We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Classic indeed!”
Review of Benson Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Benson Hotel
Ranked #18 of 140 Hotels in Portland
Certificate of Excellence
NYC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Classic indeed!”
Reviewed July 3, 2009

After getting a pretty good deal naming my own price on Priceline, I was VERY happy with my stay at the Benson. I did choose to upgrade to a standard room for an extra $20 a night, which still made the stay less than $100 a night, and found the room very comfortable. I am not one for modern decor with glass and steel accents so the Benson with it's old world style and feel was perfect. Lots of warm wood and color throughout. The staff was very accommodating from the valet to the front desk to the housekeeping staff. We were greeted with smiles and offers of anything we needed wherever we turned.

They were revamping their room service menu while we were there so the late menu wasn't available. We made sure to place our order before the 11:00pm deadline and was even able to call an order in to be left in the room when returning from a coastal road trip around midnight. Now THAT'S service! The avacodo/provolone sandwich and clam chowder were fantastic!

The one thing that bothered me was the warning buzzer from the adjacent parking garage on the side street. I like to keep my windows open and had to listen to the tone everytime someone exited the garage. But with the window closed it wasn't an issue.

The Portland Pride parade went by the front of the hotel on one day of our stay and we were able to enjoy the festivities just by walking out the door. So much fun! Powell's Bookstore was a five minute walk away and Whole Foods was ten minutes. There is a Peet's Coffee two blocks away and Zipcars near as well. Location is perfect!

I would definitely stay here again and encourage others to do so as well.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank aiya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,027 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,040
    625
    221
    90
    51
See reviews for
328
757
107
496
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (433)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
23 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
Reviewed June 22, 2009

When one says "I am staying at the Benson" it still elicits a “oh la la” response. For decades it has been Portland’s premier hotel. It is, after all, where The President stays when in town. It still has an attractive ornate lobby, and the staff is perfectly polite. It is still a great place to meet for cocktails in the lobby lounge. The beds are wonderful with Temperpedic mattresses and things are generally clean and solid. That said, the hotel is a little “tired.” Not dirty, not broken, not overtly dated. But just tired. Many many new trendy hotels have cropped up in downtown lately which outshine The Benson, but tried and true it is still a nice, comfortable, quiet, well-located place to stay.

Stayed May 2009, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank mjgriffy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed June 14, 2009

We got a discounted corporate rate at the Benson and so decided to stay there. It has a great location in downtown Portland close to the Pearl District and shopping. The lobby and restaurant area is pretty good but the rooms are very very old. It does not look like they have been remodeled in the last 50 years or so. The room we got faced the bank building in front of the hotel. It was dark, the bathroom had ancient fixtures and the bathtub and toilet clearly showed the years of wear and tear. The wifi worked great though and since we were there on a weekend, we did not have to pay the ridiculous $29 a day parking fee and instead just parked for free on the street. We tried out the room service one night and it was pretty good. Bottom line is that of you like a newer room with modern amenities, check out one of the many other properties nearby. But if you're not spending too much time in your room and get a smoking deal here, then go for it.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Taladit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
seattle
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 3, 2009

Filthy room, stinky carpet!
Ice machines are broken, parking is $29 for one night.
Huge disappointment, we will never go back.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tarakan911
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sebastopol, ca
Level Contributor
404 reviews
129 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 326 helpful votes
Reviewed May 21, 2009

This hotel was very nice and I would recommend it-- but probably only at the highly discounted rate we paid on a bidding website. The lobby is gorgeous and classic. The location is in the heart of downtown Portland... can easily hop on the metro at PDX and walk from Pioneer Square.. Walk to the River or to Powell's . Everything is close by or easy by metro.

Happy Hours seem to be the thing in Portland, and the Benson does not disappoint. A fab cesar salad for $3 and several other choices that led us to have one dinner in the bar!

We loved the comfy robes and slippers a lot. They didn't skimp on towels as some do. Curtains were nice and dark when we slept in. It was very clean.

What didn't we like? The service was less than warm and welcoming. Guys at the doors consistently ignored us as they discussed more important things, like their upcoming plans. Housekeeping didn't come until after 3pm and were not particularly helpful when we needed assistance. We didn't like the (memory foam?) bed, but most people would probably like it very much, so can't fault the hotel.

I would recommend this place for a fun downtown weekend that feels like old Portland. It was good, but service was less than expected.
p.s. the concierge- wish i'd gotten his name- was great. always in a good mood and happy to help. a real asset.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kawh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
seattle
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed May 17, 2009

Wonderful location, 3 blocks from Nordstroms and downtown. The staff welcomes you with open arms and always is there to help you in every need.I went with my husband who was there on business and I walked to town, took the train to another mall easy as pie. The hotel is very elegant and shows no sign of ware as some older hotels do. The lobby is filled with chandeliers and wood paneling.The happy hour in the bar is not to be missed. We have stayed at the Governor house as well, which is also wonderful but the rates are a little higher and I found the location to downtown a little easier...Breakfast was resonable and great. I would love to go again.....

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nwnative
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed May 14, 2009

We booked the Benson through Priceline and got a screaming deal. We were not disappointed. This is truely a 4Star hotel. Service from the doorman, front desk and concierge was top notch.

The rooms, while small (afterall it is an old building), were tastefully decorated, clean and had everything we needed. The rooms have tempur-pedic mattresses which are very comfortable.

The location is great for being on foot. Both the Pearl, Downtown area and riverfront are minutes away to explore.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CynCyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Portland hotels
Downtown
Kimpton Hotel Vintage Portland
Downtown
Kimpton Hotel Monaco Portland
Downtown
Sentinel
Sentinel
#7 of 140 in Portland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,346 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
The Heathman Hotel
The Heathman Hotel
#24 of 140 in Portland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,977 reviews
Downtown
Hotel Lucia
Hotel Lucia
#14 of 140 in Portland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,350 reviews
Downtown
Kimpton RiverPlace Hotel
Kimpton RiverPlace Hotel
#1 of 140 in Portland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,676 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Benson Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Benson Hotel

Property: Benson Hotel
Address: 309 Southwest Broadway, Portland, OR 97205-3794
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Oregon > Portland > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 140 Hotels in Portland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Benson Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 287
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Classic Landmark Hotel located in heart of business & financial district. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick and HotelQuickly so you can book your Benson Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing