We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful old style glamour ”
Review of Benson Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Benson Hotel
Ranked #17 of 142 Hotels in Portland
Certificate of Excellence
kew
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Beautiful old style glamour ”
Reviewed July 31, 2014 via mobile

Great location - wonderful staff. Impressive comfortable old foyer from another time. They say every president except Obama has stayed here but it was when I asked to be moved from beside the lift, the room we were given had a view ! Very comfortable beds but again no free Wi Fi for guests.

Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Akahn610
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,135 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,110
    648
    228
    96
    53
See reviews for
349
807
110
518
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (457)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 28, 2014

My husband and I spent this last weekend at The Benson. I made our reservation the day before our trip. Most of the hotels in the area were listing the same nightly rate so we figured we'd splurge a few extra dollars and stay here. The front desk, valet and concierge staff were all very friendly and helpful with restaurant recommendations and things to do in the area. The hotel is very elegant, old school. The lobby and our room were very clean and tidied up every day. The hotel also upgraded our room upon our early check in the first day which was very nice. The hotel was centrally located in the downtown area and we were able to walk around easily to all the places we wanted to go over the 4 days we were there. Overall, I think the price (at least for the 3rd night when there were 8 weddings booked there) was a bit high but this was a nice treat for our first time to visit the city.

Room Tip: We were upgraded to a corner room jr. suite on the 7th floor. Loved it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Coast Hotels

Helpful?
1 Thank dmebusbs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eugene, Oregon
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 28, 2014

Hotel is beautiful with old school architecture look and feel. Room was spectacular!!!! I love the location for getting to everywhere downtown, we didn't use are car once. I would highly recommend this hotel if you are staying downtown.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Coast Hotels

Helpful?
1 Thank rdanielsaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, Virginia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 27, 2014

Our first time in Portland. A great city and a great hotel right in the middle of everything. If you like classic and classy, this is the place. They welcomed us late at night after a rough flight from the east coast with an upgrade to a suite. I sure appreciated the grand piano and gas fireplace in our room! Everyone is not going to be this lucky, but easily my best hotel experience.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Coast Hotels

Helpful?
1 Thank Don C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ron G, Manager at Benson Hotel, responded to this review, August 20, 2014
Wow! Thank you for your wonderful review. We are honored to read that our hotel was your best hotel experience ever! We're thrilled you enjoyed visiting our lovely city, and hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed July 26, 2014

We booked this hotel through the Portland tourist site and by paying in advance got a very reasonable rate for an historic hotel conveniently located near the centre of Portland. The rooms were fine and the lobby area is very impressive. Apparently all the US Presidents since Truman have stayed here.

Room Tip: Although located on a busy street our room on the 10th floor was pretty quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Edward392
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ron G, Manager at Benson Hotel, responded to this review, August 21, 2014
Thank you for your review. We are so glad you enjoyed the history of our hotel. And yes, every U.S. President since Truman has stayed with us! We look forward to your return visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Jolla, California
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed July 25, 2014

The Benson is very well situated if you plan on visiting Powell's Book City (and why wouldn't you?) and the Pearl District. It is a convenient few blocks from the light rail at Pioneer Square. I traveled there from the airport for $2.25. It takes about 40 minutes (same as the shuttle). The hotel is historic, genteel and has a pleasant slightly faded elegance. I had a corner suite; it was quiet and had more than adequate space to relax and work. I was attending a conference held offsite at the Portland Art Museum so did not spend much time at the hotel except in my comfortable room. I'd stay here again. There are good restaurants around the corner on Oak St. And a giant Doc Marten store nearby. What's not to like?

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Coast Hotels

Helpful?
1 Thank Anne T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Irving, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 25, 2014

Great location just off Burnside and Broadway for dining and entertainment options. The hotel lobby has rich wood and warm, inviting atmosphere. The rooms are spacious and comfortable for a classic hotel.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ted G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Portland hotels
Downtown
Kimpton Hotel Vintage Portland
Downtown
Kimpton Hotel Monaco Portland
Downtown
The Heathman Hotel
The Heathman Hotel
#25 of 142 in Portland
2,074 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel deLuxe
#3 of 142 in Portland
2,809 reviews
Downtown
Mark Spencer Hotel
Mark Spencer Hotel
#8 of 142 in Portland
1,483 reviews
Downtown
Sentinel
Sentinel
#4 of 142 in Portland
1,380 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Benson Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Benson Hotel

Property: Benson Hotel
Address: 309 Southwest Broadway, Portland, OR 97205-3794
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Oregon > Portland > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 142 Hotels in Portland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Benson Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 287
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Classic Landmark Hotel located in heart of business & financial district. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and HotelsClick so you can book your Benson Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing