We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Our 'go-to' for great food, drinks and warm staff” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Lucca

Lucca
Ranked #154 of 4,237 Restaurants in Portland
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Large groups, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
25 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Our 'go-to' for great food, drinks and warm staff”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 3, 2013

We LOVE Lucca! It's consistently an A+! We prefer to sit at the bar where Aaron works his magic with the Luccarita, Gin & Juice or knowledge of terrific wine parings from small batch vineyards.

The staff is terrific-- our favorites include; Andre, Andrea and Drew, but everyone is so nice, they remember your name-- they love working there and it shows. Oh and the food-- amazing. I almost always get the Arrabbiata with arugula or Chicken al Mattone (brick chicken). Plus they have wonderful seasonal dishes. Our only small gripe: Olive juice for our dirty martinis. We are dirty martini snobs and their olive juice is funky so we don't order them there, but with such great drink choices, it's not a downer.

We always bring out-of-town guests there and while Portland has so many amazing and innovative restaurants, we tend to pick our favorites such as Lucca, Cabezon, Andina, Clark Lewis and Fire on the Mountain, to name a few!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Stumptown2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

87 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    52
    30
    4
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
86 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Always Fine”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 29, 2013

Lucca is an upscale family restaurant in inner NE Portland neighborhood. Whether for dinner or Sunday brunch, the food is always very good with a slightly Italian yet distinction flair without going too far. The service is often excellent. The atmosphere is casual but very nice making for a convivial setting though it can get loud when crowded. It's a great place for a meal and is an integral part of the Portland scene. Best to make a reservation, especially for dinner on the weekend.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Portland_OregonGgman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon, United States
Level Contributor
402 reviews
357 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“distinctive”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2013

we met a friend for dinner, as we hadn't been to lucca for a year. we began with a birra moretti, and the other 2 shared a bottle of barbera red wine. all were wonderful. next they shared the Antipasti del Giorno, a little of this, a little of that,selections changedaily at our whim. i had the Salmon Crudo, Coho salmon
tartar, a crunchy green bean fennel salad,dill, pickled shallot vinaigrette, and peaches & Cream & Crostini. they had the Pork Chop alla Griglia, grilled pork loin chop,flageolet beans, wood fired tomatoes, tomato sage pancetta condimento, and the other diner had Pappardelle, chanterelle & lobster mushrooms, sweet yellow corn,melted leeks,taleggio, parmesan. they wanted dessert, so they ordered the panna cotta, peaches, huckleberries, vanilla honey, lemon madeleines...plus the semifreddo, frozen plum custard, caramel, huckleberry. our server was most friendly, informative, and funny. his name is sean patrick martin. he was fantastic, and it's apparent how much he loves working at lucca. thx...
-

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Teresa M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
redlands california
Level Contributor
419 reviews
258 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 169 helpful votes
“Upscale Cuisine in a kid friendly environment”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2013

A superb upscale dining experience in a kid friendly neighborhood environment. Service by Waiter Drew was exemplary and very kid friendly for my almost 3 year old granddaughter. The "Two Gazpachos" soup was the best Gazpacho I have had in years! It is hard to find a good gazpacho. The salmon entree was delicious. Our party of six all enjoyed their varied dinner choices from pizza to upscale seafood and pasta choices. Very highly recommended especially for their neighborhood and kid-friendly atmosphere.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank jwwcpa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
31 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Nice Italian restaurant”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 17, 2013 via mobile

I have been to lucca a few times before and it's never disappointed. It isn't terribly fancy I would wear something nice but don't stress about being all fancy. I got bolognese and it was very good and they gave me the perfect size portion. I also had some of my brothers pizza which was fantastic. I personally would recommend the pizza, but unless you will eat a lot I would split the pizza with someone.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Grace V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Lucca? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing