address: 11550 NE Airport Way, Portland, OR 97220-1070
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Oregon > Portland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#32 Family Hotel in Portland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard Portland Airport 3*
Number of rooms: 140
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, HotelsforEveryone, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Marriott, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HRS so you can book your Courtyard Portland Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Portland Airport Hotel Portland
Portland Courtyard
Portland Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing