We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Felt at home”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Portland
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Everett Street Guesthouse
Ranked #4 of 33 Portland B&B and Inns
Reviewed September 30, 2013

We stayed in Sophie's room and its real value for money, a walk in closet and just lots of space along with a rocking chair. There is a small common room across the hall with a computer to use which is great although there is wifi in the guesthouse.
Terry was so helpful and we really felt at home sitting downstairs eating breakfast (great muffins btw!) and then just sitting in the various areas of the main floor. Plus sometimes Terry's cat would come to say hello:)

Would definitely go back again, close to a bus route and always you to explore the various neighbourhoods of Portland.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank wbabronco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
terry r, Owner at Everett Street Guesthouse, responded to this reviewResponded October 2, 2013

Was fun having you both here and Sophie loved having company as well (the cat)...Terry

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (164)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

79 - 85 of 164 reviews

Reviewed September 21, 2013

I had a wonderful experience booking with Terry for four nights in early September. Coming from doing a year of volunteer service, I was looking for more of a retreat-like place. The house is nestled on a quiet street, and because there are only two rooms in the guesthouse, it provides a nice opportunity to have personal space and time. But, I have to say, having breakfast with the other guests brought a sense of community and a sense of home to each morning. A nice plus!

Terry was a great host. She was very flexible with booking the room as well as my early morning arrival time on a Sunday. While I was there, she constantly checked in about the room, food options for breakfast, sharing wisdom and advice about the city. She also generously drove me into the city the day I arrived and was very kind to let me use her house phone, as I did not have a cell phone. She was also very patient when some friends tried to call me back on her phone. I also accidentally left a small item in the room, and Terry mailed it to me at no cost. So kind.

As far as the house, the decor is cozy and inviting and oh-so-clean! Terry really does a great job in keeping the house simple yet charming with many unique decorations. And her cooking - delicious! What a nice treat coming to such fresh and local foods.

I have to say comments on TripAdvisor were the deciding factor for me to stay here. Take my advice - book a room ASAP!!

Room Tip: I stayed in Sophie's Room. It's so big with a cozy chair, big bed, and bench by the window...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nomite2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
terry r, Owner at Everett Street Guesthouse, responded to this reviewResponded September 22, 2013

Thanks so much Margaret. Was a joy having you here. One of the things I enjoy about running the inn is meeting people from all over the world who have done interesting things with their lives. I wish you best and hope you'll return some time. Terry

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 11, 2013

My husband & I recently spent a few days in Portland at the Everett Street Guest House. We stayed in the studio cottage on the property which was a wonderful find. We had the cottage and a garden patio to ourselves. We could come & go when we wished, the hostess, Terry, had left valuable information about where to dine & how to get around. The cottage was clean, comfortable and well appointed.
We would definitely stay here again and would recommend to couples or solo visitors to Portland.

Room Tip: Make reservation well in advance of visit
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Vicki F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
terry r, Owner at Everett Street Guesthouse, responded to this reviewResponded September 13, 2013

Thanks so much for your kind words. Enjoyed having you both and hope you can return another time. Terry

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2013

We recently spent a few days in Portland, exploring a number of different neighborhoods. On this visit -- our second in 2013 -- we decided to stay at Everett Street Guesthouse, located in the Kerns neighborhood, a close-in area of Northeast Portland. The accommodations and location, and Terry's welcoming hospitality, confirmed the wisdom of our decision.

Everett Street Guesthouse offers two lodging options: rooms in the main house, and a cozy one-room cottage behind the house. We stayed in the cottage, and loved our visit. The room was spotless, and the bed comfy. The cottage has a mini-kitchen with refrigerator, microwave, and a full set of utensils, dishes and glassware. Before our late-night arrival, Terry had stocked the cottage with coffee, milk, OJ, and some other breakfast items, including cereal and English muffins. This helped wake us up every morning.

Speaking of Terry, she is a font of information not only about the neighborhood, but also about Portland in general. And she is happy to share with guests, either in a binder located in the cottage, or face-to-face. Terry was generous with her time and knowledge, treating us like friends of the family, not just lodgers.

Finally, the neighborhood is great. Everett Street Guesthouse is located near mass transit, and more restaurants, small cafes, and brew pubs than anyone could possibly need. In fact, the highly-rated Screen Door restaurant is located just two blocks away.

We enjoyed our stay at Everett Street Guesthouse, and look forward to our next visit.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JusticeTwo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2013

We were mixing business with pleasure on a quick trip to Portland. This is a wonderful B&B in a old quiet neighborhood just a street or two away from a whole street of restaurants. Beautifully furnished with comfy sofas and chairs and amazing art works this was a home away from home. The bedroom --we had "sophie's Room" --was airy and comfy --with an overhead fan for hot summer nights. A lovely bathoom was down the hall --with only a maximum of 3 guests at time there is never a wait! Breakfast was prepared to include our choices from an long list of offerngs. There was a huge array of teas! and excellent coffee. Terry is a marvelous host! Will definitley be back.

Room Tip: There are only 2 guest room --we had Sophie's Room --it is the one with a tv/dvd player
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Barbara C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2013

Drove into Portland looking for a quiet place to stay after a long drive. When we called the Everett Street Guesthouse the person answering the phone was short and refused any sort of assistance. "No recommendations. You should have booked in advance". Given the opportunity to travel through again, we will not plan to stay here in the future nor would we recommend it. A kind word would have gone much further.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Service
2  Thank ProvidenceGuys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
terry r, Owner at Everett Street Guesthouse, responded to this reviewResponded August 12, 2013

My sincere apologies if I was less than courteous on the phone. I happened to be in the car at the time, and usually am happy to refer to other places, but do that by email. I know how frustrating it is to try and find a last minute availability, and I should have been more understanding.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2013

We stayed for seven days and enjoyed our stay. The home and rooms are attractive. There are interesting things on the walls that should be savored as you would in an art museum. Our room had lots of windows so we got morning and afternoon sun. The bathroom was immaculate and had lots of the supplies available for use that you never get in a hotel. It's located in a quiet neighborhood on the east side but only three blocks off Burnside -- which is the main east-west drag.

Oh, and judging from the breakfasts we got, she's a great cook too.

There is a backyard patio that's comfortable and we used to have friends over for a visit.

The host is a good travel guide to the city and will help you out if you have troubles on traveling such as reservations, etc.

This is a lot better deal than any hotel.

Room Tip: There are two rooms in the house plus a separate cottage out back. (Breakfast is no available if yo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cross1242
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
terry r, Owner at Everett Street Guesthouse, responded to this reviewResponded August 9, 2013

Thanks so much for your kind words. Enjoying have you both for a week and glad you enjoyed your stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Portland hotels
Downtown
Kimpton RiverPlace Hotel
Kimpton RiverPlace Hotel
#1 of 144 in Portland
1,753 reviews
Hotel deLuxe
#6 of 144 in Portland
2,857 reviews
Downtown
The Heathman Hotel
The Heathman Hotel
#25 of 144 in Portland
2,178 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Kimpton Hotel Vintage Portland
Downtown
Kimpton Hotel Monaco Portland
Pearl
Residence Inn Portland Downtown/Pearl District
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Everett Street Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Everett Street Guesthouse

Address: 2306 NE Everett St, Portland, OR 97232-3131
Location: United States > Oregon > Portland
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 33 B&Bs / Inns in Portland
Price Range: $90 - $105 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
There are no frilly curtains, potpourri or teddy bears at the Everett Street Guesthouse --a lovely property with two private entrance accommodations. The first is a separate studio cottage with tiled shower, flatscreen t.v., kitchenette, private garden patio, washer/dryer and free wifi. The 2nd is a newly refurbished lower level 1 bedroom apartment with new carpeting, new mattress, freshly painted, kitchenette, washer/dryer and free wifi. Parking is no problem. Both accommodations are located in a quiet,urban neighborhood, just blocks to great restaurants, cafes, park, public transportation and movie theater. It's about an 8 minute drive to the Pearl District, downtown and other interesting tourist locations. See why Frommer's Oregon calls the Everett Street Guesthouse "a gorgeous little hideaway". And read what others have said about their stay on TripAdvisor's reviews. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing